We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwi International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kiwi International Hotel to your Saves list
Kiwi International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Hamilton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very good for the price. Clean, tidy and excellent location. This is not a high end hotel and this is why you don't pay a high end price.
We booked last minute over the phone. Staff were friendly and helpful.
The first room we were provided with had the wrong bedding configuration for what we had booked however this was quickly corrected and we were issued with a new room.
Car parking is limited however it mentions this on their website.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Many thanks for your great review. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    149
    104
    20
    12
See reviews for
41
95
100
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The first thing to be careful about is that parking here is very limited! We were told that we would have free parking here but when we arrived we were greeted by the sign 'Car park full', which sent us into a panic! I went up to the front desk and he said we should park in a local car park, which I think I remember costing $18. I could clearly see some space left in the car park so I asked if we could park there, he eventually caved and let us. Later on we saw many more cars have squeezed their way in too, so it is worth asking even if it says it is full.

This place has a great location, you are right in the centre of town. The hotel also has a lift to get to higher floors.

The room itself didn't impress me very much. The water pressure in the shower was terrible and the walls were extremely thin. I could hear everything through them. They provide you with nothing, not even shampoo or shower gel bottles! The internet is ok.

Overall - great location and price, but not the best room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for your review. Not entirely accurate. Rooms are provided with soap, shampoo, tea & coffee and wifi internet - all free of course. Parking is also free, as is baggage storage and credit card payment (most hotels charge extra for this now). Even SIM cards for NZ mobiles are free. So - all round great value and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I must say that althought hotel wasn't really to good standard but certainly staff were well trained, friendly & helpful.
Hotel can be enjoyed by everyone. Food was great. Resealably clean room. Srounded by various resturents, bar, takeaways.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for your generally positive review. We are probably the best standard hotel in our market segment backed by the consistent TripAdvisor No. 1 placing in the "Best Value" category for Central Auckland Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed one night at the Kiwi International.
It was 7degC overnight in Auckland, and the heater was broken. When asking for a heater in the middle of the night, the front desk said there was little they could do. Then after insisting they came with a tiny electric heater and started to argue that the curtains should be closed better to keep the heat as if it was my fault that the room was icy.
This hotel is like a campground. I could have slept outside it would have been the same. Never again.

Room Tip: Dont wake up the guy in the lobby at night. He gets grumpy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
"A night from hell" Yes - it certainly was for our staff member who was fearful for his safety having been confronted by this ultra aggressive guest that screamed and shouted at other guest also. This individual has been trespassed from our property and is fortunate not to have spent the remainder of his night in a police cell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Clean, tidy, and at a walking distance of some attractions, such as sky tower and waterfront, as well as to central bus transfer station. Good value for taxi to airport. Close to good cafes and restaurants. Very good price. Arrive early if you go by car. We didn't, so we had to use a close by paid parking. It wasn't expensive over night, but we had to take the car out very early the next day to not pay the hourly rate, so we couldn't sleep in although we were tired from the trip.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, that you found it good value and the location suited. Parking is always a challenge especially right in the city. We can usually accommodate most when there is an even spread of international and domestic guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was only staying here for a night and needed a cheap room in a good location. Served its purpose, nice friendly staff and adequate facilities. I would advise guests to arrive early as it would be very inconvenient if you got here and the car park was full - you would have to park and pay down the road. (Luckily I got the last park!) Very basic but to be fair this was the cheapest place I could find in Auckland Central. Approx half hour walk to the Viaduct or a $10 to $15 taxi ride.

Room Tip: I had a single room with shared bathroom. I didn't love the fact that the room had a radiator on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for the +ve review. We're pleased you found it good value. This reviewer stayed in one of our Economy rooms which are quite basic but as he commented are the best value hotel room in Auckland. Most of our rooms are standard Ensuites with a good range of services in them and not much more. As a matter of interest there's a 50 cent bus to the popular viaduct basin area or about $10 if you use our special taxi deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed for just one night. We were given a En suite Family Unit (sleeps 4) even though there was just two of us. The room is clean, comfortable & has a little modern touch to it.
There is an open bar and restaurant available to guests.
However, the wait staff is a little rude (no manners) but its no biggie and it is a bit of a walk from the bottom of Queen St, but very centrally located! With very limited FREE parking.
I still would recommend this accommodation for travelers on a tight budget whose not wanting to stay in a backpackers.

Room Tip: If you have any problems with walking its best to get a room on the first floor as there are no elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Many thanks for your review - pleased that you found it good value and that it suited you. We don't understand your room tip as we have 2 elevators??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovation 2010. Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - with free parking, free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwi International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.