We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Comfy Bed and lovely view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Auckland to your Saves list
Rydges Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Federal Street, Cnr Kingston Street | Central City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Big Comfy Bed and lovely view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in the Harbour View King room and it was only a few dollars more but beautiful room, had a view of the harbour and of Sky Tower, the bathroom was great, only a shower but it was a very good shower and as always at Rydges the bed was lovely and big and comfy. Free wifi was a bonus.

Room Tip: Our room was top floor harbour view which was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased to read you found your room beautiful with great views of the Harbour and Skytower. The bathroom has recently been refurbished to remove the bathtub and have a lovely large shower – this was all due to guests comments and preferences with showers instead of baths in their hotel rooms.
I am glad you loved the big comfy beds too, we do get a lot of great comments about them.
I hope to welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
Best regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    469
    157
    61
    17
See reviews for
128
443
93
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Loved the location, breakfast is magic and staff great. Loved the free wifi and enjoyed the complimentary drink on arrival. Bathroom was very small and our room was directly opposite the lift so got noisy on a Friday night. But do yourselves a favour the restaurant downstairs STK has a great range of foods and very tasty. Overall 4 very bright stars.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you had a great stay with us while you visited Auckland. Your review points out everything we are so very proud of in the hotel from great staff, to great rooms and of course the great food in our STK Restaurant – it truly is a must to visit whether staying in house or Just in the city for dinner.
I do hope you will be back to visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just had a quick overnighter in Auckland and chose Rydges Hotel which was well up to scratch. Had hoped for free parking considering price per room but free wifi provided some compensation. Room was clean and tidy and staff were friendly and courteous. Really handy for Sky Tower (almost next door). Would we choose Rydges again? All I would say is that there are loads of other hotels in the area and it may pay to shop around as it wasnt the cheapest hotel accommodation we stayed in over our 3 week holiday (to be fair this could be due to its city centre location - really handy for centre of Auckland and harbour area).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I hope you had a wonderful 3 week holiday in New Zealand and were able to see and do as much as possible. I am pleased you chose to stay with us during your holiday and I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.
Warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A very pleasant hotel which is well located in central Auckland just below the Skytower (a must to visit) and 10 minutes walk from the docks and ferry port. The hotel is well appointed in all respects and the staff are friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming.

Our double room was well fitted out, as you would expect for a modern business hotel. The large double bed was particularly comfortable and the air con was effective. The view from the room was nothing special - a block of flats opposite - but that is the penalty of big cities!

A brief word about the 'quirky' bathroom which is essentially designed as a wet room. The shower is excellent, with 2 different heads for maximum effect. The odd thing is that the floor design of the wet room is ineffective at keeping the shower 'splash' contained and the splash water does its best to head out of the bathroom en-route for the carpet in the bedroom! Strategically placed towels mainly stopped this happening...

The hotel has full dining facilities that we did not use simply because we wanted to be out and about in Auckland (sorry Rydges) but around the hotel the Greco Cafe (opposite the Cathedral) does a delightful full breakfast.

A tiny minus was a sudden panic at the last minute, about 9.40 a.m. when we went back to to our room to collect our baggage. Our room key-cards appeared to be 'cancelled' even tho' check out is 10.00. Fortunately, we were able to show our floor staff sufficient evidence of our 'bona fides' to open our door to retrieve our bags before our taxi drove off in disgust.

Nevertheless, a good hotel to stay for your Auckland visit.

Room Tip: Maybe try asking for a real "Harbour View" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am pleased you found the hotel to be very pleasant and the staff friendly and knowledgeable; they are an absolute asset to the hotel.
While there are some great cafes and restaurant so close to the hotel the next time you come and stay with us you must try out our STK Restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner, it really is fantastic and is an absolute must to try.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
With best regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The location in the middle of the city is the biggest asset for this hotel; easy to get to jetty to visit other islands, near Sky Tower and there are many shops and restaurants nearby. The hotel is more focussed on business people than guests on a holiday, at least during my stay. All is done in an efficient way, but do not expect any personal touch. There is nobody to help you with your luggage upon arrival or departure; when I left, my luggage was in the lobby and the concierge got my car but was not bothered at all to help me in any way. The rooms were fine and beds were good; cleanliness was acceptable at first sight, but was woken up the first morning before 9am (some people are suffering from jetlags!) by a cleaner and he promised to get back by 11am and he finally came back at 3.45pm (telling that he would be finished at 4pm so it was now or never) when we just returned to our room, so this was very inconvenient. The internet charges (30 dollars for 24 hours) are ridiculous high and so was the 30 dollars parking fee for having your car there for 1 night. Had a few meals in the restaurant and they were all good quality. Would recommend this hotel for business purpose but would not return here myself for a holiday visit and would prefer a bit more personalised option for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, yes the hotel is situated in a very convenient location between the Skytower and the Viaduct Harbour and also just up the road from Queen street – I hope you were able to get out and about in the city to experience it all.
It concerns me to read that you felt the staff were less than helpful with your luggage as we usually receive great comments on their professionalism and friendliness so I apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.
I do hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
With warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Rooms were typical hotel style and quite well appointed. However, the bathroom was tiny with limited room to move. The room looked straight into an apartment building so drawing the curtains was an option. Some people watching was fine but not sure I wouldn't like it long term! A person wearing an executive chef coat was serving on check out and could not help me with my check out procedure. The regular front desk person also couldn't help with an issue of not having the charge back facility expected for the group for myself. Whilst assured it would be sorted I let our administrative person sort it so as not to delay my bag collection at the end of the day with details on who was paying for what which you don't need when heading for the airport! Breakfast was a non-event so I only went to the restaurant once in my three day stay-there was no one to take an order for a la carte and there was no staff available generally the whole time I was in the restaurant apart from checking me off on the list at the entrance. Location is good and quite central.

Room Tip: Be prepared to look out at another building-not a hotel for harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, you will be please to know that we are currently refurbishing bathrooms within the hotel by removing the bathtubs and replacing them with large luxurious showers which will make the bathrooms much roomier. Many of the bathrooms have already been completed and look fantastic; the rest will be completed by the end of Winter next year.
Being a central city hotel we have many varied options for views within the hotel including fabulous harbour views, awesome views of the Skytower and others with views over the city which gives our guests many choices for their stay with us.
Thank you again for your review and please be assured all comments and suggestions are taken with extreme seriousness and are reviewed by the relevant department managers within the hotel for action.
With kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very clean, comfortable, excellent location to get to sky city (<1min walk!) and the main shopping street.

To get to the airport to here, you can get the shuttle bus which drops you off on the main shopping street (think it's Queen st) and you walk up a steep hill (be prepared if you have heavy luggage!!).

The information is outdated though - in the room, we are told that we can use a 5* gym which is around the corner but that isn't the case anymore. The gym at the Rydges is very basic but OK. Staff were helpful.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, yes the hotel is in a very central location and the shuttle is one of the most cost effective ways to get here from the airport. The gym in the hotel located on the 3rd floor has all the essential equipment of a very high quality and is free for all hotel guests to use at their leisure.
I am so pleased you would definitely stay with us again so I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Cnr Kingston Street | Central City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.