I am travelling to New Zealand with my partner celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. We travelled to Christchurch, Queenstown and Auckland is our last stop. All hotels were pre-notified of our anniversary. However, Langham does nothing about it to make our stay more memorable. No decorations, no congratulations, nothing at all. And, We are terribly upset by the poor service in Langham. When we arrived and check in yesterday (09 Sept) we spent 30 mins driving around the hotel but could not find the Tournament Carpark for Langham Hotel. The Porter just pointed the direction and there were too many turns, hence we ended up parking at Wilson Parking Wakefield Street. Upon checking in, the Reception informed us that there is free bus service to Custom St, and were given the timetable. We asked if we decided to take our car to the Ferry Terminal, would there be any parking at Ferry Terminal, all we get is they have no idea and we had to try our luck. We checked in and put down our luggage intending to head to the Ferry Terminal, so we wanted to catch the 4pm bus service from the hotel. Approached the front desk, and the lady said it is too late to take the bus as service needs to be pre-book half an hour prior departure. I asked if there is still enough of seats for 2 person on the 4pm bus, she just directed me to go down to ground level and try my luck to see if we could still take the bus. She is not helping at all, instead of asking us to walk from lobby to ground level, why can't she called to check for us. When we were there, the driver said there is no bus running, and next one is at 4.30pm. So we asked if they knew there is any public Carpark around Quay Street, all they do is said they do not know and we just got to drive there to try.
So we decided to take our car there, thankfully we are in luck and managed to get a parking opposite the Ferry Terminal.
Finally at night after we returned back to hotel, we drove up the Carpark next to Langham Hotel, it was a public Carpark on Synmond St. We purchased ticket a total of $12, as the rates stated as $8 for 6.30am-5.30pm, and $4 for 5.30-6.30am. So we displayed on the dashboard and went back to hotel. And we checked with 2 guys from the Porter. We told them we paid $12, and 1 of the guy said that would mean we can park out car overnight till 5.30pm. But the Carpark will be close from 12mn to 6.30am, so if we are not going out after 12mn, it will be fine.
Next morning, we prepared to do a road trip to Hamilton and Rotorua. However, when we headed to our car, it was towed away. Immediately, we rushed back to the hotel Reception asking for help. Isabel from Reception called Auckland Towing company and asked if our car is with them, they confirmed and said we need to pay $250 and we need to head to 351 Great North Road. We questioned the reason and it was due to expired ticket. I told Isabel what the guys from Porter said. She called Keyvan supervisor of Porter to come forward. Keyvan explained that $12 means it is up to 12 midnight, and we need to go back to validate the ticket again. But how would we know? We asked if the hotel could help us call them to explain that we are tourists and see if there is anything they can help. They refused and said they don't deal with public Carpark! When asked why the guys from Porter gave the wrong advice, Keyvan merely brushing off his responsibility said he will find out and tell them not to misinform in future. We said we wanted the 2 guys names to lodge a official complaint, Keyvan just said he will revert back then walked away! After the hotel staff brushing their responsibilities, we walked 30 mins to the Towing company to get back our car. Tried hard to explain to the lady, she was rude and shut me off by saying it doesn't matter what the hotel or I say, it will be $250 to redeem the car. What is this?!?
Such a awful experience and the hotel staff just ruined our 10th anniversary. And our plans for road trip was spoilt.How many 10th anniversary can we have celebrating in New Zealand? Our stay is till 12th Sept, but we dreaded of going back. Would probably check into other hotels or cancel our trip to go back our country earlier than planned.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are very sorry to hear about your experience while staying with us, and we apologise for the miscommunication that you received from our team. The public carparks are controlled by private companies, so we do not have control over their charges and towaway policy. We have spoken to our team about your experience to ensure we convey a clearer message about the public car parking times and charges to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.