We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but the old girl's a bit tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Auckland to your Saves list
Mercure Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
palmerston north
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location but the old girl's a bit tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for a concert. The location is great being central and handy to viaduct, transport and CBD shopping & bars. The hotel is getting a wee bit tired with bubbling wallpaper and we had a 10 cm tear in the carpet in our room. Eveything has a feel of being a wee bit old and tired. The lift swipe card thingy played up on both days we were there. The other little niggle was we had a drink in the top floor bar around 5:30 PM before heading out for the evening - the spectacular harbour views are on the resturant side of the bar and, despite the restaurant being empty, the bar manager refused our request to sit at one of the restaurant booths to take in the view. We did point out we would be leaving before diners arrived. Having said all that, I still stay at the hotel once a month for work because of its location and good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hope you enjoyed the concert in town. Mercure Auckland is a perfect placed to stay if you are in town for a gig or a night out, close to Vector Arena and also the Civic.

Rooms and Corridor will be upgraded once the refurbishment process starts on the floors. Currently we have the other part of the hotel under construction and due to seasonal demand, the whole process will take a while. I do apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you, and also for the lift locks. Lift locks are placed for additional security for the guests to avoid unauthorised person to be on the floor.

In regards to the bar manager, we had a group reserving a space at a specific time which would have made the short-stay little tricky to organise. We apologise if this has offended you and your partner in any way.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to welcome you again in the future.



Regards,

Edward Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    647
    680
    276
    155
See reviews for
296
797
240
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We loved the central location of this hotel, but found it difficult to sleep due to the street noise below and that the bed was small (double only?). Great buffet breakfast in the morning with amazing views over Auckland harbour. Check in was average with no details to where our room was or dining times for the restaurant (is this a thing of the past). Overall ok stay, if we where to return would ask to be on the other side of the hotel away from the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comment on your recent stay,

I do apologise for the lack of information given to you upon check in. Our staff are trained to explain the facilities of the hotel as well as how to access the floor in the lift. I will definitely follow up with the department head to retrain/ remind the staff of the procedure.

Mercure Auckland is located right beside the busiest intersection in the city, and street noise is a big challenge for us. We apologise for the inconvenience this has caused your family during the night. In regards to the quiet room request, we try our best to accommodate guest’s requests and for additional $30 per night, you can get a room on the higher floor which will help with the noise issue.

Hope you and your family enjoyed the trip up here in Auckland.

Have a great rest of the week,


Thank you,

Edward Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The location of Mercure Auckland is ideal since it is situated along Queen Street and the main shopping belt. If you are travelling with family, upgrading to Superior Room is worth the price as you get a very spacious room with the upgrade.

Room Tip: Superior is ideal if you are travelling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi Eric,

Thank you for your review and leaving us a tip for the future travellers visiting Mercure Auckland.
Superior (Deluxe room) category is a much better fitting if you are travelling with kids or family. Two queen beds and an additional space makes it much easier!

Hope you have enjoyed your stay with us, and see you next time when you are in Auckland!


Regards,

Edward Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Good service staff friendly and know a great deal about the attraction in Auckland. Room was good but you would say that age is evident. Good location all in all good 3 star value the restaurant has a spectacular view of the CBD, valet parking a bit expensive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for you feedback on Tripadvisor,

Great to hear that the staff was helpful in giving information about activities in Auckland. Hope you enjoyed your visit here in NZ.

In regards to the price of the valet, we have limited spaces we can offer for the entire hotel and the price was set to reflect this. I apologise if this has affected your stay in any way.

Thank you again,


Regards,

Edward Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

You can't get a better location for this price in Auckland, short of staying in a hostel! Little old and tired, but clean and tidy, nice staff, and not too noisy considering how central it is. Right beside Britomart, so close to public transport, and a great selection of cool bars and restaurants. Plus minutes away from waterfront/shopping area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Mercure Auckland has the best location hotel can have, close to the centre of the town and the latest “cool” spot – Britomart.
Free shuttles to attractions are nearby and also the ferry building to visit the islands!

We have a lot of exciting discount offers for the holiday season. Please visit our website for more information.

Hope to see you again soon, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Auckland.


Regards,

Edward Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very handy location but basic accommodation and very noisy. I doubt if there are many rooms in this hotel where you can not hear their own lifts all day and most of the night. would not rush to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Noise is on top of our list for the refurbishment plan.

Recently, maintenance work was carried out in the lifts that was causing the loud noise with the guest lifts, which should have helped. However, I apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you with your sleep.

For future reference, deluxe rooms are located further away from the lifts at the corner of the building – some with harbour views.

Thank you for leaving us your feedback,


Regards,

Edward Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.