We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Auckland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Great Ponsonby Arthotel to your Saves list
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT for BEST RATE
Ranked #9 of 60 Auckland B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Auckland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We started our New Zealand experience in the Arthotel B&B with Sally and Gerry. It was great to stay in an old style building in one of Auckland's traditonal areas. Ponsonby is well located outside the centre of the city but it's easy to get anywhere as the B&B is near to the circular bus route which is quite frequent. Although Ponsonby is an affluent residential area (I would like to be able to afford to live there!) it is also well known for it's shops and restaurants and there are many of them a couple of minutes from the B&B. The breakfasts were magnificent - freshly cooked to order and with all the extras you expect in a five star hotel, fresh fruit, cakes, cheeses and ham, etc. and wonderful coffee! Gerry is very helpful at suggesting the best places to go and how to make the best use of your time there - for those of us who are interested in it, it is an Eco place too! You cannot do better than staying at the Arthotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio room overlooking the patio which was perfect as it was in a building just acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Lesley,

Thank you very much for such a great review. We do love that our location is so central, it makes it easy for our guests, and us too. Our breakfasts are our pride and joy, and we’re glad that we were able to share it with you. Please come back sometime.

Cheers,

The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    48
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
169
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a terrific and friendly place to stay. . The B and B is located in Ponsonby - a vibrant neighborhood of old houses and lots of cafes and right on the inner bus line. The location of the hotel is ideal, just a quiet street off to the main Ponsonby road and a convenient walk to Auckland City Center. The location of the hotel is ideal, just a quiet street off to the main Ponsonby road and a convenient walk or bus ride to Auckland City Center.

Sally, Gerry and staff are so friendly, helpful and the service was excellent. My room was spacious, clean, warm, very comfortable and the breakfasts were great in terms of quality and variety.

I will definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to travellers.

My initial plan was to stay for one day only on my arrival from LA. i enjoyed the stay so much that i ended up staying 3 more days just before flying back to Los Angeles.

Traveling all alone , the stay felt like staying at home and I enjoyed the conversation with Sally Gerry and the staff during breakfast.


Thanks Sally, Gerry, Holly, Salomi , Max and staff.(PS.: if i got names spelled wrong , i apologize)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Nithin,

Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us, it was great to hear about what you do in the US. We loved that you were able to stay with us again before your flight, please come back for a visit sometime soon.

Cheers,

The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a terrific and friendly place to stay. The owners are very helpful and outgoing. The B and B is located in Ponsonby - a vibrant neighborhood of old houses and lots of cafes and right on the inner bus line. The walk down to the city along the harbor is wonderful. The cooked breakfasts are really good too. This is a fine alternative to staying in the heart of the city. They can also arrange for you to be met at the airport or taken to the airport by a lovely man and it was cheaper than my taxi fare I paid. This is a good choice!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Sandy,

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you were able to make the most of our vibrant neighbourhood. Our driver, Uncle, is indeed a lovely man, and one of our favourite people here at the Great Ponsonby. Please come back and visit us soon.

Cheers,

The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We, my partner, teenage daughter and I stayed three nights during the weekend of the Rugby League 9's, Eminem concert etc and loved it! Sally, Gerry and staff are so friendly, helpful, and the service was excellent. Our rooms were spacious, clean, warm, very comfortable and the breakfasts were great in terms of quality and variety. The location of the hotel is ideal, just a quiet street off to the main Ponsonby road and a convenient walk to Auckland City Center. We will definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to travellers.

Thanks Sally, Gerry and staff. Great place, great time...

Take good care
Steve, Shona & Nekea x

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms (yellow & orange?) away from the main house which were large, sunny, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Steve, Shona and Nekea,

Thank you for your positive review. You certainly stayed during our busiest week! We hope you enjoyed our hot chocolates and eggs benedicts each morning, and that you had a good time watching the league. We hope to see you again at next year’s league tournament, give us a ring and we’ll see what we can do.

Cheers,

The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here on the first and last night of our new zealand tour. From the hotel name we had expected great things. The décor may artistic to some, to us it was a mish mash of colours and styles which appeared garish.
Service was fine but the quality of the breakfast was very disappointing. Choice of cereals, fruit and breads very limited and the cooked breakfast was average at best.
Ponsonby is a great area for restaurants, cafes and proximity to the city. Expect a lot more of a boutique B&B. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Douglas,

Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate guest feedback so we can continue to improve and deliver the highest possible standards. We do acknowledge that you may have not found our artwork to your taste, as the delights of art will always be different for each person. However, we do enjoy the artwork around our property, and find it rich in New Zealand culture. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast that was on offer. The vast majority of our other guests have found it delightful, and we are saddened to hear that you did not think the same.

We appreciate that you enjoyed where we are situated. Our location is one of our main sources of pride, as we love to be able to provide our guests with a place to stay right in the heart of Ponsonby.

Cheers,

The crew at The Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great place to stay. Rooms nicely done, very comfortable. Excellent breakfasts with indoor or outdoor seating. I was worried it would be too far out of Auckland City Center but it was very easy to get into the city or down to the ferry terminal using the green bus line for NZ$2. Just a block from the B&B to walk down the hill to get to the Ponsonby Terrace strip with all the restaurants. A lovely, charming area. Thanks Sally, Gerry, Max and Holly! A wonderful start to our month.
Nancy and Mike O'Neill

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Nancy and Mike,

Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are so pleased to hear that you loved our breakfasts, rooms and location. Please come back soon, we would love to have you stay with us again.

Cheers,

The crew at The Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

No doubt the service and staff are outstandingly helpful and welcoming, but the title "Arthotel" is somewhat missleading. We stayed in the granny flat which features a color scheme that I would call interesting. I was seeking to get away from the polished 5* boring hotels, but I don't think the interior was quite what I expected. If you charge premium money you have to deliver more.

Room Tip: No more to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Christoph,

Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate hearing about our guest’s thoughts (good or bad) so we can continue to improve and offer the best possible experience. Our bright and abstract colour scheme is our way of departing from the concrete, refined hotel room offered at more commercial places. We aim on brightening our guests trips, offering something different and out there. We are saddened that this did not strike the right chords for you. We would love to hear your thoughts on what more we could offer. Please drop us an email at info@greatpons.co.nz.

We are pleased to hear that you found our staff and service outstandingly helpful and welcoming, we aim to make sure that our guest’s needs are tended to intently.

Cheers,

The crew at The Great Ponsonby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Ponsonby Arthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Ponsonby Arthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.