We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay. First time in Auckland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Auckland to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Auckland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
1 review
“Good stay. First time in Auckland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Had my first stay in Auckland. Didn't want to stay in a big or flash hotel neither a backpackers. Good apartment style accommodation. Good price. Convenient location. Not in the middle of the noisy Queen Street. Staff were friendly very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback about the hotel. We are pleased to hear you found our staff to be friendly and accomodating- it’s always our aim to ensure our guests feel welcome and valued during their stay. We hope you had enjoyed your visit to Aucklnad and hope to see you again soon at the Amora Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    154
    117
    57
    29
See reviews for
46
196
28
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My flight was on early July 30 morning, but I saw check out time must be after 2:00PM. So I booked 3 days, from July 29 to Aug. 1st.
When I checked in on July 30, 7:00AM, the reception person told me my booking time was on July 29. So it is not right. I told him since I can not check in before 2:00PM, so I booked one day earlier. He then went into office room for several minutes, and then came back tell me I could check in. I asked whether I should book for July 30 and 31, he said yes. I asked him, how many days I should pay for, he said 2!
He told me the check out time is 10:00AM. (I could not find such information in my booking confirmation documents)
While checking out, he gave me a bill for July 29, 30, and 31. And refused to do any check with Expedia. He was quite rude I would say.
It is strange, I could not do it right: I booked for July 29 to July 31, he told me I was wrong I should book for July 30 and 31. but in the end he charged me for 3 days.
In addition, the booking confirmation letter is lack of check out time - which is important information. He said, we gave all information to Expedia, so it is my problem with expedia and nothing to do with them?! - I was so surprised that a service industry professional could say this ?
Would suggest tourists never use this hotel! They are mean, always try to take advantages from customers, do not walk their promise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Mr Fang,

Thank you taking the time to write your experience with us.

Im sorry for the terrible miscommunication about your reservation but however this misunderstanding is also brought upon from how you made your reservation.

The standard check-in time in New Zealand is 2pm and check-out time is 10am. This is clearly stated on our hotel website. Your booking from Expedia was made from 29th July to 31st July, this is a total of 3 nights chargeable. There was no notes or special requests from your booking stating that you are an early arrival on the 30th July. Hence, on the 29th, we closed your booking as a 'no-show'. When you turned up on the 30th July, your booking in the system showed as 'no-show', thats why the staff need to confirm this with Expedia before proceeding with your check-in.

Since you did make a 3 night booking, hence you were charged for 3 nights. All pre-booked rooms are charged on nighly basis. Its a standard procedure in any hotel, however, if you had contacted the hotel direct, we would have been happy to waive the pre-booking charge and allowed you to check-in early as we were on low occupancy.

If you want to make a booking in future in any hotel, please conatct the hotel direct. You have a better chance at getting a deal and amending the booking is hassle free.

Im sorry that you found the staff to be rude as this is not the usual comment I receive. The staffs here are generally helpful and accomodating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We took advantage of a GrabOne deal and headed to Auckland. We had a room with spa bath. It was a lovely room, very clean and tidy. On arrival we had a cheese board and crackers and a bottle of bubbles. It was very central and great location for walking around the city. The parking was a bit of a squeeze in the basement but otherwise it was all good. The staff were very friendly and helpful.. Breakfast was amazing in the morning, we loved that. Having an extended check out time was great too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Donna,

It’s exciting to receive such valuable comments from our guests as we take pride and strive towards delivering an outstanding guest experience to make us the most preferred destination in the Auckland City.

We are happy to note that your stay was comfortable and our facilities & services were to your liking and expectation.

It is a matter of pride to know that our team lived up to your expectations with their friendly and helpful service. Your word of appreciation for our associates encourages them to continue to strive for further excellence.

Thank you for for choosing the Amora Hotel, we await your return and hope to be your preferred destination in Auckland CBD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in a king size spar room special offer....
Well we were suppose to have a cheese platter on arrival i asked it to be left in room as i was going out.....didn't happen... then had to phone for it and it took nearly half an hour.... ,which included two small slices of cheese , 3 crackers, 2 prues, i tiny square of pickle and a few pumpkin seeds.....disappointed....
Then the spar didn't work, one of the lift's didn't work and the other one we got stuck twice...... complained to staff and he said he would past it on to manager.....what a joke ....but must say the bed was soft and the breakfast buffet was good and hot......

