We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speechless” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwi International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kiwi International Hotel to your Saves list
Kiwi International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Groups Only Megadeal !
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“Speechless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We looked at this Hotel online and liked what we saw but really what a disappointment! We paid in cash and had to pay a bond which was subject to the room being left in the condition it was given to us, we didn't see any of the rooms they have online, our room had NO kitchen sink so we had to fill the kettle in the bathroom and wash our cups in there. We didn't even have a microwave to heat food in as by the time we arrived, the café/dining room was closed.
Walls thin the only people we didn't hear were those down on the ground floor and the female reception staff need to take a leaf out of the male staff guidebook. At least they tried all they could while we found the female staff rude. The stairs are in need of repair and the lift feels like it will just drop! ONLY BONUS LOCATION

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    170
    118
    22
    15
See reviews for
47
110
112
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
523 reviews 523 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You get what u pay for.So don't expect much from this hotel. The rooms are like prison cells in Alcatraz but the good thing is that it is just infront of the airport city shuttle bus and very accessible to other parts of the city. Baths and toilets are shared and there is no aircon in rooms so dont even think of staying here during summer.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

How to do the polity of the hotel through the cleaning woman....I never met in my travels such a bad service in cleaning the room. I was there for 2 nights and no one came to clean the room. More than this, the cleaning woman asked me if I needed to come, as if it had to do. I think she wanted money. A bad impression, noise in the middle of the day and of the night. Another bad impression was for no having maps at the Reception. No having informations for tours, only leaflets that you can find anywhere, but no those are not visible, but hidden behind a wall. Valves do not close the bathroom, some of the toilets are clogged.
Good thinks: lot of places for safely parking, and many smiles...

Room Tip: upstairs room are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
This review is contradictory and in general doesn't make sense. "no one came to clean my room" - then the next sentence is about his conversation with the cleaner?? Every room is serviced every day. There are always maps at reception. Not only do we have tour brochures we have a manned travel & tour desk by a very experienced tour person. Clogged toilets - I don't think so - I'm sure we would have seen these if they existed. I don't think intending travelers will find this review helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I gave this hotel a 5 start rating simply because they say they are 3 star and what you get is exactly that...but more!
We stayed 2 nights in April and were very pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the room , location of the hotel and ...FREE CAR PARKING at a hotel in Auckland city! Indeed there are only about 30 carparks but we goit lucky each time. The rooms are relatively small ( well ours was) but very clean and the bed comfortable. my only complaint reallky is the shower head..really, really not good at all but hey , run around a bit in the shower and you get sort of wet!. Clean, comfy bed, free car park. Good value indeed and they don't pretend to be anything more than 3 star. Would stay again

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your great review. It's a fair assessment which will be helpful to other travelers. We're really only at the 2½ star level but I don't think TripAdvisor ratings do halves so they list us at 3.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was an below average cheap stay. I have had better averages than this. I would not stay here again. Can get better bang for my buck. First off was a little hard to find and parking always full and tight. Had to park at Wilsons across the road for $10 overnight. The room just looked cheap. My bed was lopsided that a few times i nearly fell out. The pillow was so flat that it was better to put your head on the mattress. We were on the 3rd floor that you had to use the elevator to the 2nd floor, walk around and find the lift to the 3rd. That lift was scary and shaky. Also can hear everytime someone is opening and closing their doors. Seriously invest in new bedding and lifts!!!! No free wifi!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Often difficult at the budget end of the hotel market where expectations vary widely. Wi-Fi is FREE so don't know what happened there. Have looked through all 11 of our 3r\d floor rooms and haven't found a lop sided bed - all of which are 4-6 years old.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic location, right next to Myers park and in the middle of the market place. Small room, with a queen and single bed for the 3 of us, but very comfortable. Only on Saturday night did the noise from outside bother us. Great staff, especially helpful travel desk. Really good value for money.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, General Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for your great review and appreciation of value and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a large room (#108) with a double and a single bed. The decor was minimal with lots of beige! Tea, coffee and a kettle was provided, which was great as we checked in very late.
The shared shower/ toilets were never busy and the water was hot. Our room did seem to back onto a road with lots of noise into the small hours from neighbours abd passersby. We had intermittent wifi connection at peak hours which was frustrating-but never needed to buy extra data over our free allowance. Also the pictures on the hotel website seem a little dated compared to the actual inside of the hotel. But it is much better than a backpacker hostel and lots of families were staying here. In hindsight we would have preffered an ensuite room. We only dealt with reception staff and they were courteous, house keepibg was t a high standard too.
The best thing is the location, easy for airbus and a short walk or bus ride into Auckland central.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your great review. We agree that it's better to spend a little extra and get one of our standard Ensuite rooms although the Economy rooms are popular if you're on a tight budget. Re WiFi - we give everyone an allowance to start but if you need more it's available free as we how important WiFi (especially free) is for today's travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovation 2010. Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - with free parking, free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwi International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.