We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Auckland to your Saves list
The Langham, Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room & lunch for two $349
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

- Stayed one night 'Five Star Fling' package.
- Arrived early, no issues.
- Valet parking included in package.
- Excellent customer service.
- Amazing comfy bed and pillows.
- Had troubles connecting multiple devices to wifi, however staff were extremely helpful in rectifying the issue.
- Breakfast buffet is unmatched.
- 10 minute walk to SkyTower. Option for courtesy bus.
- Awesome food, quick room service, reasonably priced, big portions.

Usual Langham style, service and experience. Would recommend staying on a package works out a lot cheaper with a range of extras. Will stay again if we are ever back in Auckland !

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    635
    211
    52
    36
See reviews for
255
1,231
145
466
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Luxurious, elegant hotel with very well appointed rooms. Great spa with pool, sauna and steam room; gracious lobby bar (nice afternoon high teas if that's your thing). A 'club floor' too. Walking distance tp uni, Ponsonby Rd, short taxi ride to waterfront. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hubby and I stayed a night at the Langham as we had a concert to go to. From the moment I drove up the service was top notch from the greeting outside to the hotel reception. We had been upgraded and had a lovely room on the 6th floor. No real view but didn't care as wasn't there to look out the window.The furniture I love but may not be everyones cup of tea.Quite heavy balinese type which I find lovely.The bathroom ammentities are unbelievable I have stayed in alot of Hotels but they had thought of everything shoe cleaner, toothbrushes, razors, buds etc. The bed was huge and sooo comfy there were robes to use and lots of different teas to try. I went to the bar to wait for hubby and the sweet girl serving brought me a newspaper so I wouldn't be sitting there staring into space....Check out was speedy and efficient I commented how pretty the pink pens were and was asked would I like one. ( nice touch). So thankyou Langham I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced such excellent service. We take pride in taking care of every little detail so you don’t have to think about a thing! We will pass on your positive feedback to our concierge and front desk team. Enjoy using your Langham pink pen, and we hope to see you and your husband the next time you stay in Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel gave me an upgrade which was nice but that’s not the only reason I gave it 5 stars. Re:
Staff - very service orientated
Breakfast buffet has some great standout treats
Restaurant chairs comfortable
Smoking area outside hotel
Bar – has all the cocktails you would like
Beds – king size, soft and comfortable with lots of pillows
Sleep quality – great no noise from outside
Aircon - as cold as you like
Bathroom amenities - luxury sets
Main bedroom area – large enough to relax in comfort
Furniture – old English style, luxury feel
Steam iron
Bathrobes and slippers
TV – good selection of English channels
Internet – free wifi in package
Business centre – free internet and printing for all
4 elevators – no waiting for cars
Location close to nearby restaurants and banking
Taxis waiting at the door if you need them
Free newspapers

Very happy with the stay here, wouldn’t hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: Buy a package to include breakfast - its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I want to love this place, from many perspectives it is a fantastic hotel and I stay here regularly. However despite having voyager status (top loyalty tier except for an uber secret level that is by invitation only) I have never even had an upgrade mentioned at check in, so is this incredibly unlucky or are they just stingy?? - the latter I am sorry to report.With voyager status an upgrade is an identified benefit subject to availability.This benefit is published without any caveat like some hotel loyalty programs that state they don't upgrade to suites or club rooms etc.

There are 4 levels of rooms called from the basic up - classic, executive ,Langham club and suites.Now this is a 10 storey hotel that looks across various roads or other buildings, nothing special to be seen from any room and certainly no iconic views.

So I usually book a club room ( because of the excellent club lounge) and last time I stayed I was curious why in all my visits the mention of an upgrade never crossed the checkin agents lips, even if just to apologise that nothing was available.So I asked and was told quite plausibly that there are a very limited number of suites to upgrade to from the club level.Fair enough.

So this weekend I am back and I thought I would set an "upgrade test" by booking a deluxe room which would mean a room on level 5 or 6.I arrive at 1 am - welcome back Mrs so and so, and he says I am upgraded to the club floor - level 9. I am momentarily pleased , only to be told that this is a club floor room but there is no club lounge access. Not pleased I express my dissatisfaction with this scam, what he meant to say is they put me on a higher floor. Back peddling at a million miles an hour things with the checkin agent get a little heated, a higher floor looking over a side street - seriously people this is NOT an upgrade.

So after profuse apologies the duty manager makes no promises but says he will see if he can get me access to the club lounge, and to his credit he does , but it was something they clearly DO NOT OFFER as an upgrade.

Ok - now I know what is realistic and have lowered my expectations accordingly.Not a great way to build loyalty in my opinion , and personally would prefer they were honest and didn't offer ambiguous benefits that are overstated.

PS I have had positive upgrade experiences in other Langhams so I think the Auckland Langham is probably a one off for dubious access to upgrades.

Room Tip: Club lounge access is worthwhile if you have the luxury of time to enjoy the benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton NZ
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed for a weekend and this is the BEST hotel in NZ by far! Rooms are lovely, beds are fantastic, breakfast is AMAZING. Lovely bar area, liked the biscotti given with the coffee. Nice touch. Bit of a walk into town, quite a big hill but thought we needed it after a big dinner and a few drinks in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night at the beginning of October. It doesn't look much from the outside but as soon as you enter the lobby it is beautiful. The decor had a classic feel to it which I liked as not too keen on ultra modern places.
The reception staff were polite and friendly, as were all other members of staff that I spoke to.
Great facilities in the room and in the hotel itself.
Didn't eat in any of the restaurants but the room service food was brilliant, don't have anything bad to say about that!
The location is pretty good too, only a few minutes walk from Queen street.
Would definitely stay again and highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites including 47 Langham Club Rooms and 16 suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court * 24hr business centre* Free wifi throughout the hotel *Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa for luxury spa and beauty treatments* Chuan Healthclub & fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.