We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wear Comfortable Shoes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast-to-Coast Walkway

Coast-to-Coast Walkway
Auckland, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 88 Attractions in Auckland
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wear Comfortable Shoes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Blessed with a blue sky day, we took the bus to Onehunga to start the walk. We'd got a map from the Information office in downtown Auckland and found that there are a number of buses that go to Onehunga by the Civic Theatre. Ride costs $4.50 per person and takes approx. 30 minutes. First uphill stood before us. One Tree Hill. A beautiful park. We walked between lambs and sheep who stood grazing. The walk really takes you from park to park with some links between through residential areas and the university. This made it more pleasing to the eye, but I thought it would take us along main streets that would offer up a lunch and/or coffee choice. This not to be. Would recommend you take a picnic and some water.There is a café in your first park but in our experience the coffee was like dishwater and lukewarm. We thought we'd buy lunch later..... but there was no later. After 4 hours of up hill and down, we'd made it back to the Auckland Domain and took a side trip to the Auckland Museum. Our feet were pretty tired by this time so didn't have a good long around but from our brief viewing would recommend this too. Did find food though! Really enjoyed the walk. Fantastic views. Gave us a much better idea of the landscape in which Auckland sits. Undeniably beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“see the suburbs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Walk was fairly good but the path took you through a number of regular suburbs as well as the well known parks of Auckland. Would have been more fun to go along better known parts of Auckland. Good way to kill a day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I did this walk from the Manukau Harbour to Queen's Wharf with a group of 75 Year 5 children from my son's school. The fact that all of them completed it without too much fuss would indicate that the walk is not only a good distance, but has plenty to keep even 9-year-olds happy along the way. The signposting is a little haphazard at times, but with vigilance not too difficult to find your way

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Long Slog, but worth it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We took a taxi to the farthest point on the walk and made our way back to the harbour. The starting point was fairly unspectacular, but once we got going it was really enjoyable. If you like to see a city on foot, which we do, I recommend this walk. It was a long walk with quite a few hills, the good thing is that if it becomes too much you can always hail a cab.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

At 67 I was a little fearful this would be too much for me...we went in a group, the day was not too hot and it was a great experience..beautiful scenery, well signposted, not too many tough spots, and you could do those at your own pace.We had some car supporters who brought lunch to us and encouraged us at various points and that meant lighter backpacks and fun. A must to appreciate Auckland and our history!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast-to-Coast Walkway also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Coast-to-Coast Walkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast-to-Coast Walkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.