We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 2.8 looks indoors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel DeBrett to your Saves list
Hotel DeBrett
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suite Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Room 2.8 looks indoors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This room overlooks the inside atrium of the hotel.

Not my favorite kind of concept, no fresh air and no outside views,

I wish we had known earlier I would not have taken this room.

I need he fresh air and the view of the street or the city.

The hotel otherwise is brilliant. Very Art Deco and very tastefully done with so much thought to detail.

The room without the loft is small for a family of 4, like our room 2.8 since there was just one toilet and he room size itself was small

The hotel is very boutique and very beautiful

Very centrally located.
I am just unhappy about not being informed that we did not get the street view room, we were assigned the indoor viewing rooms.

Not sure whether to ask them for a change or just stick with this as we are only staying 2 nights.

The lobby manager was very friendly and helpful especially considering we arrived so late at night and he took excellent care in ensuring we were up in our rooms quickly and could settle down from a long day of travel.

I appreciated his attention to our comfort.

I would recommend this hotel,
However please make sure you ask them for your room preference

I am not a big fan of indoor facing rooms!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    127
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
84
426
53
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely hotel..it was quiet and we were able to walk everywhere easily. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, advising which exhibits to see at the museum, and call us a cab. The breakfast was ok, but the restaurant was excellent for dinner. Comfortable beds and wonderful service. Very pricey, but we wanted luxury our first night as we were very jet lagged.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Michelle and her staff have created a beautiful boutique hotel experience. The friendly service was outstanding, the rooms decorated beautifully, restaurant and bars very good food and service and the general ambience of the hotel is both relaxing and stylish. Highly recommend this hotel for an overnighter or a few nights in Auckland, you won't be disappointed! Love DeBrett. Michelle you have created a fantastic hotel! We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I knew we were in for a good stay when driver of the airport shuttle bus told us this was the best hotel in Auckland. My boyfriend took me here for my 30th birthday and we had a small suite with a spacious seating area, smaller bedroom (but a huge bed) and a beautifully appointed bathroom with a bath that could probably accommodate four people (if you were so inclined).

There was a continental breakfast included in the room rate and there was a wide selection of home made muselis, fresh and stewed fruit, yoghurt and pastries, all of which were delicious.

The decor is a mish mash of everything from art deco to fifties and it creates a unique and cosy environment. The staff were really good, friendly, cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

DeBrett is a different kind of hotel. In fact, does not feel like a hotel at all. From the moment I walked in the first time the feeling was very personal, very looked after. Reception is more than helpful and quests are escorted to their rooms. 5 stars.

Everything down to tiny details in DeBrett is tasteful (IMHO) designed and very high quality. Bit quirky in most positive way. Beds are a dream! In addition to excellent small restaurant and bar, DeBrett also provides a Drawing Room for guests. A comfortable library-like room with reading chairs, internet access and honesty bar. Home away from home to me.

The second time you visit, you will feel like an old friend. If you had any special requests during your stay - they will be remembered and discreetly provided.

Location is excellent. Few minutes walk from waterfront, shops, restaurant and activities.

No gym, swimming pool or spa onsite, but there is an arrangement with next door gym for high quality facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This small intimate inner city hotel is such a treat in contrast to the big chain hotels. The retro fit with the furniture and general decor had a feel good factor. Our room overlooked the street, but was not noisy. It was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom well appointed with a tick for having the toilet closed off. Luxurious robes, above average quality of complimentary beverage and bathroom product gave a feeling of indulgence and free wifi is another bonus. We enjoyed excellent cuisine with early meal option prior to attending the opera and were delighted to find the kitchen happy to serve us dessert when we returned several hours later. The included breakfast was a perfect start to the day complete with excellent coffee . We loved the quirky feel of the dining/lounge area in the atrium with the crazy light fittings. From welcome to check out we could not fault the service. I hope we will be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms look over the inner atrium which houses the restaurant and bar. Others look over the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This small boutique in central Auckland was a treat. We were upgraded to a duplex suite which was quiet, spacious and had a fabulous retro feeling. The bed upstairs was comfy and huge with excellent quality linen. The bathroom another retro delight and massive with a huge bath and walk in shower. Downstairs was a comfortable lounge and large TV. Only complaint was the poor kitchenette - just a sideboard really with no wine glasses and nowhere to plug a kettle - used the writing desk in the end. Downstairs toilet good planning. We loved the restaurant and got lazy and ate there twice, the steak was a triumph. Breakfast adequate but fairly limited unless ordering off the menu. Service very good. Pre-dinner drinks in the parlour good fun and an opportunity to chat with other guests. Good WiFi - OK to use more than one device, just got more codes!. Would stay again. Easy access to airport bus and main shopping centre/dock are.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel DeBrett, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.