Room Tip: was sad about this stay as had stayed before and it was great and ticked all the boxes....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we apologise for the issues you experienced. It’s always our aim to provide the best possible service, so your feedback has been passed on to the relevant department to help improve the quality and service levels. Just for future reference you can also ask to speak to our Duty Manager at any point if you are unhappy with your room, or any aspect of the service you have received. It is our intention that all our guests have a pleasant stay, and if there are any issues, we welcome the opportunity to resolve them. We understand that maintenance has now been completed on the spa.We do hope that you will consider visiting us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I write this almost reluctantly - Amora Hotel is a venue I'd like to keep all to myself. As a Hotel it is good, nothing spectacular in terms of rooms. They are very clean and tidy and well maintained and ok value for money. But where Amora excels is in it's staff - they are amazing to deal with. Whether it be the Front Office, reservations, conferencing, or restaurant they are all cheerful and go the extra mile.
I conducted a course at the Hotel over 4 days and we were almost waited on hand and foot, it really was exceptional. I would highly recommend this as a conference venue, the facilities are very good with no surprises.

Room Tip: Breakfast here is not cheap but they did have $12 lunch specials where the fish choice was excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you very much for the great feedback, this is very pleasing to read.

I'm delighted that you commented on the our staffs amazing service. I will share this with the team and it will definetly make their day.

We appreciate you taking the time to give feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked a room with a spa bath. The room was clean and had nice views overlooking the park. Although we had the spa bath and kitchen I did feel it was overpriced as wifi and parking were extras. The spa bath jets didn't work very well so that was a little disappointing. We stayed at another hotel the following night for cheaper, it didn't have a kitchen but we had free wifi, parking and breakfast included. I stayed at Amora purely for the spa bath, some of their other room options may be better but the spa bath was not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your most recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland.

However, the hotel does offer complimentary wifi, computers, internet, and printing in the business centre located in the hotel’s lobby. I hope that you were made aware of this guest amenity during check-in.

We also have numerous deals on our home website for the spa room, which includes parking and internet on complimentary. Perhaps you have chosen a price that did not include any extras.

Thank you again for your comments, because we are always looking for ways to better serve our guests.

If you decide to try us again, please contact our friendly reservation team directly and they will help you 'grab a deal" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After our stay at the Amora Hotel in Auckland to say we were bitterly disappointed would be an understatement. We opted for the “Penthouse Suite” for a night away from our young son for the first time and the room was appalling. The first room we were in had dirty dishes left in the dishwasher and it was evident that it had been there for a few days. There was also hair on the bathroom floor and not only is this disgusting but very unhygienic and I would definitely expect more from a four star hotel. After complaining to management, we were moved to the room next door however that room had not been cleaned properly either so we were forced to put up with housekeeping in our room for over 1 hour to get that rectified and even that amount of time wasn’t enough as there was still chewing gum stuck to the roof. After paying almost $350 for a night, I would expect a much higher standard and unfortunately the terrible stay at you hotel ruined our entire weekend and a rare opportunity for time to ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland.

Please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of the entire team at the hotel as we failed to service your room before arrival. We have been having problems with our housekeeping system and the status of these room were not updated.

This is not the standard we take pride in and please be assured that our management team has received your comments and they will be shared with our team as a coaching tool.

If you will kindly indulge us, we would like to welcome you back to our hotel and offer you a complimentary Executive Suite room with a personal spa bath. The room has a lounge area leading into your personal balcony facing the Myers park and a private spa bath. This room will be a perfect get away for you and your partner from your young son since you could not enjoy our facilities to the fullest on your last stay.

I ask that you contact the Reservation Manager directly at resmgr@auckland.amorahotels.com to make your booking and I am certain our team will exceed your expectations this time.

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.