We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but service lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice rooms but service lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

My husband and I enjoyed the penthouse suite we stayed in but our visit was let down by the lack of service on arrival. Our booking included valet parking so we were amazed when after checking in reception made no enquiries of our car and we had to ask for our car to be parked, and this was attended to like were asking a huge favour. We were also left to struggle with five large suitcases and bags on our own until one of us worked up the courage to ask for porter service. This was provided by the front desk attendant but we were surpsrised that this sort of assistance was not offered to guests as a general matter of courtesy. Front desk staff lack warmth and seem only interested in getting a copy of your credit card.

Room itself was modern and stylish with plenty of the everyday conveniences you would expect. The washing machine however did not work and the instructions / diagram provided did not make sense. I had to call room service and hand over a bundle of my underwear for laundering which they did at no cost. They admitted the washing machine had not worked for other guests in the past but instead of fixing it I think they just hope that few guests use the laundry facilities.

Food ok for the price, internet access via public computer a little steep.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    153
    116
    56
    28
See reviews for
45
194
28
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Have stayed here in the past and loved it. This time we were chrged over $130 for an average meal. Although it was after 9:00pm and only 2 other parties in the restaurant it was almost 30 mintues beforeour order was taken and longer before it arrived. THe food was average at best. tables bare with cheap paper napkins - waiter said this is an "ecological management decision".

Although we arrived at 9:00pm a request for a later than 10:00am checkout gained the response "it will cost you $25 per hour because the hotel is full tonight". For the record, rooms were available for that night on the hotel's website Also the message that they were willing to inconvenience incoming guests provided they were paid for it tells a sad story in itself.

The final straw, however, is that we filled in a guest comment form including our contact details and checked a box labelled "tick this box if you would like to be contacted regarding the issues you have raised" (or something like that). 2 months later we have hd no response.

Clrealy this hotel is now inder new management and the new management want to make money and don't care about their guests. Our advice - go elsewhere - we will in future. Such a pity to do this to a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Would never come again. We had booked by phone and said we would pay cash. No mention was made of a bond. On arrival we were asked for $100 bond as well as the room rate.We drove to mt mothers in West Auckland and borrowed $100 and returned. The rudest receptionist embarrassed us and refused to take cash and asked for a credit card. We then had to leave or miss our concert as well. We had to spoil our evening and drive back out to West Auckland and stay at my Mums after the concert. It was supposed to be a special night out in Auckland. I believe she owes us an apology.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

booked through a travel agent, taxi driver from airport said "are you sure" with a strange look, when given our destination. large room with kitchenette (not needed). table had a loose leg which would have been a compensation seekers dream for a set-up accident! very noisy room, emergency vehicles all night long, plus the refuse collection at 4:00 am. did not mind the location as walking suits us. restaurant service & food average.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Have stayed at this hotel numerous times since 2005, the service level has gone from great to really disgusting at present. Sad, the hotel has all the right ingredients of a great hotel, but the staff at the reception, man o man, they can be awfully rude and disrespectful depending on how you view it !

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, NSW
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Hotel itself was lovely, can't say a bad word about it, there are however, extra charges for just about everything!

Internet connection in the room is v.expensive, $10-$20/24 hours or there are 2 terminals in the lobby at a whopping $5 per 30 minutes!

You pay a bond to borrow an umbrella (charged to your room until you return it), and parking (while cheap for the city) is an extra $10 a day. The parking lot is very tight and we scraped our rental car on our first effort at navigating the turns!

The room service/restaurant meals are on the high end $30-$40 mains, and the nighttime menu is for the desperate only - $25 for a toasted sandwich!

Overall though, the hotel is in a quieter part of the city, up a steep hill from the shopping district but in a safe part of town. It has great room facilities, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowmansam
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Booked the Duxton through a lastminute style site for a good rate so was very pleased when my girlfriend and I were offered a free large glass of wine in the bar upon arrival. Rooms vere spacious and had a small kitchenette in which we didnt use but would have been useful had we stayed longer. Not the closest hotel to town but not a long walk either.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.