We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sebel Suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Suites Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Suites Auckland to your Saves list
The Sebel Suites Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85 - 89 Customs St W | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NZ$40 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Tweed Heads, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“The Sebel Suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Sebel, which has lovely spacious suites, overlooking the beautiful Marina!! When I arrived I was very warmly greeted by the staff who where very helpful with some of the questions I had asked. The suite was very spacious and well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. It was great having all the lovely restaurants lining the harbour downstairs where I had some beautiful meals. Excellent hotel I recommend it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Suites Auckland, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Sandy C

Thank you for recommending our Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the service our team offers and that you found your suite both spacious and well appointed. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back to The Sebel Auckland. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    259
    57
    23
    14
See reviews for
46
302
39
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

November 8 we stayed two nights at the Sebel Suites prior to our cruise.
We took the Super-shuttle from the airport to the hotel. This shuttle service is convenient and reasonable - NZ$42 for two people including luggage. We enjoyed a little free sightseeing as the shuttle stopped at two other hotels prior to dropping us at the Sebel. We can highly recommend this service.

Sebel Suites is conveniently located at the harbor with many entertainment activities.
The reception staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and had all the amenities we needed. We appreciated the little kitchenette with a hot water kettle for tea. There is also a coffee maker. The tab water was very good, some of the best we've tasted.
The bed was comfortable and the room spacious with a small round table and two chairs plus two easy chairs and a side table. As we had a less expensive room, our room was on the 4th floor and looked toward the city instead the harbor. There is free Wifi in the lobby.
The hotel does not have a restaurant, however right out the backdoor to the harbor are many restaurant choices.

The harbor is beautiful offering activities for everyone's enjoyment. The local Saturday Market is fun. It's a short walk to the Cruise ship terminal - even with luggage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Suites Auckland, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear sigridp81

Thank you for your detailed feedback relating to The Sebel Auckland. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay overall and found our team to be friendly, enjoyed the suite facilities as well as all that our fabulous location has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sebel Auckland. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Sebel suites, all of the staff we met was very friendly and helpful. Our 3rd floor room overlooking the Viaduct Harbor was beautiful and spacious. The washer and dryer were an unexpected bonus, as was the large kitchen & small balcony. Noise wasn't really an issue from the bars, even though we were on the 3rd floor, and stayed over the weekend. The restaurant Mecca right out the rear entrance was always good and offered free wifi. The hotel does not, which was the only downside.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Suites Auckland, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear MeowNJW

Thank you for your feedback and comments relating to The Sebel Auckland. We are delighted our team were able to look after you and that you found the location and hotel facilities handy during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two days (Nov 14 & 15 2013). This is a well kept....well appointed hotel...in a great location. The rooms are clean and well maintained is obvious that they have spent some time making sure you will be happy. The staff are friendly and very professional. If you are taking a cruise this is a perfect location as the docks are a 5 minute walk way.....now for the best part ....the hotels restaurant..."Mecca"..has a middle east menu...and the food and service is exceptional.This hotel is worth every cent we spent...and we would not hesitate to stay there again...!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Suites Auckland, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear charli

Thank you for your comments relating to The Sebel Auckland. We are delighted you felt the Hotel was exceptional and were able to enjoy the delights that the hotel and our location offers. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights here and enjoyed my stay. Nice and quiet though I can understand how it could get noisy on a weekend. I had a room facing the road so no issues with any noise, perhaps a choice if you don't mind not having the view. No Onsite dinner venue though you can still get room service. From my end I ate out both nights so not a problem. There is an agreement with the gym across the road for use at $8 which is a great gym and pool so worth the price.
The hotel was clean, tidy and staff were very helpful. Would stay here again and would recommend it as a business traveller. Close to the main streets of the city as well.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Suites Auckland, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Simon G

Thank you for your comments relating to your stay at The Sebel Auckland, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and were able to make use of the facilities both inside and near to the Hotel. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Words cannot begin to express how impressed I am by this hotel. Sebel Suites is the perfect name for this accommodation. My room has a separate bedroom, bathroom (which includes a towel warmer, no less), washer and dryer, living and kitchen area. It also has a balcony.

For some reason, the deal my agent found for me included a complimentary bottle of champagne and late check out.

You do have to pay for wifi, but Auckland offers 30 minutes of free access per day.

The rear entrance leads directly to the harbor and is in walking distance to any boat tours for day excursions, as well as numerous restaurants.

I would highly recommend this location for your time in Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Suites Auckland, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear navidad_not

Thank you for your fantastic feedback relating to The Sebel Suites Auckland. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all that the suites have to offer at The Sebel and you were pleased by the fabulous location. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Spent four nights at the Sebel on a business trip. Very comfortable room, staff were first rate and the location is very good, overlooking Viaduct Basin. Very nice selection of restaurants, close to shopping in the CBD, and the walking distance to the Sky Tower.

Great morning walk along the waterfront, followed by breakfast at Mecca. Walk to work, back for a cold one at the Fox and select somewhere for dinner. Being on the road doesn't have to be a bad experience. Staying at the Sebel made it a little easier to be on the other side of the world, although it really hard not to like to being in Auckland.

I would not hesitate to stay at the Sebel again.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Viaduct Basin would certainly enhance your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Suites Auckland, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear ILikewhatILike

Thank you for your detailed and pleasing feedback. We are delighted our staff were able to assist you during your stay and that you were able to enjoy the location of the hotel with all that the vibrant marina area offers. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sebel Suites Auckland. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Suites Auckland

Address: 85 - 89 Customs St W | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
#17 Family Hotel in Auckland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#18 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Suites Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Suites Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.