We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a Grabone voucher..accomodation,dinner and parking for $150 approx
I casually read some reviews and found the recent ones to be very damning.this caused me apprehension was was totally misplaced. Check in was smooth and the room excellent..well appointed,clean,bed comfortable. There was no sign of worn,chipped,old,or dirty
Some pretenders who have never stayed anywhere good just like to mouth off a lot of crap.
The staff in the restaurant were courtesies and attentive and the meals and drinks came promptly with the iced water topped up at least 4 times
This is an excellent hotel and very reasonably priced
Pretentious people should stay in their own homes

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Wayne7777,

Thanks so much for posting a review of your stay. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is quite a delight to know that there are some honest people out there who can honestly review their stay.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    166
    136
    66
    32
See reviews for
54
215
33
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

To begin, there were a few things I did like: the room was quite clean, reception upon arrival was quite nice, and the location is pretty central. The size of my executive studio room was notable.

Otherwise, this experience was kind of a bust. I particularly want to address the dining situation, which was abysmal. I first went to dinner at The Grill restaurant, and the wait staff looked genuinely confused by my presence. Understandable; there was no one else in the entire restaurant at 6pm. Red flag #1.

I ordered dinner, which was mediocre at best (the 'three cheese tart' was particularly awful, which looked and tasted like it was a microwaved frozen snack. ew.) Because I was the only one there, I thought service would be stellar. I was mistaken. The wait staff, while generally nice, had no idea what to do and I was made to wait for a long period of time before each course and before getting my check.

Breakfast was not much better. It was a sad buffet, things had been left out too long, not much selection. They didn't do hot food that day so they gave me a "big breakfast" which was sort of tragic and involved soggy bread, canned mushrooms, and bacon that was mostly fat.

All of that would be understandable given the tripadvisor rating of the hotel, as mediocre as it was in person, except for the food was SO EXPENSIVE. 4.5 star prices for 2 star food. I was torn between being embarrassed for them and feeling like I was being robbed.

Another thing-- not updating hotel facilities does not make it a boutique hotel. I'm not sure where they got the idea that this was a boutique hotel. Someone needs to take them aside and let them down gently.

On a lighter note, everyone who spoke to me was very sweet and accommodating. That was pleasant.

Room Tip: I was on an upper floor, which gave me a heart attack because something is up with the lift. Yikes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The location is a bit strange - just outside the CBD is very convenient, but opposite state flats and 200 yards from K road you see some interesting sights!!
It's all very functional, yet dated in it's decor and this continued when I got to my room - it looked fine, until you started to use stuff... the TV took a few goes to get working, while the bathroom not only had the bulb over the bath blown, but as soon as you turned the shower attachment on it blew itself off the wall, soaking you and the room!!
we seemed to have arrived on everybodies first day; the 3 or 4 waiting staff were all fussing around the 10-20 people in the restaurant meaning that each round of drinks took a while to appear.
All this said, the room rate was reasonable - we ate in the CBD and crabbed croissant on Queen St for breakfast rather than taking the exorbitant breakfast option in the hotel.
The CBD is very accessible and a walk down Queen St acts as a good workout in the morning so a very OK experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken for your feedback.

Sorry to hear that you had a bit of wait for your drinks, it could have been one of those days where we received too many orders at the same time. Did you mention this to our staff upon check out or at the bar? We will surely address this with the restaurant supervisors.

As for the bulb in the bathroom, perhaps our reception staff could have sent the maintenance if you would have informed us about the problem.

However we do apologize for this, and we hope we can have you stay with us in the near future.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in the deluxe spa king room and paid $200 a night. First of all, the spa was out of order. We wernt happy about that. Then late at nite the spa in the bedroom kept making sounds it was difficult to sleep. Everything is worn, and old, chipped and peeling paint, small tv, lift was not functioning properly with a sign up saying 3 people maximum when the standard amount said 11 people. Obviously maintanence problems. When I left they did not give me a receipt. I had to go back to reception to ask for one. Ive been to Amora hotel in the past and it was never like how it is now. It looks as though that place has gone to the pack. I have been to many high class hotels and if you were to compare the amount you are paying, to the standard of the room, hotel and facilities I would not reecommend it. Unless, there is serious upgrade and maitanence done. Very disapointed... despite the problems we experienced, the service was good.

Room Tip: None at the moment until maintanence and upgrades done
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to write us a feedback.

So sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. Our reception staff is available 24 hours, If you would have mentioned to our friendly staff about your spa bath making noise they would have immediately come over and had a look at it.

As for the elevators we have had issues in the past where too many people get into it along with their luggage and that causes a lot of problems, hence better to be safe than sorry we have put that notice, however we are working on getting it improved. So while the work is ongoing we have this displayed.

It is a one off incident where the reception staff did not offer you the receipt all our staff are well trained and they usually offer the guest if they want a copy of their receipt. However I do apologize that this did not happen in your case.

We hope to have you stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked through a grabone special for a night in Auckland for our anniversary. The deal included deluxe spa, bubbles, chocolates and breakfast with a late checkout.
My husband forgot to book the room a day out from heading to Auckland, on phoning we were given the option to upgrade our room to an Executive room as deluxe spa were no longer available.
It was truly disappointing. The whole place is tired and In need of updating.
Our bathroom was not cleaned properly and the spa bath was a joke only room for a single person. The bubbles was a cheap bottle of Lindaur with a bar of chocolate totally not one would expect.
Breakfast was good, a full English breakfast provided and the service was friendly and efficient. The dining area to me was way too cramped. We were pleased that we took the initiative the night before to go into the city to have dinner as we felt with what we had observed we would have been disappointed had we stayed at the Amora to dine.
We gave feedback and requested that they contact us to discuss the feedback however, a week later we have not heard from them.
We would not return to this particular hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose an Executive suite it is not worth the $s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Despite booking the deluxe room with spa bath it was disappointing. The room and hotel can best be described as "tired". It needs a complete refurbishment. Otherwise the service and amenities were adequate

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to know that the service and amenities were adequate.

We are looking into a few changes in the hotel, however it is an ongoing process.

Hope to have you stay with us shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callala Bay, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rooms very clean with a good kitchenette. Particularly like the rooms with 2 person spa, but they seem to be rarely available. I guess they are popular with others too. I use Wotif to make sure of a good rate.

Room Tip: Book early to get a spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Yes indeed our spa rooms are very popular, however if your preference is a spa room I would recommend calling our friendly reservation staff and making a booking much in advance.

We do look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.