We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Auckland to your Saves list
Rydges Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Federal Street, Cnr Kingston Street | Central City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Rydges. The service we received was to a very high standard and we would specially like to give our thanks to James in particular. He was exceptionally professional and helpful in rectifying the problem with the executive suite we booked for. Very impressed with how easy it was to book a room through the hotel’s website and we could even check-in online.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    469
    160
    61
    17
See reviews for
130
445
93
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here in November in a Superior room and were very impressed. The shower was amazing and the bedroom and fantastic view over Auckland Harbour a real treat. It was next door to the Sky Tower too which was a bonus

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very good. We got upgraded which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Our room overlooked an apartment block so we had no privacy and had to keep the thick blinds shut at all times which was a shame. The room was small but ok with free wifi but the bathroom was very very small. The reception staff were polite and helpful.

We had dinner at STK, the food and service were at best average.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Rydges is in a central location very close to the Sky Point Tower & casino. It is only a few minutes walk to the waterfront. The room was fine and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast is nice but not as good as in Rydges Wellington. My room 519 had a view into the apartment building across the alley - the people living there are so close that it is a little uncomfortable having the curtains open. Another negative is the standard Rydges tv system which is very tiresome to use. The hotel does have free wifi but it is quite slow.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We got married at the Rydges Auckland last Saturday. It was the most fantastic day/night. The staff at the hotel right from our check in, the concierge, the waiting staff at the ceremony & reception and in fact just everyone we dealt with were at the top of their game and just a pleasure. Nothing we asked for was ever too much and they went out of their way to accomodate our requests. The concierge saw we had a bottle of bubbles at check in and made sure that before we arrived at the room, there were 2 champagne flutes waiting for us. During the ceremony and reception, the waiting staff led very ably by Johnny were absolutely amazing. All our guests were 'spoiled rotten' as the staff were so attentive and continuously kept replenishing glasses. They were not obtrusive but were right there if anyone needed anything.
After the event, all our gifts and other stuff were discreetly put back in our room. The next morning our bags and stuff were brought down as soon as we requested a trolley. The car was waiting for us and everything was loaded so that we could make a quick and easy exit.
It was a very pleasurable experience and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Rydges Hotel Auckland to anyone.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated in the heart of the city so the rooms don't really offer any fantastic vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed at in NZ. Very nice hotel, the room was comfortable, common areas very nice, the breakfast a strong asset -especially the smoothies shots-, the location perfect and staff members very kind, as all people in this amazing country. Wifi was also a plus!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Clean and comfortable. I like that the windows can be opened and the airconditioning adjusted to suit - there's nothing worse than a stuffy hotel room. It was very quiet and we were unaware of the other guests - just how we like it. Great location, easy walk to shops, attractions, restaurants and transport.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, but my dh was at a conference catered by the hotel and he said the food was lovely.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park across the road, don't know if that made a difference, but it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Cnr Kingston Street | Central City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.