We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience at Amora Hotel, Auckland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Experience at Amora Hotel, Auckland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've stayed at the Amora Hotel a couple of times this year all work related. During my stay there, the staff have been very pleasant, very accommodating, and very friendly.

Buffet style, the breakfast menu is very tasty.

In all instances, morning and afternoon teas were provided and in all instances, we were given a platter of bakery and a platter of fresh fruit.

In all instances, internet access was required. While internet was mostly via wifi within the hotel, we had issues with access at times. In one instance, wifi was not available in the penthouse suite.

Parking is readily available. The external cold and hot pools are next to each other and are located outside near the bar and outdoor eating area.

Located in CBD Auckland, its about 5-10 minutes walk to the Aotea Centre, Sky City and about 10-15 minutes walk to the Les Mills Gym (Victoria Street).

The rooms that I've stayed in included a kitchen/microwave/cutlery/plates/cups, washing/dryer machine, balcony.

The portable A/C is a bit noisey for my liking. However, you have the option to open the sliding door to the balcony and the windows if you prefer fresh (cool) air.

Room Tip: I prefer the corner suites. The penthouse is split into two levels - the sleeping area (includi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Anthony K,

Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor and for sharing your compliments on our product, service and location.

We are happy to note that you found our staff to be pleasant, accommodating and friendly.

The entire team is delighted to read such a fantastic review from you. It is our utmost focus to ensure we meet up with the services that our guests expect from us and appreciation such as yours is indeed rewarding.

The team and I are grateful for your recommendation and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    153
    117
    56
    28
See reviews for
45
195
28
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

After arriving in Auckland at some ungodly hour of the morning and spending a few hours trying to rest in an airport hotel, we finally obtained our rental car and eventually made it to the Amora Hotel in Auckland after driving on the wrong side of the road and stalling the car multiple times... We were on a whirlwind tour of NZ - a side trip during our 3 weeks in the Cooks. Our check-in at the Amora was rocky, at best. We were informed by the front desk staff that we had arrived at the hotel 7 days early... not the news we wanted to hear after flying out of Raro at 1am.. fortunately, my hubby had our paperwork in order, showing we arrived on exactly the right day. We were informed after this, that the hotel was completely booked.... another bump in the road causing our tempers to flare.... fortunately, they had one room left on reserve, the penthouse and would be staying there for the night, at no extra cost. Score. The room was beautiful.. a two-storey penthouse, boasting two washrooms, a full kitchen, an incredibly comfortable bed (I slept like a dream) and floor-to-ceiling windows. We were only staying one night, unfortunately, but it was quite nice. The biggest downside was the $15 charge on our bill after making a 2min local phone call and the inability to change more than a small amount of CDN$ to NZD... oh well! Auckland was lovely.. we had a great meal at a downtown bar, toddling around downtown and enjoyed a pint at a pub watching a rugby match. Great day/night.. the next morning we checked out and continued on to Rotarua.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear The Roaming Murphys,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay last year.

I am glad that the rather unfortunate incident of incorrect arrival dates for your booking was eventually dealt with in a satisfactory manner.

We aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland and are delighted to read your comments regarding the cleanliness and comfort of your suite.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

the pics show a hotel that has been redone and it has been redone -- as cheaply as possible. Rust shows through the paint and the bathtub was truly nasty with mold and mildew. Don't use the washer in the closet, it smells horrible and ruined a load of our laundry. The linens are old, thin and stained. Our mattresses were so worn it was like sleeping in a hammock. The small kitchenette was handy and very clean. The front desk staff were all very professional and helpful. Fault lies with the owners/managers and those who train housekeeping.

It's also conveniently located one block from a set of strip clubs and the neighborhood schizophrenics so be ready to explain those to the kids when you walk out for pizza. Not a good value. We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear toolimus,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am truly disappointed to read that the cleanliness for your room was not up to the Amora standard. These issues have been raised with the housekeeping team and further training will be provided to ensure that is not repeated.

