We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No cold water and no shower” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Auckland to your Saves list
Mercure Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“No cold water and no shower”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mercure in Custom Street. Auckland Saturday 1st September. Checkin was efficient and very quick as was checking out. Hotel staff were all excellent. Those were the positives. The cold tap in our room had hot water coming out as did the hot tap so we had no cold water at all. Next morning as I went to have a shower I had to ask my husband to come and check the shower as I was unable to get any water at all. Well he wasn't able to either. We asked the housekeeper who was down the hall and she couldn't get any water either. So no showers for us. The paint was all peeling off the bottom of the bathroom door and some maintenance was needed badly.When we were checking out I told the lovely lady behind the counter about these problems as we were offered a free coffee!!!!.
Room number was 616 so on the 6th floor an we were kept awake the whole night by young folk outside having a great time until at least 0400hrs. Air conditioning made so much noise we had to turn it off so were roasting during the night. This was our second stay as our first stay had been great. We did have dinner in the VUE restaurant and the waitress was delightful and very knowledgeable and the food was great. Breakfast not so great as eggs tasted as though they were powdered and food was greasy.
Valet parking was $40, pretty steep we thought.
Very disappointing and we certainly will not be staying here ever again. It was cheap and I guess you get what you pay for.
I filled out all the feedback forms and thought I might get a call or response to my complaints but none have been forthcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    616
    621
    248
    140
See reviews for
270
734
228
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Whilst it is very central to the ferry and the surrounding restaurants around Britomart, Our sheet was ripped along one corner and everything else looked V saggy!
I would probably choose to stay somewhere else next time as I wanted a hotel, not something of hostel / back packer quality. - The staff were good though, quite efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The only thing I was able to fault on the hotel was the room which was absolutely nothing like the pictures on the website had depicted. There wasn't a ceiling light or a fan in the bathroom. The beds were also extremely solid making it rather difficult to sleep in,

In saying this, the restaurant and bar were pretty damn fine! Shame about the rooms...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hotel entrance, reception and the restaurant has been refurbished early 2011 which was put on hold due to Rugby World Cup. Refurbishment has started again on other parts of the hotel which will carry onto the rooms shortly. I do apologise if the mismatching décor has misled you in any way.

In regards to the website images, I will pass this on to the contents team to review and adjust what we have displayed on site. Please note that some rooms on the higher floor are slightly different due to soft refurbishment until the full work is done.

Thank you,


Sunny




Regards,

Edward Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Decor very dated and furniture of poor quality....to upgrade to a superior room and have to put up with a sub standard shower was very disappointing.Mixer did not work and the flow of water a trickle.Asked for it to be looked at and the improvement was virtually non existant

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Décor of the hotel is currently mismatching due to partially upgrading the hotel. Currently the lobby and the restaurant area have been completed and we are in the process of working on the rooms.

This process may take a while due to the size of the hotel and also to minimise disruption to in-house guests.

In regards to the water flow, we recently had the whole building checked up for the issue and it should have been resolved.


I apologise for the disappointment you encountered during you stay, and thank you for leaving us a feedback.



Regards,

Edward Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had 3 nights mid week in this hotel and it was an enjoyable experience. The only downside was the room, which was barely large enough for two people. Hotel location was absolutely ideal at the bottom of Queen St and close to local shops, bars, ferry terminal and the Viaduct Basin locality. Views fom the top floor bar and restaurant are great. This hotel is recommended if you can obtain it at a fair price but make sure you check on the size of the bed and room before booking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Good Afternoon,


Thank you for your overall positive review on Mercure Auckland.

In regards to the room, if you require extra room during your stay, at a cost of $30 per night our Deluxe room maybe more suitable.

Location of the hotel is easy to find for the international travellers or anyone new in town. Also it is very easy to find shops, restaurants and any other hot-spots in the city.

It is good to see that you have visited our fantastic Vue restaurant and Attica bar. It has the best view in town and also a great menu at an affordable price.


Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon,


Regards,

Edward Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Did not enjoy our stay.Will not come here again. Firstly it was advertised parking avavilable but on arrival parking was full. Had to park in Downtown Car Park. The rooms we had were very old and well worn. The TV didn't work and I had to call reception twice before someone came to fix it. It took over one hour but went well after that. The night noise was horrific. We all needed a good sleep but had to come home for that.
The bar has a fabulous outlook and the Restaurant. Come on mercure.keep up with the world. Bad NZ hotel experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on Harbourside should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
First of all, I apologise for the poor experience you had at Mercure.

Parking is always subject to availability. f the hotel is full, we do not have enough space for all guests in house. Alternative option is given which are two blocks away from the hotel at a discounted price. I do apologise if the website/brochure misled you.

We are in the process of refurbishing the rooms which has started on other parts of the building. Disruption during this period is minimal to all guests and work will carry on to the other floors slowly.

My sincerest apologies again for the overall stay, and thank you for taking time to write us a feedback.


Regards,

Edward Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

First time we have stayed since the foyer/reception area and restaurant/bar have been renovated. Very nice jobs. Our meal in the restaurant was top notch. Location of the hotel is excellent for being able to stroll up the main st (Queen St) or around the wharf and Viaduct Basin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for coming back to stay with us!

Following from the refurbishment on foyer/reception area, we will be carrying this work onto the rest of the hotel. I do hope to see you and your family visit once we have few refurbished rooms ready for you to try out.

Vue restaurant has the best view in town, fantastic food at a great price. Glad to see you and you family enjoyed the meal.

Thank you for your review.



Regards,

Edward Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.