We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Auckland City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Auckland City to your Saves list
YHA Auckland City
4.5 of 5 Hostel   |   cnr City Rd and Liverpool St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

$18/night for a private, two bed room – you can’t beat that in NZ! This place is clean, quiet, the location’s good, there’s hot water and the staff are great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    42
    23
    9
See reviews for
4
34
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We recently stayed at this YHA as part of a large group. The rooms were clean, staff were friendly and helpful and the kitchen was excellent. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Unfortunately a downside was that the heaters in the rooms didn't always work.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

There are some great pros and some horrendous cons to this place.

Pros: The kitchen is first rate, everything's new and clean. The facilities in general are pretty good. The rooms are at the very least, clean - if you're the only person there. The staff are friendly, but - unfortunately...
Cons: They're hopeless. I was moved about five times in seven days to various rooms. In their defence, they did always move me to a better room, but so much buggering about just made it a huge hassle, having to check out at 10am and then put my bags in storage then take them out again at 2pm - what a hassle. Even that isn't an issue, though - my main problem with the place was that there's a massive divide in the type of people staying there. There seems to be three types of people staying here. Normal, twenty to thirty something travellers/workers who are generally thoroughly reasonable people.... School groups who are extremely loud and don't know any better.... and utterly foul, rude, older or foreign types. Let me give a few examples: two gentlemen of far eastern descent who had somehow made a room smell so pungent that I could not stay in there so had to change rooms, at 11pm. An old man who smelt so bad that people literally evacuated the common area to avoid his stink, and there have been several highly hostile, obnoxious Germans who really seem to take offense to everyone. Generally, aside from a small group of really lovely people, the types staying in this particular hostel made it a fairly awful experience, which is a shame, because it would be a great hostel if these people were removed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed at the YHA Auckland City backpackers for a couple of nights. The hostel is very average. Heard that a couple of people who stayed there got robbed because someone who checked in went from room to room looking for money and then checked out. The hostel rooms are a way too cold in the winter time, no heating in the rooms and the hostel charges a ridiculous amount of money for the wifi. A very average stay, I'm sure there are better hostels in Auckland!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was very impressed with this hostel for numerous reasons with barely any negatives. This place appears to be an old university style accomodation building which as a result means they have a lot of two bed dorms. Due to this style of building and its previous use it has other facilites which make the hostel very impressive.

The first of being the kitchen facilities which without doubt are the best I've come accross. They had at least 10 seperate cookers all with 4 hobs which was more than enough to accommodate this place. Other positives were the location which was about a 5-10 minute walk from all the shops and about 20 minutes from the viaduct. The staff were very polite and friendly and they have a decent lounge and skydeck area to relax.

The only negatives about this place was the rooms felt pretty damp, bathrooms were also limited to one shower per floor except for an extra shower every other floor. One final bad point was that they don't appear to wash the duvets. All linen appears to be washed but duvets are passed from guest to guest which ultimately feels pretty horrible.

All in all this hostel was pretty impressive.

Room Tip: The lower the floor the better the water pressure for the showers. They are pretty weak the higher u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hostel itself is comfortable and by and large up to the usual YHA standard. But beware if you are travelling by car. There is no parking facility and it's difficult to find anywhere on the surrounding streets. True you can park for free on the streets after 6.00pm if you can find a space that is... But during the day it's virtually impossible.

There is a Wilson car park almost opposite but when we went to park until we could get on the street it was over $30 for three hours! They must be the robber barons of Auckland!

The staff were friendly and helpful when we decided to move to the International YHA.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in a twin room here and it was nice (alot nicer than the one night we had to spend in Nomads Fat Camel's windowless room!). There was good storage spaces for keeping our luggage. The bathrooms were reasonably clean and the kitchen was very clean and tidy. Unfortunately, during our stay alot of things in the hostel seemed to be broken. One of the lifts was out of order and two of the three washing machines were broken, which was very frustrating as there was only one washing machine for all the guests in the hostel. Also, the toaster was broken during our stay. Not usually what you expect from YHAs.

The front desk was helpful and they had good luggage storage facilities when we checked in early.The location is decent as you can walk to town in a few minutes. We liked staying here, but the place needed some maintenance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Auckland City

Address: cnr City Rd and Liverpool St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Auckland City is the ideal backpacker hostel to start or finish your New Zealand adventure. The hostel combines the excitement of the city with a safe and secure environment. Located at the top of Auckland’s Queen Street, this former hotel has backpacker accommodation comprising mainly twin and double rooms with some multi-share rooms and some of our rooms have views over Auckland city. There is a sun deck on the 3rd floor with a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your YHA Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Yha Hotel Auckland Central
YHA Auckland City New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Auckland City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.