We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, in the heart of the city. Awesome location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Auckland to your Saves list
Rydges Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Federal Street, Cnr Kingston Street | Central City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, in the heart of the city. Awesome location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Booked a great deal for the weekend in this hotel from lastminute.com and got a room on the 7th floor for around $80AU per night.

Visited in May 2012.

The room had a king size bed and I read they are "dream beds". The bed definitely was comfortable and above average for a hotel. The pillows were a bit too soft and bulky for my liking though.

No windows or balcony but a bit of natural light does come through from high above where a window would be.

Ensuite and shower was good. Everything was modern.

I didn't use the mini bar or the 24 hour room service but having that available 24/7 is great. Being 20 seconds from the Casino and Denny's also means you have options 24/7.

The location was brilliant. 20 second walk to the Casino and 5-10 minutes to the harbour ferry terminal, Airport bus stop and the Viaduct region.

Looked to be a very good hotel for a business stay as well.

Free wi-fi in lobby was still decent on the 7th floor and across the road outside the casino!

TV had pay per view movies available. Normal stations and both sports channels free of charge as well.

For the price (which is probably half of the standard rate) I loved it. A traveller on a budget might find it a bit pricey but if you can get a decent deal, i strongly recommend this hotel.

Also said to have a gym available but i think its off site somewhere and possibly a pool. I never used these but its another handy extra.

Staff were helpful, friendly and seemingly there 24/7.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on your weekend with us at Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed our location and of course the very comfortable Rydges Dream Bed – they really are fantastic.
You are right that we do have a gym, it is on level 3 of the hotel with very high quality equipment, but no there is unfortunately no swimming pool in the hotel.
I am so please you strongly recommend Rydges Auckland and I hope we can welcome you back for another great weekend away.
Best regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    469
    159
    61
    17
See reviews for
129
445
93
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed at the Rydges Auckland whilst on business 9&10th May.
The check in when I arrived in the evening after work was extremely effective and I asked for a higher level room with a view (and away from the noise) and was offered the top floor of the hotel on Level 14. This was excellent service.
The rooms were over a good quality, nothing really that flash, but nice enough and inline with price paid. I did notice some paint drips on the carpet near the lift area, this kind of let's down the standard as should have been cleaned up at the time.
The rooms were clean and tidy, the bathroom had plenty of lighting and was a shower over bath configuration.
The hotel had a bar area on the ground floor which was nice, the was some nice seating as well.
The location is very close to the Sky Tower (about a 2 minute walk) and also easily accessible to the Viaduct (probably a 10/15 min walk away.
This hotel was suitable for purpose and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Great Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased we were able to give you the high floor you were wanting after a long day at work. The bathroom configuration you mentioned is actually in the process of changing starting with the top floor. The baths will be removed to make way for a beautiful big shower and no more shower curtains. This process will take a few months over Winter and finishing the rest of the floors next Winter.
I hope we can welcome you back again soon to check out the new and improved bathrooms.
With kind regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Great location for your shopping within the Auckland CBD. We arrived after a long road trip and ferry ride and were greeted with a friendly smile. We decided to get valet parking as it was expensive and limited within the CBD and also we had a young child - it was great for convenience, but it must be made mention it was expensive (like all hotels). We decided to make ourselves Prioriety guest members before we arrived (free membership) which gave us better pricing and free breakfasts.

The breakfasts were varied and vast, and of decent quality, although the barista made coffee was not free like some hotels.

Overall we would stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased you were greeted with a friendly smile after such a long trip up the North Island and with a young child to keep entertained too.
I hope you were able to get some shopping done in town during your stay and I hope we can welcome you and your family back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
Best wishes,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, new Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I booked our out-of-town team members into the Rydges four weeks before our annual conference date. It was our second choice as the hotel we wanted to stay in advised that they couldn't accommodate for our disabled colleague at the time we required. My colleague had been caught in the Christchurch earthquake and suffered serious damage both physically and mentally. This was their first annual conference with the team since the awful event; naturally we wanted to support them and keep them within close proximity with the rest of the team. Should there have been difficulties with our colleague’s wheelchair access room requirements, we would have booked the team elsewhere.
Finally when the day came and our out-of-town colleagues arrived at the Rydges at 7.30pm, they were told by the duty manager that the wheelchair access room had been reallocated and there was no other wheelchair accessible room available. The duty manager did not apologise and nor did he bother to arrange for alternative accommodation. Our team had to prompt the duty manager into arranging for alternative accommodation and then left it up to us to arrange for transport to get our colleague and her companion to another hotel.
We made a complaint to the General Manager of Rydges hotel who believed that this was a “simple case of misunderstanding” and offered us a “complimentary main course” as compensation. Given that we had booked a number of rooms in the hotel for two nights, we would have expected at least two free nights off one of our bookings at a minimum! The General Manager said this expectation was “beyond what was deemed to be reasonable and just” because the matter was unintentional – a rather absurd comment given that situations like these are never intentional but it is the way the situation is handled which is of importance. The consequences of the staff stuff up is the real issue. Any hotel, reputable or not, would apologise at the first instance, arrange for alternative accommodation, offer to drive you there and pay for any differential. In our 20 years of organising accommodation, we have never experienced such appalling behaviour. We will ensure we recommend to all our clients and associates to never stay at the Rydges hotel.

Room Tip: Don't even bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato, Japan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We booked two nights before returning to Japan from Auckland. The rooms were very clean, views of the harbour looked lovely at night, comfy beds and helpful friendly staff. Rates are very reasonable and found my two nights to be very quiet and comfy.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room on the top floors and found it very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased you had a very pleasant two nights with us before heading back to Japan and I hope we can welcome you back to Auckland very soon.
Kind regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

As a business traveller I look for quality, location and all the support services but not with the high cost and issues with expenses. I've been to many hotels in Auckland and keep coming back here.
If it's views you're after this isn't the place but after recent returbs the rooms are very comfortable and the restaurant meals are damn good.
Rooms on the southern and eastern side can pick up some late night news so ask for north or west.
Staff have always been v helpful.
Moving restaurant downstairs makes it much more accessible and the chef and staff are producing quality dishes. Ask for the wagyu beef with beetroot in balsamic. The restaurant matre de Celina will look after you very well.
Parking is difficult and the driveway seems constantly blocked but most travelers arrive by cab or bus so shouldn't be an issue.

Room Tip: It sounds contrived but join the rydges membership...I think it's called privileges. You get di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, it is always great to hear from our very happy returning guests. You mentioned our great STK Restaurant which is something we are extremely proud of too, and Celina will be very pleased to be mentioned by you.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland once again.
Best regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Close to Sky City and central Auckland shops in Queen St. Short walk to harbour. Seamless and friendly check-in, valet parking, excellent conciege service - always helpful. Friendly desk staff in restaurant. Some free wi-fi available in room - ask the desk for log in details. We used the valet parking and had no problems but it did seem that it could get full especially on the weekend if you were arriving late. It had multiple entries and exits available each day. Self parking was also available at a cheaper rate but it cost you every time you took the car out. Some rooms could be affected by noise from adjoining premises but once the windows were closed, most of the noise was eliminated. Check their website for any special deals.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you found your check-in to be seamless and friendly and the concierge staff to be excellent. The staff are very proud of the hotel and it shows in their fantastic customer service.
I hope you had a great trip while in Auckland and got to see and do as much as possible while here.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Cnr Kingston Street | Central City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.