It is our aim to provide a quality experience for all our guests at the Amora Hotel Auckland and I agree that the room linen is showing signs of wear and these are being replaced throughout the hotel. So are all the beds within the hotel.

toolimus, I thank you for taking the time to inform us of your concerns and I sincerely hope that you will allow us to show the true spirit of Amora hospitality on your next visit to Auckland.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Amora Hotel Auckland is really value for money. Close to central city and Queen Street and about 15 minutes walk to Sky City..
The room is spacious and clean. The Kitchenette is very handy if needed.
Parking was a bit of a problem, especially if you have a large car. Very tight bends and small car parks.
Lovely balconies with wonderful views, try and get a floor high up if you can.
Staff are pleasant and helpful.
Would I stay there again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as high as you can, wonderful views of the Sky Tower and harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Woolies,

Thank you very much for choosing Amora Hotel Auckland during your visit to Auckland and also for sparing time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful for your wonderful words of appreciation of our product and location.
Our endeavour remains to continuously engage in service excellence and provide real value for money.

We are also happy to receive your positive comments on our staff being pleasant and helpful.

The team and I thank you once again for your time, the wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Got a good rate on Wotif , great location easy access to all things
Welcoming check in staff
Room large enough , but a little attention is needed to housekeeping standards nagement needs to address
Obviously laundry is done in house not up to other hotels standardss of being pressed and starched, this laundry showing signs of wear , towels not white , rather drab in colour ... greyish, felt very unclean
The Bed cover that was on the end of the bed needs immediate cleaning was grubby
But to be fair how many minutes do you allow cleaning staff per room ??But size of room for a weekend is great and a reasonable view from outside decks
Didnt dine in house but saw very good meal deals on the advertised menu
Parking that you paid extra for was very limited and had to go back to reception to get a staff car moved so carpark was available
Walls in need of repaint showing large amounts of wear and tear
Air Conditioning / heating system very noisy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear rambo1950,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our staff welcoming.

It is our aim to provide a quality experience for all our guests at the Amora Hotel Auckland and towards that end we have already deployed a new WI-Fi network throughout the hotel along with a complementary access for the first 60 mins.

I understand and appreciate that the room linen is showing signs of wear and I am glad to inform you that since your stay we have already begun replacing all our hotel linen for bathroom and bathrooms alike.

rambo 1950, I thank you for your time and appreciate your feedback. Because of feedback such as yours, we are able to monitor areas which need improvement and implement solutions, all in an effort to further enhance the guest experience.

I note your comment regarding car parking and this will be addressed with the team.

We thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a standard double room with two double beds - for 2 adults and two children. The room was small but comfortable.
The rooms are a little dated, but they are clean and have everything we needed for a 1 night stay in the city. Not that we used it, but great that the rooms have a small kitchen, and a washing machine :)
Nice little balcony off the room with fantastic views of the Sky Tower.
The location is excellent. Parking is extra unless you score it in a deal. But we got a pretty good deal on the room so we were happy to pay for our secure carpark. Once you park up you can walk everywhere in the city.
My husband made use of the gym which is small but has good equipment. Unusual shaped room though and not for anyone who might suffer from claustrophobia as its tiny!
Overall we were more than happy with our stay and would definitely pick Amora Hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear KPwhanau,

Thank you for posting a review of Amora Hotel Auckland on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read your comments regarding the location of the hotel, cleanliness of the room and amenities provided. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team.

KPwhanau, thank you for choosing to stay us and look forward to welcoming you back to “Amora Hotel Auckland” in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our booking had been for two adults and two children. This had been booked long before our visit yet there were only two cups, two glasses, two towels you get the jist of it. The hot tub was great but the pool was cold. It would have been better if the pool was around the 30 degree temp. The place was clean and user friendly. Good TV and Movie selection.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Walter M,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

Whilst I am disappointed to read that your room did not have sufficient crockery or glassware for a family of four.

We are glad that you enjoyed the use of the hot tub, swimming pool and movies on demand.

Walter, we do take all of your comments on board with an aim to further improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will see you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.