We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Auckland to your Saves list
Rydges Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Federal Street, Cnr Kingston Street | Central City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Timaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel and were upgraded to deluxe king harbourview suite. Their front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful and the restaurant meals were brilliant. Felt so special staying here!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay with us at Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased to read that we were able to make you feel so special staying here with us, the staff here strive to make each and every guests stay special and unique so I am glad that we were able to do this for you during your stay.
Our STK Restaurant meals are brilliant and I am so glad you thought so too!
I hope we can welcome you back again very soon and make your next stay just as special.
Best wishes,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    469
    156
    60
    17
See reviews for
128
442
93
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here as part of the Kirra Tour and would definitely stay here again! The location was absolutely brilliant, being only a block from the skytower/skycity casino, 5 minute walk to the harbours and only a couple of streets from the main shopping street of Queen Street. Friendly welcome and check in. The concierge was absolutely brilliant.

First room: Room 425. Amazing deluxe room. Had a corner room which gave me two different views - one of the street and the other was of the tower! Luxury room with excellent facilites, very clean flat screen TV and lovely bathroom. Dinner on this night was Chicken pate, lamb and a cheesecake brownie - all extremely nice!!

Second room: Room 711. Stayed at this hotel on my own after the end of tour and again wasn't disappointed. Was upgraded to a deluxe harbour view room!! Amazing view of the harbour and the auckland bridge!!! Luxury facilities, large room with flat screen TV, clean and lovely bathroom.

Polite and efficient staff in every part of the hotel including the cleaning staff (excellent and prompt service by all).

Would definitely stay here again when I am next in Auckland. LOVED IT. Best hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi there,

Wow, thank you for a great review on Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased you found your first stay with us so great you ended your tour with us again too.
It is also great you got to experience two very different but two very great views from your stays; the Skytower really is great to see, especially lit up at night (and watching the people free falling from the top – eek) and then the Harbour with the bridge at sunset is magnificent.
I do hope the next time you are in New Zealand you come and see us again as we would love to have you back.
Warm regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Excellent Hotel, very clean and tidy with great staff- helpful and obliging. So close to everything in the CBD IE Casino. Would recommend to all whom are looking for a value plus accomodation in Auckland CBD

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your great review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you found us to be clean with great staff and so close to everything. We do strive for the best staff in town so I am pleased that on this occasion we did not disappoint.
I do hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland again very soon.
Best regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Rydges in Auckland was a really great value. The hotel staff is very friendly, the rooms are nice and clean, and the gym is very well equipped. The location is good and the internet is free. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, it sounds like you had a great time while staying with us and I am so pleased you enjoyed your room and of course our great little gym on level 3.
I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.
Regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Lovely check-in service, polite and efficient staff. We had to wait a little bit for the room, but we got a free coffee in the morning at the "Barista" cafe. Nice touch!
Comfortable room and fantastic food from the in-house restaurant!
The only downside is the expensive parking and the extra 2% Credit card fee put onto the customers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. I do apologise you had to wait for your room upon check in but I am so pleased you were able to enjoy a fantastic coffee from our Barist’a on the Corner to get your morning coffee fix the next day.
I do hope you had a fantastic weekend in town and I hope we can welcome you back for another very soon.
Warm regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

For us it is a good location in central Auckland, but it is down a dark back street so lone females may not feel comfortable walking back in darkness.

If you can get a room at a reasonable rate then it is very good for the location.

Bar is OK, if not too many people when it can be slow service and no seating.

Not tried the restaurant for lunch/dinner.

Breakfast is good if inclusive - expensive otherwise.

Check-out can be slow. They seem to have a very complex computer system.

Overall very good if you get a good price on the room and as many extra included as possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rygdes Auckland, I am so pleased you found the location of the hotel very good for your needs in town.
I look forward to welcoming your back to Rydges Auckland again very soon.
Regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed Rydges for 7 nights from 13/8. Room was a harbour view room on 5th floor with good views. Room not large but more than adequate. Bathroom extremely small with a shower, ok as I was alone ..could be problem with 2 persons. Hotels bar and restaurant were excellent. Great selection on menu. Service was a little slow at times but was due to hotel being very busy. Both Reception and restaurant staff were exceptional....most friendly and made you feel very welcome.I certainly can recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again myself soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased to read you had a great time with us during your week long stay in Auckland.
We do get fantastic comments on our STK Restaurant and the staff so I am so pleased that during your stay we did not disappoint and we were able to help make your stay excellent and make you feel welcome, we know a week away from home can feel like a very long time.
I do hope you do get to come and stay with us again soon too.
With best wishes,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Cnr Kingston Street | Central City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.