We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Museum

Auckland Museum
Domain Dr | The Auckland Domain, Parnell, Auckland, New Zealand
64 9 309 0443
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Auckland Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$35*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #4 of 186 things to do in Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the history and culture of New Zealand through this memorial to those who sacrificed their lives in wartime.
England
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not enough time spent here but what we had was productively spent in the well laid out departments expecially the central Maori exibition hall. Add to this a live performance (which for me turned out to be the best Haka experienced during this trip despite the modern surroundings) and this is a not to miss attraction. Well worth the $20 fee which included the live performance. PS can fit in the 2 part Explorer Bus trip.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,283
    712
    104
    24
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
693 reviews 693 reviews
318 attraction reviews
Reviews in 223 cities Reviews in 223 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
“Way better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I wish I had had more time here. We stopped here while riding the hop on hop off bus. It was wonderful, full of Maori exhibits, Victorian china, furniture, clothing, etc. The natural history exhibit was very good as well. The war memorial exhibit was decent but we have seen better since arriving down under. I saw no paintings, but I could have missed them.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful set up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great area for kids, you could let the kids explore most of the day. Excellent information for cultural information.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth spending a whole day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Even a whole day is not enough time to see and digest everything this museum has to offer. The Maori history and culture interested me most, and the displays were beautifully set out and explained well. The volcanic display, as well as the simulation of an eruption were well done. I especially like geology and natural history, so I spent a great deal of time there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york pa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great activity for all ages & stages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I wish that I had more time to explore this museum. It was one of the stops on the HOHO bus tour but it really deserves at least a half day. I especially appreciated the Maori and military exhibits. Something for everyone!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auckland Museum also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.