We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Auckland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Langham is one of my favourite hotels on Auckland. I like the location at the top of queen street but some may find it too far to walk up from eg the viaduct. Great service from the minute you arrive to when you leave. Problems (if any) are resolved quickly. Staff are friendly and polite. The standard rooms are impeccable and of a reasonable size. The beds are comfy and there are blackout curtains for a good sleep. The bathroom is spacious. The things I love best about the Langham are definitely the day spa (book a massage or other treatment) and the buffet breakfast- Chocolate fountain for breakfast!!

Room Tip: Ask for one with not a view of a concrete wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    503
    177
    41
    26
See reviews for
209
1025
129
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here again in an executive room for 1 night. As before , staff were delightful, and service second to none. The rooms are comfortable, generally quiet, but a bit like favourite old slippers, a little worn, but comfortable nonetheless.

Public rooms are very comfortable, and the high tea area on the ground floor is very civilised, even with a harp player!

Valet parking is now NZ$40 for 24hrs.

Check in and check out is great.....we were able to check in around 10am and offered a 4pm check out, at no extra charge.

Spa services are excellent, and my guest had a wonderful massage and rated it as a 10/10.

I would definately stay again, but wish they would upgrade/update their rooms.,

Room Tip: Rooms from level 5 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your warm feedback and we are pleased we were able to assist you with an early check in. It’s our pleasure to accommodate guests in this way whenever our occupancy rates allow. With regard to the parking, there are also public car parks adjacent to the hotel that offer pay and display parking (coins and cards). We would also like to reassure you that we are working towards refurbishing our Classic Rooms and are in the process of finalising our plans. We shall look forward to welcoming when you next return.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Langham Hotel Auckland was our final destination on our self directed Australian/New Zealand cruise tour. After 14 wonderful nights with friends aboard Celebrity's Solstice our final stop was Auckland NZ and the beautiful Langham Hotel. Service from the doorman at the hotel entrance, top hat and all, to the front desk and concierge this hotel is class! Although the location was a little out of the way the hotel provided free transportation to center city which is quite close to the exciting harbor area every 1/2 hour at peak times. It took no more than 15 minutes to arrive at the designated drop off and pick up point. A very minor inconvenience. Auckland is another exciting city, with a bungee jump off a tall building in center city to a beautiful harbor, restaurant row and shopping extremely plentiful.

The hotel itself was not only classy, but was also charming and relaxed as well. The people in all of NZ and Australia are the most friendly and helpful people we have ever encountered in our travels. Back to the hotel the room was large and very well appointed. The bathroom was spacious and everything was spotless. Free Turndown service was just one of the little extras the hotel provided. The pool area and large whirlpool were especially welcome after 20 days of traveling halfway around the world and preparing for our 30 hour flights and layovers home to New Jersey U.S.A.! Here again the reviews on trip advisor were right on the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

After trying a variety of hotels in Auckland my wife and I have settled on the Langham as our first choice. Yes it is getting a bit old in places and could do with a bit of a refurbishment but ultimately the staff make up for any real deficiencies. Service is always to the highest standard, with the staff being unfailingly polite and helpful. As you would expect from a property of this standard the rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable. I took the opportunity a few years ago to sign up to "1865" which offers a variety of benefits depending on your frequency of stays. I have progressed through to "Voyager" status and enjoy the welcome treats and room upgrades - my only regret is that I hadn't signed up earlier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and service – we take genuine pleasure in welcoming our guests and providing the best service we can. We would also like to reassure you that we are in the process of finalising plans for refurbishing our Classic Rooms. Good to hear you are an 1865 member – it’s a great programme for frequent stayers and the higher you progress, the more benefits you can enjoy. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again next time you visit.
All the best
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

When traveling to Auckland, we always end up staying in the Langham. We have tried other places, some more expensive, some cheaper but actually the Langham offer for us what we believe a hotel of that level should provide. It is true that the rooms bring you back to Victorian time but for us, it also make you feel home. Breakfast is nice and staff friendly.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Chose to stay at the langham to celebrate my birthday! Could not have wished for anything more.weather in Auckland was not the best but with all on offer in the hotel , there was little reason to leave.the amenities at the spa are better than any I have experienced.roof top heated pool also great.food was unbelievable as was service.will definitely visit again.would he fabulous for a girls weekend away.remember swimmers!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Langham and attended a conference there too.
The rooms are very dated, it really needs a renovation.
The staff in the cafe were very newly trained, they seemed to have difficulty with the simplest request.
The front of house and driveway staff were terrific.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites including 47 Langham Club Rooms and 16 suites* Dining at Eight restaurant, Palm Court and SPE Bar & Restaurant* 24hr business centre* Free wifi for 1865 members *Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa for luxury spa and beauty treatments* Chuan Healthclub & fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.