We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Poor hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Auckland to your Saves list
Mercure Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Waterbury, Vermont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location, Poor hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked this hotel because of it's great location and the price was reasonable but when we checked in, we were severely disappointed. The lobby was modern and the staff helpful and friendly but we were shocked when the elevator opened on the 11th floor. The halls smelled and the carpet was dirty and it looked like we had stepped back 10+ years. To be fair, our room, bathroom and sheets were all clean but the walls in the room were scratched and damaged and there were screw holes showing. The fixtures in the bathroom were old. The counter top was old, the colors were drap.The carpet was shredding in places and the whole room is in DIRE need of updating. It was depressing. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but now are looking for another place to move to. I felt ripped off as for $259 a night, I expect much better. On top of that they wanted to charge us $29.95 per day for internet for just one computer. Yes they give free wifi in the lobby but only 30 mins. This is not the way to attract business people to this hotel. This hotel could be great if updated but until it is I do not recommend you stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review on trip advisor.

I’m happy to hear our staff were friendly and helpful however disappointed that our rooms and WIFI did not meet your expectations. We are currently looking at a refresh of our rooms and hope to start this work sometime this year. This will greatly improve the standard of the rooms.

Our Internet is provided by the external company and I believe we will be looking into offering the services at a lower cost, but nothing has been planned yet. We do understand the need to offer free WIFI to travelers with latest technology and I do hope for good news in the future!

Please consider staying with us in the future.

Regards,
Sean Slattery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    616
    620
    247
    140
See reviews for
269
733
228
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a great location to see Auckland. It is clean and staff are helpful. There is a great view from the top floor dining room but it is very expensive for the quality of food. It is a shor walk to the viaduct area where there are some very good restaurants. Free wifi is available only in the lobby for 30 minutes over 24 hours however there is an Esquires right across the road which offers free wifi. For the location and price I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel and staff.

I agree that we do have a fantastic location but I’m disappointed to hear you had issues with quality in our restaurant. We believe Vue Restaurant is quite competitive for the Auckland market but will pass your comments on to our Executive chef who is very passionate about his cuisine.

We do look forward you staying with us in the future.

Regards
Sean Slattery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

OK, if location is your prime motive then consider this property. It is an easy walk to shopping, great cafes, Vector Arena, Viaduct and so on.
BUT parking here is an absolute fiasco here. Its all been said. I would like management to justify the $40 valet parking fee. It is a real nuisance and getting cars in and out of a narrow ally is horrible at times.
Air conditioning is so noisy. It is obvious that rates for this hotel are all based on location, couldn't be on anything else.
Staff were ok but the physical nature of reception must be a nightmare for them.

Room Tip: ASk for a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We do have a great location however Central Auckland parking is costly and also limited therefore reflected in our fee. I have also passed on your comments regarding the Air conditioning on to our maintenance team. We do provide support for our reception team on busy days and monitor their work load.

Regards
Sean Slattery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our room was clean but badly in need of maintenance. There were scuff marks everywhere, and very old looking amenities. The air conditioner was SO loud it drove us batty. The staff were ok. One lovely lady helped us with our bags but the checkin girl was rude.
There is no where to unpack the car except in a bus stop out the front or in the valet parking zone. This makes it hard in the rain and frustrating. Valet parking is the only parking option at $40 a night!!!! Crazy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks you for your review,

We are currently looking at a refresh of our rooms and hope to start this work sometime this year. This will greatly improve the standard of the rooms; this will include replacement of the old Air con units. Until then the team are working hard to clean the rooms at a high standard.

Thank you very much for your review and I hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Edward Judd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The whole place is badly in need of decorating and up grading. Wall paper hanging off, mould in the bathroom we would never have in our own house and air conditioning so loud the windows had to be left open instead so really noisy. It's only saving grace is the location and the staff tried their best.

Guests should be prior warned that it is valet parking which is $40 a night

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I apologies for the problems you experience during your stay.

These should have been fixed before you checked in and I’m disappointed to see that our checks and procedures have let us down.

We are currently looking at a refresh of our rooms and hope to start this work sometime this year. This will greatly improve the standard of the rooms

Please accept my apologies and I hope you will try us again in the future.

Thanks
Edward Judd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.