We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in 2005 when it was called the Duxton, now renamed Amora.
It is little worn, tired and needs some TLC. The spakle of 2005 has gone.
Breakfast was reasonably priced with a good choice available. I asked for decaf coffee which when it arrived was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, and being such a valuable customer of ours since 2005. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast spread

We are looking into improving our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    166
    136
    66
    32
See reviews for
54
215
33
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA, CA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I really would like to give this hotel a 4 star because of it's location but due to the lack of service and amenities I'll stick with a 3 star rating. I chose this hotel due to it's location in the center of Auckland right next to Myers park. I contacted the hotel numerous times by email and even called twice to confirm my accommodations. I thought I explained myself very well in asking for a higher level floor room with a view, and an upgraded (Deluxe Room, Jetted Tub). When I initially checked in the front desk said they had no record of my requests. I showed them a copy of the one of the emails and told them I was not expecting this upgrade to be complementary. They said they were sorry but there was nothing they could do (even thought I had been communicating with them for over 6 months). Needless to say I was disappointed but they provided me with a view room on one of the middle floors. After checking into my room I looked out the window and realized that the outdoor pool and Jacuzzi were empty. I then contacted the front desk again to see about getting a room with a Jacuzzi. They finally showed me another room on the other side of the hotel (with no park view) that had what they call a jetted tub. Lets be clear, a couple holes in the bottom of a small tub does not make a Jacuzzi tub (No side jets what so ever). Anyway I settled for the original room with a park view that didn't have the jetted tub. Upon taking a shower the next morning we realized that the shower leaked like a sieve unto the floor. We had to use our towels on the bathroom floor to keep from slipping. We really didn't contact anyone except to get some ice until we checked out. At that time they insisted that I pay for the upgraded room even thought it didn't have a jetted tub. I once again explained my numerous conversations with their staff regarding my expectations. I also mentioned that that their website stated they had a functional outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. We had quite a go around and finally they agreed not to charge me for the upgraded room. Overall a fairly unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay at this hotel, try and reserve a higher level floor room with a view of the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

It's been a tough day and it's not getting easier... It's late on a mid week night and I'm trying to prep for a meeting tomorrow morning. I thought it would be a simple case of using the wifi (only in the lobby, not the room) to download my presentation. The problem being the internet is cutting in and out and I've been here 40min already!
Other weird things at this joint are;
- the hair dryer is hidden under the tv in a locked drawer.
- retro fitted noisy aircon
- no tooth paste, shower caps, cotton buds
- limited housekeeping. Only the beds seem to be made
- hotel staff that seem extremely indifferent to providing hospitality!
- a slightly dodgy neighbourhood on the cbd fringe

The good side is that each room has a cute balcony with a good view of the park below.

This hotel screams out for needing some TLC. Not just a lick of paint but also some staff training on what hotel hospitality is all about.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here for business over three nights in a studio apartment at a rate of NZD165/night.

The location is very convenient as it is less than a 10 min walk to the main precinct of Queen St and most taxi drivers seem to know the place well. Head in the opposite direction and you will come across the more seedier side of Auckland.

The hotel itself is what I would consider basic. In that it provided most facilities including a private balcony for the suite. The bed was very comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. However that was about where the positives ended.

There was only a portable AC unit in the room. The shower head leaked which meant the water pressure was like oriental torture, there was no separate fan in the bathroom, which meant that the only way to ventilate the bathroom was to turn on the combination heater and fan - great on a very warm day; the noise level in the corridors was loud, both from the guests and the housekeeping staff, even though I had a corner suite; the iron leaked all over the floor, which presented an interesting situation with the combination of steam and electricity; the ironing board cover was rusted through and WiFI wasn't available in the rooms.

Will probably opt to stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Glad you had a comfortable stay with us. Sorry about the shower, perhaps if you had informed the reception team they would have sent the maintenance to have a look at it.

I shall definitely look into the house keeping staff making noise while they servicing the floors, we have never had this complaint in the past however I shall be addressing this with them. As for the WIFI we are looking into getting that facility available shortly.

We do hope you would consider staying with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We booked a room for 2 adults and 1 child and got a queen size bed plus a rollaway. The room had a kitchenette (cooking plates, microwave, sink, laundry machine) and there was a bathtub in the bathroom.

The airconditioner is not mounted like a regular heat pump, with the noisiest part outside. It's an indoor unit with an exhaust pipe out the window, tightly sealed through the glass. Very noisy and ineffective.

Upon placing the cot for our baby next to our bed, we noticed that the carpet was wet. This was due to a leak from the bathroom, where we had taken a shower. We immediately notified the reception, the janitor came up for a look, and claimed that there was not a leak. He said we should just place towels on the bathroom floor. The reception called our room and echoed this message 5 minutes later.

This hotel will have serious problems with humidity, mildew and mold, and probably leaks to other rooms as well pretty soon. Why they don't care I don't know.

There's a playground in the park behind the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Good location 5 minutes from main shopping street and 10 minutes from the dock area. Comfortable and clean; helpful staff; reasonable price. Not much in terms of amenities besides an outdoor unheated pool. Great deli right next door.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I agree with several other reviews---hotel is reasonably priced, well-located, with friendly staff who strive to help you out, but they are understaffed. The portable air-conditioning unit in our room was very noisy and spit water out onto the upholstered chair next to it. Room was on the sunny side in February so we definitely needed the air-conditioning. Glad we only stayed two nights. Was very disappointed by the charge for the internet. Even the free 30 minutes allotted to guests in the lobby was poor, connection kept dropping out. The couple of laptops available in the lobby were not functional either. Most hotels do much better than this. Had one dinner and one breakfast in the hotel restaurant---nothing special, slow service. I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to know that the air conditioning gave you a bit of trouble, if you had called the reception they would have sent the maintenance person to have a look into it and fix it for you. Perhaps when you must be around one of our staff members must have gone on a break, as we always have 2-3 members in one shift.

The internet charge is $15 per day, however we are looking into getting WIFI in the hotel. I shall address the Food & Beverage staff about the slow service, however please note that this was a one off occasion, our staff are very efficient and on top of things.

Once again thank you for the time taken and we shall be looking into improving our facilities. hope to have you stay with us shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.