We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school luxury but pretty disappointing...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Auckland to your Saves list
The Langham, Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room & lunch for two $349
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old school luxury but pretty disappointing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I booked this hotel for my partner and I on our way back to Melbourne after a friend's wedding in Waiheke Island. We were really looking forward to some luxury and relaxation after a stressful time. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. Even though we were told that we were given a free upgrade, we had two single beds pushed together rather than an actual king/queen bed. This has to be one of my pet hates - and for me, unacceptable in a 5 star hotel. Then we found out that there was no free wifi - instead a very premium rate (something like $8 per 45 minutes I think). Having lived in Vietnam where wifi is free everywhere, I thought this quite archaic for a country such as NZ. These two things were even more disappointing given that we had chosen the Langham over better located hotels (the Langham is not in the main CBD but on the edge), meaning a lot of trekking around.

The best part was Chuan Spa. I was given a gift voucher by my friends who got married, and it was the best spa experience I've ever had.

Just was a real pity about the bed and wifi combined with less convenient location, as we were so looking forward to the ultimate luxury we thought we had paid for.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend staying in the cheaper rooms. If you choose to stay here, splurge on the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    635
    211
    52
    36
See reviews for
255
1,231
145
466
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We've just stayed for 2 nights in a Park Suite at the hotel. Normally I'm prefer Hiltons, but we'd heard really good things about this hotel from others. And, we found that the suites were better value than the Hilton Auckland. We certainly weren't disappointed.

The room itself was very well appointed, with a wonderfully comfortable king bed. I'm normally a light sleeper in hotels. And, despite the room being close to very busy Symonds Street, it was completely quiet - I never heard a thing.

However, I think what sets this hotel apart from others is the service levels. Every single hotel staff member we came across - from check in staff, to wait staff, to chefs in the Eight restaurant, to pool staff, to housekeeping - was, without fail, courteous, friendly and helpful. I've never ever encountered such consistency of great service. The housekeepers prepared our room twice each day - during the morning while we were at breakfast, and again (with a turndown) in the evening while we were at dinner. Each time everything was left immaculate.

During the day we relaxed by the pool. Happily it was sunny - which seems unusual for Auckland this summer. Often pools are a bit of an after thought in big hotels. But the pool facilities at the Langham are excellent. Attached to the in-house 'Day Spa', it's a great spot to relax and unwind.

This is probably one of the best hotels we've stayed in. We're definitely looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at the Langham late December 2011 it was our Christmas holiday, even though we live in Auckland. We took up the 25% of suite offer and was fantastic especially having access to club lounge. Couldn't recommend more, staff lovely, food great and High Tea lovely experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell, Australia
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed 3 night during our organised tour.

A bit costly and not for those on a budget, but you get the quality service you pay for.

The rooms were excellent, and so was the service.

The foyer lounge service was the best I have ever experienced, with very efficient, well trained, groomed and courtious staff.

It did surprise us the times the room was cleaned and prepared for the evening, with house keeping never being seen. It just happened as it should in a hotel of that quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

we had a great experience at this hotel. The rooms were impeccible and the room staff will not be forgotten. We had access to the upstairs lounge and the waitstaff their went out of there way to be friendly and helpful!! I wasn't too impressed with the conceirge desk. I talked to three different people at the desk and none of them helped me much. I was never told about the shuttle to the viaduct area which I discovered on my own. One was going to email me information which she never did. I thought they could have been a little more attentive. The doormen knew us by name after only a day(we stayed seven nights). We will stay again as it is one of the best hotels and friendldy staff we've encountered

Room Tip: We stayed right on the floor with the lounge. It made it very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Really nice break from the CHC quakes! Book with the Suite or Weekend packages (see tips below) then good value. Do visit the pool, really nice! Bed in suite one of the best I have slept in anywhere. "Busboys" & concierge extremely nice and good old kiwi service (not condescending when we pulled up in our little hire Toyota Yaris). Lots of european/continental staff which is nice but sometimes hard to understand. Noise not a problem in any parts of the Hotel complex (apart from the odd spoilt toddler).

Room Tip: Try and book the Suite Package (includes the Langham Club Lounge with Butler Service) Thursday then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is a lovely hotel - but at normal rates, pretty expensive for what you get. We got a deal, so was good value. This review is written with the 4-5 star rating of the hotel in mind...
We stayed in a standard room - nice, with all the standard room amenities, furnishings, linen etc,that you would expect in a good hotel, but the room we had was nothing special - same as most good quality hotels across the western world. Our room had windows, but only looked out on the back of some other buildings, although from the hotel location on a hill, I'm sure there are roms with great views across the city and the harbour. The room was nice & quiet.
Service was great - friendly helpful staff.
Best part of our stay was the breakfast - buffet style with so many options! Every thing you could expect for across a range of cultures (NZ - obviously, English. American, European, Asian.... ) AND a station with 2 luxury flavours of icecream which you could self scoop into crisp wafer cones and a chocolate fountain with fruit, marshmallows etc for dipping! Now that's a breakfast!!
Some reviews have mentioned that the hotel is on the outskirts of the central city, but its not that far away either. Its an easy 5 to 20 min walk down hill to most parts of the centre (eg the Art Gallery is only a bit over 5 mins away, the Viaduct would be more like 15 - 20mins). And if you head down Karangahape Rd, you find a vibrate, edgy and somewhat exotic shopping area within minutes of the hotel - highly recommended if you like people watching and finding the slightly offbeat. And they do have a shuttle, but we didn't use is so can't comment.
Service was great - friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites including 47 Langham Club Rooms and 16 suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court * 24hr business centre* Free wifi throughout the hotel *Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa for luxury spa and beauty treatments* Chuan Healthclub & fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.