We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A factory for backpackers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Base Auckland Central Backpackers to your Saves list
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A factory for backpackers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I'm not a fan of Bases in general, they're useful if your already travelling with friends or are with a tour group but flying solo it just feels cold and unfriendly. They did however take good care of me, i had an all girls dorm booked which were all taken but they gave me a double at no extra cost. They have ok facilities. the showers were pretty crummy, thankfully i'd just come from being in chch for a week without a shower so i think someone pointing a hose at me would have sufficed. Can't beat the location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    112
    141
    88
    85
See reviews for
11
108
165
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Girlfriend and I stayed in a Private ensuite room and absolutely loved it! The bed is the comfiest i have ever had in a hostel! Was on same floor as reception (the closest to reception actually) and didnt hear any noise at all. and thats on a friday night.room was clean, tidy and definately big enough. When we checked in the reception staff were lovely, couldnt have been more helpful. Hostel is big and busy, but this i a good thing. gives a good vibe.
Too many people like to complain on these sites (maybe they should go home to be looked after by their mothers), but there was definately nothing to complain about with Base. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseRM, Front Office Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Hi Guys,

Thanks SO much for your review - its so nice to hear about people having a great time in our hostel. We're stoked to hear your good feedback and look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed here for one night only, and enjoyed my stay. My 4 bed dorm was good, beside the price of it. The only problem I had with this hostel was the showers. When I have a shower I dont think having to press the tap every 30 seconds to keep the water running is normal. Save water yes but really every 30 seconds.

Myabe if I stayed longer this would be different, but I cant really complain about the hostel.
Maybe change the the prices, $31 dollars for a 4 bed dorm is not normal in hostels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I payed 93 dollars for a single (double) room ensuite. i got a VERY SMALL room on the same floor as the reception. Sleeping was impossible due to 1. the unbearable heat in the room (windows cannot be opened) and this is in wintertime! 2. the noise.
this IS a backpacker place but they charge hotel prices unless you sleep in a dorm! in other ways: avoid this place at all costs unless you are in for party at all time and staying in a dorm.
btw even if you stay in a room and not a dorm, they demand 20 dollars cash deposit for the key!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseRM, Front Office Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Hi Fabiofort,

Thank you for your review of us. I am sorry to hear that you found our rooms too small and too hot. We did have a few problems with our air conditioning but this has since been rectified to make our guests more comfortable. Our $93 private rooms are equipped with a fridge, tea and coffee making faciltiies, TV with Sky and it's own ensuite which is why it is priced higher than our dormitory rooms. We also offer more basic private rooms for much lower prices. Every person that checks in to our hostel must pay a $20 cash key deposit but this is refunded in full on return of the key, so effectively is not an extra cost at all.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Some people will probably love Base as it is lively with a energetic vibe. However some of the small things just didn't add up for me.

I'm a big believer in having realistic expectations for the price you pay and think Base could be taking better care of the building and just need some basic regular maintenance that would make a big difference. Yes you don't mind the odd carpet or ceiling tile stain but these were everywhere here giving the whole place a very tired vibe. Like I said, so long as you expect that and just want a central place to crash this could be fine, noise didn't really bother me and the staff seemed friendly enough for this kind of place, thee were a couple of other more serious annoyances though.

Firstly they had a major temperature control issue, on arrival the whole place was like a sauna and without being able to open the windows the bedrooms were stuff and uncomfortable. This did improve on the second day but still seemed temperamental.
Secondly I stayed on the 6th floor where each shower cubicle had a different problem; broken lock in one, no water flow in another without constantly pressing the button which means you had to stop to lather up, the third had more water coming out the fixtures than the actual shower head meaning my feet were lovely and clean, the rest of me less so! Not massive but enough for me to move on after the second night into cheaper and more pleasant hostels in the suburbs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseRM, Front Office Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Hi,

Thanks for the review of your stay with us in June this year. You will be glad to hear that during June, July and August we have done a big clean and maintenance overhaul of our hostel so the showers are fixed and the airconditioning is a lot better! We have also replaced patches of carpet and even walls in some places so that people can enjoy their stay in more comfort and hopefully have expecations met.

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We booked a private double room, which on checking in had no windows and was located under the air conditioning vent making the room extremely cold and a little noisy.
The bed was comfortable and the fridge in the room a bonus.
The shower area was located a few doors down, with individual lockable cubicles with shower and dressing area and there was never a que.

The only downside with the private room was the lack of lockers, which I was slightly concerned about with it being such a large hostel and the increased risk of theft when travelling; luckily we didn't have any such problems but we heard stories from other travellers who had been victim to theft.

The shared kitchen was great with plenty of space to cook and eat.

The hostel was big, and located towards the top of the main street, the supermarket being located about 20minutes walk away but everything was in easy walking distance and there was plenty of information in the hostel for those wanting to make the most of Auckland.

A great place to start a trip, but not one you would stay in for a long time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseRM, Front Office Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Hi There,

Thank you for your review of Base Auckland and your comprehensive description of our faciltiies. It sounds like you utilised our extensive property well. Apologies that the room was a little cold, we try and control the air conditioning to suit everyone's needs but also have extra blankets available for the colder rooms.

Enjoy the rest of your travels and thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Fantastic hostel for young people wanting to see all Auckland has to offer. Good location and lovely staff. Stayed in a private room which was basic but clean and sufficient for backpacker needs. There are excellent computer facilities and The Globe Bar downstairs is a great place to go in the evening to meet other travellers. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseRM, Front Office Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Hi There,

Thank you for placing your review about Base Auckland. It sounds like you had a great stay which is exactly what we aim for! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and that we will see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Base Auckland Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Auckland Central Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.