We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Auckland to your Saves list
The Langham, Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room & lunch for two $349
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stayed for honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I debated on whether to give it a 4 or 5, so I will round up a 4.5 to a 5. When we arrived, the staff was very welcoming and helpful. The room was average, but the club room service was superb. The food was fantastic and the butlers were first class and friendly. The shuttle van was too small for the number of people wanting to ride, so I have to knock them a bit. Overall, I would defintely say the staff there was in top 1% at of all the hotels (several hundred) that I've stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    635
    211
    52
    36
See reviews for
255
1,231
145
466
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hotel is nice, service is great - but located in a pretty average part of town, near hostels and cheap Internet cafes - it is a decent walk or $15 cab ride from where you want to be - the waterfront.

The pool area is very nice however is relatively small, and during our stay we were unable to secure a pool lounge on multiple occasions due to it being occupied.

Rooms are relatively small, but clean and luxurious. If traveling for business the hotel would be well located to some office buildings in this part of town, but as mentioned not much going on if a tourist.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had stayed 7 so years ago and the Langham Auckland was very tired. Now after a revamp its fantastic!! The rooms are incredibly quiet and tastefully decorated. The pool is beautiful - heated just right for all year swimming - the spa pool is huge! The hotel Spa and beauty facilities look amazing and have heard great things from our friends about this. Hope to enjoy this one days soon. We enjoyed our buffet breakfast as part of the very reasonable package. There is a regular shuttle service to the downtown shopping areas. A few restaurants within walking distance. Not far to walk to some shops. I just love the nightly turndown service. The staff were friendly professional and very helpful. We have been recently with just my partner and also with family and friends - a great hotel for both occassions. I recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchster
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at the Langham on the 5 star getaway for one night as it was our anniversary. This included bed, breakfast and an evening meal at '8' the Langham's restaurant.

The hotel is definitely 5 star quality and the staff were excellent. There was nothing that was too difficult for the reception staff. I can't praise them enough. When we told them it was our anniversary they put us up a few floors for a better view and gave us some complimentary chocolates.

The hotel runs a complimentary shuttle service into town which is really useful.

The rooms overall are of an excellent standard and I am really glad we stayed there.

OK - one negative. The restaurant for the evening meal. Not all the people dining are guests and this has definitely had an impact on the clientele. We came here for a special occasion at a five star hotel and the restaurant was a buffet self service. It seems odd for me to be saying this but there needs to be some kind of dress code or something as the evening meal had more of a mess hall feel to it rather than the restaurant of a 5 star hotel. The food is good, it just that the overall ambience isn't. Sorry, I really the think this needs addressing.

Room Tip: Get one high up. Don't eat at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a wonderful holiday in Auckland staying at the gorgeous Langham Hotel. We were totally spoilt, immaculate guest rooms, luxury bed king size and glorious pillows. Amenities were of an excellent standard and were reprenished daily. This stay was the TOTAL LUXURY PACKAGE, from the food, indulging in a massage and spa, facials and swimming in the heated pool. The foyer is a lovely place to relax and listen to the grand piano or enjoy "Tiffin" afternoon tea at the sunken lounge, I enjoyed a Chai latte every afternoon after a full day of sight seeing. Delicious and made to order.
Every evening bottled water and chocolates were given and definate attention to detail of all aspects of what you would expect from a Langham Hotel chandelliers and all, very classic decor. A shuttle bus is complimentary and runs every 1/2 hour 7 days a week for guests to do some shopping at Auckland City area. The staff were exceptional, very kind, professional and nothing was too much trouble, all tasks were done with a smile and manners. We cannot speak highly enough of this beautiful Hotel, not only the decor but the all round service of every employee we met. We thank the Langham for making this a trip to remember with out any complaints. 10 / 10. We also enjoyed Christmas dinner at the Langham, food and wine a plenty!!! a definite value for money.

Room Tip: 5th floor room facing north was quiet, no elevator bells were heard, you could almost say from my pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

What a wonder grand hotel with an atmosphere to match, Service amazing, food divine, rooms fabulous with lots of attention to detail and the most amazing beds I've slept in.
Very pleased with my stay and will be back. Can't wait. Thanks to the staff for making this an enjoyable overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Was a great experience with consistent high service
Only thing not so good was waiting 45 mins for car to be got when trying to go out
Conference and dining experience was great and well organised
Best thing was consistently by all staff
Well worth the visit and would return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites including 47 Langham Club Rooms and 16 suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court * 24hr business centre* Free wifi throughout the hotel *Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa for luxury spa and beauty treatments* Chuan Healthclub & fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.