We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is possible in NZ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour to your Saves list
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85 - 89 Customs St W | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“it is possible in NZ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

best stay in NZ - perfect service - clean and aircon / heater was good
downpoint - no free WIFI?!
parking was easy and reasonable also free parking on street available - enough restaurants in close proximity

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Emanuel P,
We are pleased tohear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and we hope to havet he pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    294
    63
    26
    15
See reviews for
49
347
40
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Sebel Suites Auckland. We did notice that our room was looking a little tired with scuff marks on the walls and broken/cracked tiles on the balcony, bathroom and kitchen.
We also did not have any in room information regarding the facilities on offer at the hotel. This would have been useful.
The noise from the neighbouring restaurants and pubs was quite loud however it definately dropped in volume at midnight so i assume there is some relief.
The bed was very comfy and the bedroom itself had good light block out so a restful nights sleep was achievable.
Overall we would stay again as the negatives were minor and the location and service were fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Dmarks5,
Thank you for your feedback. In regard to the in room facility information on the hotel, this is located on the television, we will double to ensure there is no technical fault here. In regard to the comment about the tiles, we are in the process of commencing a tile refurbishment in all suites which is exciting. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sebel Suites Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Sebel is in a good location on the waterfront. Staff were helpful and friendly and my room was well-appointed with the expected whiteware for an apartment hotel. It was looking a bit tired in places though, especially the bathroom. Rooms on the road side of the building - like the one I had - get a fair bit of traffic noise, but it's not too bad on the top floor. Room service dinner from Mecca was very good and arrived hot.

Room Tip: The harbour side is a lot quieter I expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great location if your interested in being right amongst the action. We we here the rugby so wanted something close to bars and restaurants, not looking for pools, gyms, spas etc
Our room was on the harbor side, perfect to enjoy the best views whilst relaxing on a balcony before dinner .
As I returned early to my room after watching the rugby game a lot of noise from other rooms could be heard well along the hall ways however once I was inside my own room I could no longer hear a thing, excellent!!
The service was wonderful, receptionists remembered our names each time we walked by which was a small but very friendly touch and we thought that was just great given that they were totally booked out over the weekend .
Well be back.

Room Tip: Defiantly harbor view other wise your stuck looking at bridges and roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Goldelitex,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of the Sebel Suites Auckland and you are 100% when you say we are right amongst it! We take pride in delivering personalised service and are pleased to hear we achieved this during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Over the past few years I have stayed at this hotel for a spread out total of roughly 4-5 months.

The rooms have always been nice and reasonably spacious, tidy and very clean.

Disappointed that they changed from GHA to Accor for loyalty schemes and in doing so people who have stayed quite a lot at this hotel before the change are given no extra benefits until we build up more points with the new scheme. My loyalty was to the hotel not to the group they were a part of.

Front desk service is usually fine the staff are reasonably courteous.

Location is good as it is right on the viaduct although around the place lighting isn't the best so it's a bit dodgy later on at night but not too bad.

Price has discouraged my employer from using them any more, although I would always get them to use Sebel for me and others staying in Auckland at the same time when it was an option due to the comfort of the rooms.

Service is fine, front desk staff have always been well mannered and reasonably courteous, there is a bit of a language barrier on occasion but nothing that has caused any notable problems for me.

Room service meals and mini bar have some silly prices (there was a bottle of plain water for $10.50 normally around $2 or $3 for the same bottle in supermarket nearby on queen street) but this just means me(and the others I know that have stayed there) don't use any of these services so no major loss to us since there is a dairy down the road and a supermarket on Queen St.

Overall the important part is they have great rooms and everything else about them is mostly unobtrusive aside from general costs, room included, being a bit higher than they're really worth in my opinion, still stay there on occasions where I don't want to rely on luck because they have definitely been consistent in their experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear PiqueC,
Thank you for your detailed account of feedback relating to your time spent with us. We are pleased you have always found the level of service consistent as this is an area we strive to deliver on. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in a Marina View Deluxe suite. Had a suite on the 6th floor (top floor) facing the marina. The outlook watching the yachts come and go from our balcony was fantastic. The room we had was great, separate lounge area with balcony, galley kitchen witch was ample for our needs. We got a great deal on the Accor website on the "pay 2 stay 3 nights" deal which made it very good value. Restaurants and Bars around the marina are a little noisy on a Friday and Saturday night witch might be a slight problem for early to bed light sleepers but its certainly not unbearable and did not bother us. It's a great location, 5 min walk to the ferry terminal and around a 15 min walk to Sky City. Car park is a little on the expensive side if you have a car at $26 per day. We would definitely stay here again and request the same room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear LSC22644,
Thank you for your feedback, it sounds like you certainly had the perfect suite allocation on your recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very spacious and comfortable apartments by the harbour. The rooms offer a great view over the water. Close to many restaurants. Small kitchenette and laundry which is great for longer stays or families. Pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room with harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear LegItAustralia,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience of The Sebel Suites Auckland, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 85 - 89 Customs St W | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.