We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Great Ponsonby Arthotel to your Saves list
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT for BEST RATE
Ranked #9 of 60 Auckland B&B and Inns
Masham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've stayed at the Great Ponsonby 4 times now and always find it home from home - Gerry and Sally are perfect hosts, the rooms are very comfortable with every facility ( WiFi, Sky TV, iPod dock, fridge with fresh milk, lovely toiletries etc. etc.) Much better than a characterless hotel and so close to all the restaurants of Ponsonby and only 10 minutes from downtown Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    49
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
170
39
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Loved this place. Rooms have real character and I loved sitting in the garden and on my verandah. Gerry and Sally couldn't have been more hospitable and breakfast is delicious! Perfectly located, close to good restaurants and coffee shops in Ponsonby. A real find. I look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have just stayed at Great Ponsonby for the second time having so appreciated the care and attention we received first time round. Our hosts go the extra mile: ensuring that our needs were met by organizing contacts and transport, sharing local history, prducing great breakfasts and providing a friendly environment to stay in. Love the courtyard rooms with their artwork and beautiful colour schemes. We plan to revisit if in Auckland again.
Elaine

Room Tip: We preferred the freedom and position of the courtyard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We celebrated our 45th here - a special treat indeed. Sally and Gerry are out of the box - gracious and generous in every respect. Will make it a tradition. The breakfasts are a feature - but so is the conversations all around.

Room Tip: Top exec suite is special - great outlook and balcony. Spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaura
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

After a long flight and busy day in Auckland we were welcomed with a nice glass of wine by Gerry and Sally. We enjoyed their hospitality for three nights. Room with our own little veranda was warmly decorated and has all the comfort one needs. We were supplied with great NZ dvd 's which was excellent intro to the countries culture. The breakfast is delicious, homemade breads dtc. The large lounge and veranda and lovely garden makes this place a very nice place to crash after a tiring day in town or after a long trip.
You can study the many travel guides available on your own, surf the free wifi or ask the hosts for advise which they do extensively. The lovely 19th century wooden villa is situated in a calm residential sidestreet of trendy but not touristy ponsonby road where you stumble on many nice eateries, cafe's and shops. Downtown is easily reached by foot, which is a nice walk or one can take the innerlink citybus which stops at the corner and departs every 10 to 15 minutes.
In short the best choice for a stay in Auckland.

Room Tip: Queesroom has a veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived tired from our overnight flight at 8am (early) and Sally made us feel at home right away. We had their breakfast and it was excellent. The B&B is beautifully kept, with well designed rooms and garden areas to sit. Sally and Gerry love to talk and the conversation was incredible, they make you feel included. They are exceptional hosts and they make it look easy. We loved the location on a quiet side street because you can have an easy walk to restaurants and shops and you can also walk down the hill to the harbor and take a ferry, which is what we chose to do. We are so glad that Sally insisted we stay up and walk around Auckland instead of taking a nap, it helped us adjust so quickly to the time change. Our room was comfortable and the common room was well supplied with reading materials and a laptop with free wifi. Best of all, Sally offered to give us advice on all the places we were to see on our New Zealand journey, writing down notes for us. This place is the real deal and worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I love the Great Ponsonby Art Hotel. The location couldn't be better - down a quiet side street but just off Ponsonby Rd - great for shopping, cafes, bars and dining. It's an easy walk into downtown, down to the marina and viaduct. Sally and Gerry are exceptional hosts, welcoming and warm, and incredibly helpful. All their staff are great too. I absolutely love the breakfasts here, they are such a treat. Try the omelette with feta and lemon zest - YUM! Great rooms, wifi, and a lovely lounge where you can get a coffee, tea, beer or wine any time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Ponsonby Arthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Ponsonby Arthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.