We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel With Superb Service and Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Auckland to your Saves list
The Langham, Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% off
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel With Superb Service and Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

Have just spend friday night at this hotel for a romantic getaway and was delighted with the quality of service and the overall feel and finishing of the hotel. I could not fault anything with this hotel and would love to go and stay again as soon as possible. We used the deals on the hotels on website and were delighted with all the additional nice touches and care. Buffet breakfast was great, and late checkout option was wonderfull, the front desjk staff and door staff were wonderful and very proffessional and well trained.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    548
    190
    44
    28
See reviews for
228
1,085
136
426
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

The Langham is a beautifully appointed hotel on the fringe of Auckland city. The rooms are very spacious, clean and well appointed. The staff were very attentive and attended to our luggage and requests with a minimum of fuss.We dined in the brasserie the food was delicious and the staff were excellent. We loved the ambience of the hotel, it is like stepping back in time with the beautiful floral arrangements,sumptious couches,chandeliers and beautiful smell as you enter the building. We will be back !!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

After 30 hours travelling, the langham was an oasis of relaxation. Our welcome was efficient and very friendly. Whoever recruits and trains the staff here does an excellent job. On odd occasions we stood slightly hesitantly and staff immediately appeared at our side to offer assistance.

The room is comfortably furnished with repro furniture and is very comfortable and quiet. The only niggle (not a serious complaint) was the size of the bathroom - a little on the small side.

There is a good choice of dining options .

The location is good if you are centering your stay around the attractions of Auckland. The views, though, were not picturesque.

We chose this hotel as a result of what we had read on these pages and we were not disappointed. A sound choice for anyone .

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We stayed at the Langham in February 09. This is a great hotel and lived up to expectations of a 5 star hotel. There were a lot of little touches (such as chocolates and folding down of the bed at night) which really added to the experience at this hotel. We also used the pool and fitness centre which are both really good.

We couldn't really fault the hotel, except for perhaps its location which is on the fringe of the CBD. However, the free shuttle service that runs every 30 minutes makes the location not an issue. We would definitely return to the Langham and recommend it to others. It would rate up there with the best hotels we have stayed in.

We were also shown the Chuan Spa suites which are to open soon and they looked fabulous. Not sure what the prices for these are, but certainly very nice if you are really looking to indulge yourself.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month as I was in town for work commitments. Everything from check-in until check-out was 5 star. The service from the staff was friendly and prompt, and the rooms were spacious and clean. The bed turn down service was un-expected but lovely. Even the gym was great.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

First 2 nights in NZ we stayed at Langham. We had picked the Langham based on TA reviews. Absolutely loved this hotel. Great staff with excellent customer service. We arrived at 6:30 a.m. following our international flight and we were in our room by 8:30 a.m. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. We did not utilize the shuttle service, but enjoyed walking to and from the Sky Tower, Museums and other sites.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed at the Langham for one night to celebrate out wedding anniversary. Upon arriving in the forecourt we were met by Greg who was very friendly and helpful, he arranged to have our car valet parked then ushered us to reception to check in.
John at check-in was also extremely friendly and efficient.
After the brief check in formalities we got to our room, (667) and were VERY impressed with the decor and ambience. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the quality of the furnishings and drapes were top of the line from the walnut inlays in the dressing cabinets to the elegant table and chairs. There was plenty of room to move around and the bathroom was quite large and equally impressive as well with nice soaps, shaving kit etc.
Shortly after entering our room a quality bottle of bubbly arrived with two glasses.
We were planning to dine at Partingtons but decided the more casual SBF buffet restaurant, the meal was a little on the pricey side but for those who love meat and seafood it was reasonable. Being vegetarian I felt the options were a little limited. As usual, the staff were excellent.
The winery was also a great place to have that last glass of wine before turning in, lovely ambience again with a fantastic range of wine.
Arriving back at the room it was lovely to see the bed turned down with slippers placed on a bath towel either side of the bed and also chocolates nearby, a nice touch.
The next day, we had a late start as we had slept in!!, the room was so quiet and dark thanks to the blackout curtains.
After browsing the Sunday paper and supplements were had breakfast at SBF again and this time I felt spoilt for choice, fantastic hash browns!!
Checkout again was a breeze and our car waiting for us as we left the reception.

The Langham would be most definitely be the best hotel we have stayed at in New Zealand, lovely friendly service, fantastic rooms and elegant atmosphere make this a great experience, we will return again with our daughter next time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites including 47 Langham Club Rooms and 16 suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court * 24hr business centre* Free wifi throughout the hotel *Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa for luxury spa and beauty treatments* Chuan Healthclub & fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.