We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in all aspects” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Auckland to your Saves list
Mercure Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good in all aspects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Very good prices meant I was happy with the small room and slow reception. To be fair, I have no complaints - room was clean, location excellent, but not enough staff on reception. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    616
    620
    247
    140
See reviews for
269
733
228
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

This is the first negative review I've written. I brushed off some of the negative comments I'd read when selecting this hotel. Because this was our last 2 nights of holiday, I upgraded to the harbor view, 8th floor. Don't bother with the harbor view - it's between buildings and there really isn't much to see and it costs more. Beds were comfortable, and room was good sized. Reading lights for bed were poor - one small light between the beds. Good HVAC.

I would say there were many small things that collectively added up to this big disappointment. (1) occasional sewer/gas smell in our room. On the 2nd day we thought it might be coming from the bathroom floor drain, so we covered it up. (2) window drapery broken. Had to climb up each night on the ledge below the drapes and take the curtain hooks and hook the curtains together to keep out the light. (3) no lotion - we were out on this last leg of our trip. I asked the hotel desk manager if housekeeping had lotion, because there wasn't any in our bath, and he said, "no." That's it - "no." I left a note the next morning for housekeeping and they did leave us some. (4) No free internet. You can go across the street, however, to the Esquires Cafe, buy a cup of coffee, which comes with a voucher/PW for 1 hour free WiFi. (5) it's next to the train station. Our first weekday morning at 6:30 a.m. we were greeted with a group of men playing bongo drums, amplified, for the benefit of train/ferry commuters. While this wasn't the fault of the hotel - just keep the hotel's location in mind. (6) overall, a dingy hotel that has probably been bought and sold for decades. As an example, our sink was cracked, handles mismatched, and had a rubber stopper on a chain. These small things - they appear just that - small. But collectively they left a disappointing and creepy impression and I felt we overpaid ($239/night) for what was definitely a budget hotel.

I wouldn't recommend it to my friends, and I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

I stayed two nights for work and found this a perfectly good hotel in a great location in the middle of shops and near to the Aquaduct restaurant area. The room was comfy, I upgraded (for $30NZ a night) to a harbour view room which was nice and the bed was beaut. Staff were friendly and helpful and I had lovely breakfasts both mornings in the top floor restaurant with gorgeous views of the city and harbour.

Highly recommended - not a thing wrong with it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

hotel is well situated nearby the main walking street (Queen street) and the harbor. Interior is very old, with a very poor looking lobby and front desk. bags all over the lobby or people that had checked out at 11 but had late night flights to catch. rooms were musky and shabby and bathrooms were on the verge of being disgusting. shower took a while to figure out how to operate. good selection of tv channels though.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Really enjoyed our stay here.Stayed 3 nights with 10 y.o.Great access to the city, bus and train services. Concierge very helpful. Staff a bit stuffy but thats their problem not mine. Room was clean, comfortable and harbour views arent anything to die for but worth a look.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Spent 3 nights here on Auckland trip. It was the hotel in our tour package. We were surprised at the quality of the hotel on our budget package. Our room overlooked the street. We especially enjoyed the buffet breakfast. The restaurant was on the top floor and the windows overlooked the harbor on one side and the city skyline on the other. The varied food selection had something for everyone and the service staff were very professional. The hotel's location was convenient to the ferry, train and airport bus.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Good location, clean room and bathroom, laundry facility on the floor. Good for a budget acommodation (100 bucks or so per night plus 20 bucks per day for valet parking).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.