We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Auckland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Auckland to your Saves list
The Langham, Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room & lunch for two $349
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best hotel in Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Several times a year we visit a top class hotel for a romantic weekend (we are 63,married 36 years and still have a sparkle!!)The Langham in Auckland was the best experience we have enjoyed. It was top class, good value and exceeded our expectations.The spa and pool were fabulous the bubbles included in our package were good quality and all the staff were wonderful.If you want a special weekend I would highly recommend the Langham.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    635
    211
    52
    36
See reviews for
255
1,231
145
466
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel certainly has charm but the rooms need a bit of updating to really be luxury. Looking a bit tired. The bathroom door handles are silver on one side and gold on the other, an odd choice for a "luxury" hotel.
The bed was the best part- incredibly comfortable. Good amenities in the room as well.
Our wake-up call was forgotten- and lucky for us that we set our phone alarms, otherwise we would have missed our flight. The front desk staff did say that they will upgrade our room next time we stay because of it but it's unlikely we'll be back to Auckland anytime soon.
Location was good, easy to find and about a 15 minute walk to the Viaduct area.
"Hotel" parking was actually public parking for 25.50/day- otherwise $40 for valet parking.
All in all a nice hotel but I doubt we will ever stay again. Felt that we could find something we'd like much more for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Initial service on arrival was perfect and assistance given from the point the taxi arrived from the airport and the service was second to none. Later in the evening drinks in entrance bar along with service was great with efficient and polite staff however for dinner the restaurant staff were a disaster. The biggest issue was a lack of service, lack of attentiveness and ability to listen to the customer. Did not have a good experience in the restaurant. Apart from this the hotel is a wonderful and elegant place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My partner and I spent 2 days in this hotel. The stay was very pleasant.
It was my partners birthday and everywhere we went they made him feel very special.
The room was a bit tired, curtains very dirty and dusty, the tv was bad, very low quality and old, in the other hand bed was very comfy, the Chuan spa was really good, the pol was nice and warm and I really enjoyed the herbal steam room.

Overall it was great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Friendly staff but the hotel rooms and corridors need updating, everything looking tired and old fashioned. The pool area was good. The buffer dinner is highly recommended - although they insisted on charging full adult price for 3 children aged 12, 12 and 13 (very bad form). Breakfast buffet also good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was the best service I have experienced in NZ and Australia, the staff are genuinely interested in your needs. The Hotel food is also of very high quality compared to others that I have stayed at. Great place, Great people

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Took advantage of the "Eight Escape" package deal, was not disappointed. Great professional service, excellent rooms, and amazing food. My partner wasn't overly happy with the bed, but that is something her and I often disagree on, I loved it. Would highly recommend..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites including 47 Langham Club Rooms and 16 suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court * 24hr business centre* Free wifi throughout the hotel *Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa for luxury spa and beauty treatments* Chuan Healthclub & fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.