We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cilcain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Museum

Auckland Museum
Domain Dr | The Auckland Domain, Parnell, Auckland, New Zealand
64 9 309 0443
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$36*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #5 of 88 Attractions in Auckland
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the history and culture of New Zealand through this memorial to those who sacrificed their lives in wartime.
Auckland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cilcain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a place everybody should visit. There are so many exhibits to see and there are also lots of new exhibitions showing at various times. The earthquake house was very intersting. There is so much to learn and we found it was a great learning experience for our grandchildren.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,079
    569
    89
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you are interested in the history and culture of New Zealand, you need to visit this museum. The Maori collections are worth the visit even if you don't see anything else. The Maori performance is also very good. Nicely displayed and well organized in a traditional encyclopediac way. I visited once and came back the next year, bringing my wife, because I enjoyed it so much.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Maori Exhibits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Spent a few wonderful hours engrossed by all the history. Check out the military section upstairs, as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too much to see in one visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

There's lots to see at the Auckland Museum and it is located in the beautiful domain - lovely on a nice day to stroll from the city through the domain to the Museum. You can also take the Link bus there, but I would highly recommend the walk. Many pacific islands and Maori artefacts on display. Entry by donation. Cafe on site.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth A Look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

From the grand building to the exquisite inside I was blown away by how wonderful the museum is. I highly recommend taking children as the children's section is interactive and well worth the visit. The maori wood carvings and history gave me goose bumps. I would recommend 2 days at the museum as so much to see

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auckland Museum also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.