We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, unique boutique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel DeBrett to your Saves list
Hotel DeBrett
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suite Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Port Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful, unique boutique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a friends wedding and absolutely loved it. From the colourful carpets to the gorgeous mirrored, brass lift there is nothing to fault. Check-in was fast, efficient and friendly. We were shown to our room and given a wee tour of the hotel and made it in time for complimentary drinks in the private drawing room. The furniture is great throughout, retro but not cheap and tacky. The room was great, not massive but perfectly designed. A previous review complained about the heavily scented diffusers, we just moved ours into the bathroom which made it more subtle, no dramas. The bed, pillows and bedding were gorgeous and we had a great sleep, the bathroom was superbly fitted with everything you need and more. All the staff were friendly and very helpful.
The two nights weren't long enough and we will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    127
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
84
427
53
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the DeBrett on our first wedding anniversary after having just arrived in Auckland a few weeks before. We were tired, hurried and worn out from the activities surrounding our relocation and the planning of our anniversary felt like an afterthought in light of all the activity we were going through.

Out little get away, just one night, in this swank little boutique hotel was just the get-away we needed. While a little spendy, the design and furnishings of the hotel and rooms are worth it... it you like places with real character, this is for you. The staff was amazingly accommodating with us and we enjoyed a quiet couple of drinks in the honesty bar/lounge (wonderfully decorated and furnished with retro furniture) prior to heading out into the CBD for dinner. By the next morning, our worries and cares had faded away.

Great place to stay for a romantic get-a-way. Only had breakfast there, so cannot comment on the kitchen or bar on the first level. I recommend this hotel for special, romantic occassions esp. if part of that is shopping, touring the CBD of Auckland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A really beautiful boutique hotel. This is the second time I’ve stayed and I was just as delighted as the first time. Luxurious bed, fabulous decor, the biggest bath ever and lovely smelling bath products. I love this hotel - just wish I was staying here on holiday and not for business.

A delicious restaurant that does a variety of breakfast options, the cooked breakfast is hard to turn down. And I’ve happily eaten here in the evening with my clients.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: You can have rooms overlooking the street or overlooking the inner hotel. Both are lovely but as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here again to give a touch of luxury to my daughter visiting from Melbourne. Excellent location near Airbus service from Auckland airport. Divine comfortable beds. Welcome glass of wine a nice touch. Internet access appreciated. Well stocked bathroom. Lovely breakfast but waitress rather slow - asked several times for coffee to be served. Helpful reception staff.
A most pleasant interlude.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

What a exceptional hotel. Not ever been to Auckland before and finding a location that is so central In the city was spot on.

With the subtle easy check In and be escorted around the hotel showing us where the restaurant and the drawing room then been shown to our room was just so different.

The room well appointed , so quiet , the bed so comfortable and the service by the whole team at this hotel are to be commended. Nothing was to difficult to accommodate by the team at hotel DeBrett .

Loved the turn down service provided when your out and about , coming back to your room finding the curtains drawn and the bed ready to sink into was just a Lovely touch .

Hotel DeBrett is at the top of our list for a hotel choice in Auckland. And we will be back .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous room, brilliant location and front of house went out of her way to help with a number of requests with grace and charm. My go to hotel for Auckland from now on! Bathroom was really cool and lovely products.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Location and accommodation were excellent for 2 nights to relax and explore this part of Auckland. Walking distance to the harbour, many shops, cafes and restaurants. Supremely comfortable beds, spacious, quiet and stylish room with friendly helpful staff. Stayed in a classic room with windows to the internal atrium. Internet included was very useful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett's iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning "DeBretts Kitchen" restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel DeBrett, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.