We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham

Save Saved
You added The Langham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Linger Longer
Ranked #4 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A very pleasant 5 night stay. I was there for business. The facilities were good. Good wifi connection in the room and room service was well priced, quick and nasty.

Room was clean and overall service good

Would choose this hotel when next in Auckland

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,169
    475
    167
    39
    26
See reviews for
202
986
124
354
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed on the 10th floor on a Thursday night, was a bit busy due to a conference around check in but our room was clean and tidy. Bathroom had plenty of extra toiletries available...more than the norm e.g loofa, mini talcom powder, nail kit and more. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of current magazines in the side table to read. Went to eight for dinner which was also amazing, would really reccomend the Langham was a much nicer room and experience than ive had at Skycity Grand hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for a conference.

Room does has a night feel to it, but i was disappointed in the small details. Eg Bedside lamp not working. Tv remote not working. Powerpoint in bathroom not working.
Very noisy - lots of passing traffic, yahooing drunkards etc all night in the street below.

Tried to get room service on my second night - room service phone engaged for over half an hour. Called reception who also weren't answering, and just got put on automatic hold. In the end I had to get dressed again, and go down to reception to order my meal. Menu - not a great range or variety, and pretty pricey.

Upon receiving my meal back in my room, was amazed to see they still charged me the $10 tray delivery fee given what i went through to get it. Food quality was poor. Risotto could pass for clag, parsnips were cut up into tiny cubes and were flavourless. Food served at the in hotel conference wasn't much better. everything seemed to be over cooked and gluey - eg soggy lasagne, soggy noodles.

Upon check out, once again raised my concerns as above, and was comped a soft drink from the mini bar. He acted like this was a big deal!

Wont be back. Have had much better experience for half the price at Sky City. And their food , both room service, conference food and especially at The Grill were some of the best meals Ive ever had.

About the only positive I can give this hotel is it looks impressive, old world, english feel to it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are sorry you were disappointed by your stay with us. There can be delays in room service when the hotel is busy, but it is still our aim to ensure that guests receive timely service. Our Duty Manager can also be approached to discuss any issues with service and room amenities, and is happy to work with guests to achieve a positive resolution.
Kind regards,
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago and was pleasantly surprised. Rooms were of a good size, with good upmarket decor. Room service was prompt and efficient, as was housekeeping when we ordered a couple of extra pillows. All round a good experience and would defiantly be back, when we head back up this way again. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

From being greeted by the bellman in the top hat to the huge breakfast buffet this place was just luxurious. We had been traveling for a week and were pretty tired. This place was the luxury we needed at this point in our trip. Large wonderful rooms and bed to die for. All the special touches that make it a first class hotel. Very relaxing and wonderful service. Best place to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

What a fantastic friendly hotel. This was our first time staying at The Langham , what a great hotel with fantastic room and super friendly staff, from the check in to the maids. Everyone had a smile on their face and very very helpful.
Great location for getting around the CBD.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have stayed in a few Langham Hotels and the thing that really sets this one apart is the amazing staff, who are absolutely exceptional. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, they are helpful, professional and friendly. By far the best service we have encountered anywhere. The rooms are clean and comfortable, although not as stylish as some of the other Langham hotels we have stayed in. The bathroom in particular, although very clean was really in need of a refurbish and looking tired, The breakfast was well above average for a hotel buffet style and the staff in the restaurant were particularly lovely. Special mention to Danny who made breakfast every morning a pleasure. Would reccomend for a stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments about our staff. It’s always our aim to deliver the very best service to our guests, so it is good to hear that our staff have created such a welcoming experience for you. We shall pass on your feedback to Danny, and we hope to see you again the next time you visit Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Address: 83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites including 47 Langham Club Rooms and 16 suites* Dining at Eight restaurant, Palm Court and SPE Bar & Restaurant* 24hr business centre* Free wifi for 1865 members *Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa for luxury spa and beauty treatments* Chuan Healthclub & fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.