We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon start and end - a lovely luxury on the executive level” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Auckland to your Saves list
The Langham, Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% off
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Honeymoon start and end - a lovely luxury on the executive level”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Lovely hotel with staff who really took care of us on honeymoon - bottle of champagne chilled and ready on arrival. We ate out rather than in but did have a burger and club sandwich which was lovely. The commuter bus to the centre is really useful and the staff are very helpful

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    546
    187
    44
    28
See reviews for
227
1,079
136
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

I stayed for two nights at the end of March. The room and the hotel in general are very nice. The only problem is that there is very little within walking distance. The restaurant does a great breakfast and luch buffet.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

This hotel has my highest recommendations. Upon arrival after traveling for 24 hours, the staff was friendly and the room was set-up with slippers and bottles of water. We stayed there twice and were upgraded for no charge the first time to an executive room. For the second visit, the hotel was full so we stayed in a standard room. I'd definitely recommend spending the few extra dollars to upgrade, although the website did not do a good job of spelling out the differences between a standard and executive room. The upgrade include more space, a flat screen TV instead of a standard one, a French coffee press, a better view and other small touches that made the room more comfortable.

The location couldn't have been better, set next to a beautiful park and within walking distance to the museam, downtown, Viaduct Basin and other attractions. We used the free shuttle often.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

The Good Stuff:
Service and professionalism -- this is what old school hoteling is all about.
The Shuttle into and out of the CBD -- helped make up for its slightly out of the way location
Nice clean and very comfortable room with an AMAZING BED

So So
The decor is newly done and looks dated (I actually thought it was in really good nick for something that was 10 or 15 years old --then read it had recently be redecorated!!!) - it won't be to everyone's taste but in many ways it pulls off elegant pretty well.

BAD:
35bucks a day for internet access --COME ON!!! I hate when high end hotels charge exorbitant prices for wifi access or charge at all!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I had a couple of days in Auckland before returning to Sydney in mid April and the Langham looked nice online. Nice is an understatement. The beds are sooooo comfortable. The bathrooom is well stocked with amenties; the stationey is great and their was virtually no noise. The service - almost faultless. I say almost as the only thing that got forgetten was my airport pick up. One of the staff forgot to book it - but that was easily solved. Ate in the Barolo restaurant and was thoroughly impressed - and I work in hospitality. Some of the best food I have had in a very long time.

I certainly intend to stay there again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

This was the first place we stopped after picking up our rental car at Auckland Airport and we chose it based on TripAdvisor recommendations. In terms of cleanliness, comfort, and overall interior appointments the Langham is a fine place to stay. The lobby bar is gorgeous and the hotel looks like a tremendous place to have a business meeting.

But. (You knew it was coming, didn't you?) If you're not there on business and you plan on seeing the "holiday" side of Auckland, this isn't the ideal place to serve as your home base. Each night we stayed there I went for walks in the neighborhood and each night I found myself wondering if that was a smart idea, considering the "business transactions" occurring on the street and in the poorly-lit areas to either side. To be fair, this was ONLY a problem at night, because we alternately took the fantastic hotel shuttle down to the CBD or walked down there if it was daytime.

I noticed on other reviews that folks seemed to have problems with the staff. We didn't, and found them helpful whenever we asked any questions (ESPECIALLY the great guy who was our shuttle driver, who gave us a history lesson on one drive to the harbor!) They're not the obsequious "my pleasure to connect you, sir" goofballs we've unfortunately grown accustomed to in the States but we had no trouble with them.

And yes, the parking situation's not ideal, but it's not terrible either. I wouldn't leave anything you value in the car, but the signs everywhere tell you that too. The garage is easily reached from your hotel room, and we saw no indications of vehicle smash-and-grabs (mentioned in other reviews) while we were there.

So I guess the point is that for the same money we could've stayed where we kept shuttling or walking. There was virtually nothing to see around the hotel itself, but as long as it's daytime, it's not a bad area to walk through as you're coming to/going from the more tourist-friendly parts of town. You won't be disappointed by your room or the hotel decor, but if you're traveling with little kids or otherwise value proximity over reliability, maybe somewhere closer to the fun stuff would be a good thought.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

On a whim I booked the Executive room with Clubroom access, complimentary valet parking and afternoon tea and all day ice cream and fruit and yoghurt, and supper with alcohol, and a bottle of bubbly to your room and use of the spa etc and desserts served after supper , service was second to none, beautiful hotel. Not well situated but there is a shuttle, has one of the cities top restaurants next to it, On a main bus route down to the water front .

Tea of our choice delivered to our door in lovely bone china at a time of our choosing in the morning.

Big soft bath robes and slippers.

Home made breads with the breakfast, the chocolate bread was particularly wonderful.

A beautiful beautiful hotel.

Booked direct with the hotel, $349 dollars for the 2 of us. Bargain.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites including 47 Langham Club Rooms and 16 suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court * 24hr business centre* Free wifi throughout the hotel *Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa for luxury spa and beauty treatments* Chuan Healthclub & fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.