We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, minimalist, very reasonably priced for Auckland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwi International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kiwi International Hotel to your Saves list
Kiwi International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Pay 2 Xmas Deal
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Central, minimalist, very reasonably priced for Auckland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel was a bit difficult to find, but in a pretty central location for what we wanted to do in Auckland. It was similar to a lot of backpackers I have stayed in but a private twin share room. We were shocked when our airport taxi was $80 to our accommodation, and he seemed to go the most direct route on a Saturday night at 9pm so pretty clear roads. The hotel website said $40 so double we were not expecting, suggest you take the airport bus. We stayed in a room with an ensuite with a very small bathroom, two single beds, one hard one soft. There is a fair amount of noise in the hallways and rooms so it is definitely more hostel than hotel like in atmosphere. The staff were extremely helpful, in all for the price and location it is a good place to stay and would recommend for the price but it is more hostel than hotel. On the plus side it is pretty clean.

Room Tip: I would suggest not getting a room on the third floor as you have to get two lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. That was bad luck on the taxi. Yes - you will pay silly money if you jump into the line of cabs at the airport.
Our website says... "Discount Taxis have the cheapest fare of $40 from Auckland Airport to Auckland City. You can call them once you have arrived on 09 529·1000".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    143
    94
    19
    12
See reviews for
38
91
94
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hamilton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Its tough getting good priced accommodation for family of 5 in central Auckland when there is a major concert on (One Direction). But this hotel had separate beds for all of us, ensuite and basic kitchen which was ideal for our one night. Some of the paint was peeling but the rooms where clean and spacious. Reception staff friendly and got free parking and Wifi. Got to be quick for parking.

It was definitely worth what we paid and will consider again.

Room Tip: Don't expect a room with a view and luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your positive review. We're pleased it suited you well. As a family man with 5 myself I can appreciate the difficulties getting suitable accommodation at a fair price. Good to see you were able to take advantage of our free parking and wi-fi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

As we visited New Zealand mainly by campervan, that's the only experience we got with hotels in New Zealand. That said, that was a good experience.
Clean and standard double room for a good price.
Well located in Aukland.
Only minus we felt that the reception team was a little bit cold when checking in/out.
A part of that, I would recommend this hotel for few nights in Auckland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that our property suited you well. Our apologies if reception wasn't engaging enough. They are usually really good and we get lots of positive comments re staff friendliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my needs, after backpacking alone for a while I was looking for a little privacy and comfort to prepare for the long trip home. The single room I chose was small, but big enough for my things, had a sink and desk and a comfortable twin sized bed with clean white sheets. The sink was a huge bonus, though the washrooms weren't far and were also clean (shared facility).
The location is great, on Queen street, just a 20 minute walk to the wharf, though fair warning, its all up hill on your way back!
If you come, however, I recommend ear plugs. The doors to all the rooms are quite noisy and the walls are fairly thin, you can hear people coming and going. Also note its tucked back off the street a bit and tough to see, look for the sign, and its across from City St.
Other than that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this affordable, no frills, hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review - we're pleased it suited your purposes well. While most of our rooms in our hotel are ensuite we do have some economy rooms like the one this reviewer stayed in which are excellent value for the traveller wanting a more budget hotel room. Travellers should note though that as we're a hotel and not a backpacker we don't have a kitchen or any other communal type facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whakatane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for 5 nights begining of october. We found the room very clean and modern. We had a ensuite room and the only gripe was that it takes quite a while for the hot water to get to the shower the rest of our stay was great. Good loction for walking down queen street for shopping. Ring and ask for parking because it is limited.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and that it suited your purposes. We agree the hot water is slow to arrive in some of the park wing rooms but it does get there and the views are worth it! We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Absolutely worst hotel. Bathroom floor was metallic and freezing even in summers. The bed had few hair strands and looked like no one bothered to change the sheets after last guests left. Called reception and was told - "Our cleaning people change it after every checkout". No offer to remake the bed or even check it!! The t.v. was a 14 inch disaster which kept on loosing channels. The lift made a creaking noise before closing and opening! The hostels and the B&Bs offer better value for money than this hotel! It is bringing shame to country by having a Kiwi word in its name!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Are you sure you have the right place? All our TVs are modern 22" LCDs. All our bathrooms are tiled as are most other hotels. This review is seriously at odds with the many reviews from our other satisfied guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Amazing staff, super friendly, help- and thoughtful. 100 MB+ wifi per day for free.
Rooms are basic and very clean. You will get best rates and they handle bookings
with great flexibility and customer friendliness!
As I just moved to Akld and didn't have an apartment, Kiwi Intl. Hotel staff helped
me with useful information and even supported me in matters of NZ bureaucracy.
Especially Erik with his contagious positive attitude was big time help!
I highly recommend Kiwi Intl. either for short or long term stay.
Thanks to the Kiwi Intl. Hotel staff, you made it easy to find my feet here in Akld.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter e.g. room 171
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review and tips for other travellers. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovation 2010. Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - with free parking, free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwi International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.