We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you don't have a car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Auckland to your Saves list
Mercure Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location if you don't have a car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

We were supposed to go directly to Christchurch, but the earthquake forced us to stay in Auckland the fist night of our month-long vacation. Our travel agent suggested this hotel until she could figure out something more suitable for us. The hotel itself was very ordinary and a touch outdated, but it was clean and the staff was great. Since we'd been traveling for 18 hours, they put a rush on our room so we could get checked in at 11AM. The housekeepers were friendly and the front desk clerk even gave me a code for an hour of free internet usage. The hotel has a good location in the city center, only 2 blocks from the harbor and the Britomart train station. There is a 24-hour cafe with Wifi across the street, which was very handy since my husband and I both needed to be working starting at 3AM the next morning. (Internet usage is very expensive in Auckland hotels). There are tons of shops and cafes within blocks of the hotel. I recommend Vulcan street for cafes, which intersects with Queen street.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    616
    620
    247
    140
See reviews for
269
733
228
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

This is one of two Mercure-branded hotels in the capital of NZ.

It is located in the city center at a corner of Queen Street. A large shopping mall (Westfield) is opposite the hotel, it is only a short walk to the harbour either.

The large building itself is not really nice but the lobby and common areas are renovated and in good condition. The rooms however are not renovated, the condition is ok but not outstanding and the design seems a bit outdated. Due to the streets around the hotel it might get noisy, also in the room.

If you can get a good rate (I paid around NZD 80) this hotel is a good pick, but with rates of NZD 200 or more it is sometimes overpriced!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We had a fairly large room on our first stay but a smaller one at our next one. It is fairly dated although the lobby and restaurant area are much more modern. There was a drip from the toilet handle (a brown rusty drip) when it was flushed – which wasn’t nice. There are 4 large slots cut above the bath for ventilation (but no ventilation cover) which isn’t the best. The air con/heater wasn’t working in our first room, but it was for our second stay. We weren’t impressed with dinner, there was insufficient space and we were told to wait. When we got around to dinner, the some food had been finished and we were advised it would not be replaced – there was not even dessert at all (as it had been eaten by those before – while we were told to wait due to lack of space!) If your stomach tends to churn on rides then you wont find the lift the best (if you can get one). The lifts take forever to come although there are three (we think 1 is used as a service lift for the hotel itself). The hotel location is good and near shops and amenities. It did have free wifi for 30mins or 8MB useage a day. There were 2 mecures - we had the one on Custom St.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

My Husband and I were in Auckland for one night and since Bollywood had a taping of an indian movie and biggest loser's show also had a taping the same night all hotels were booked and we had no choice but to stay at the Mercure. The lobby was very modern and nice...but don't be fooled by that (that's exactly what we got fooled by when selecting the hotel the picture of the "lobby" from expedia) otherwise I had rather stay at a motel...The rooms / bathrooms and the hallways carpets and furniture were old and dirty and we ended up paying $300 NZ Dollars that night since all other hotels were booked. Our shower had shampoo / soap stains running down from the faucet when we checked in. The closet door only had one door..where was the other sliding door we don't door we don't know???? No safety box either in the room. "YUCK" this hotel is worth $50-105 max per night.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed at the Mecure on Sunday Febraury 20. It was meant as a "date night" to spend a romantic night in city without the kids. The lobby of the hotel far exceeds what one would expect of the room and the picutes of the web cite did not match what our room was like. I think I have been in Best Westerns that were nicer and roomier. The room was absolutely tiny! A big disappointment. Cheap particle board furnitire consisting of a desk and chair. Noisy air-conditioning. Bathroom door dirty and toilet hard to flush. Our room was in serious need of update and paint job. Went up to the bar at about 10 p.m. for late night drink only to be told that because there were hardly any customers that night the bar closed early so we could not get any drinks. The restaurant did have lovely views though ( in the day). Overall would not go again and would not recommend except for business travellers who just need a down town place to sleep ( location is the best feature of this hotel) and don't really care about the room. Disappointing

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

The sea seems to hide in the building was not in front of the room.
Linens and shabby, the air conditioning did not work properly.
The outlook of the restaurant food was good, but it was plain.
Crucially it does not need reservations for the breakfast but I was not trying to Cancel
So as an alternative to breakfast, wrap it bestows had expected
Package received breakfast time I was angry.
Hardly worth $ 26 was unthinkable ragoneun breakfast.
It was just a loaf of bread and orange juice ...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.