We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as exciting or fun as it use to be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium

Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium
23 Tamaki Dr | Orakei, Auckland, New Zealand
64 9 528 0603
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$28*
and up
Ranked #31 of 186 things to do in Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter & Underwater World is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans.For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure – we offer cage-free shark dives, PADI-recognised diver training, snorkel and scuba safaris through the Oceanarium or the chance to hand-feed the giant stingrays!
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not as exciting or fun as it use to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

i came back to Kelly Tarltons with the impression that it would be improved and more aquatic life then just the penguins stingrays and fishes. although i enjoyed the penguins and stingrays i couldnt help but feel as if they could do with more exciting attractions. what i thought would take an hour atleast took only 15 minutes and then you were out... hope that it improves overtime...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    347
    185
    65
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stingrays and sharks and the penguins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stingrays and sharks and the penguins. The place to see them is Kelly Tarltons. Carved out form the ancient sewage system of out former city. Now an attraction that is world class.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Awesome mix of Aquatic life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very cool range of fish, expensive food and small site does drag it down a little. The live shows are awesom and interactive. Especially the stingray feeding

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good educational fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Took my nieces for the day, very good time. Changed a lot since I went years ago, much improved. Penguins are very cute, worth timing it for the feeding.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Penguins and sharks and many other sea species”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I hopped off the Hop On, Hop Off Explorer Bus from Auckland at the Aquarium, where I spent a couple of hours.
I found it very interesting, and there were two areas I enjoyed most: the penguins in their large artificial snow and ice place and the tunnel with plexi-glas to walk under several sharks swimming around. I was told of a concept which I found very positive: the sharks are kept there for a short time and then released to where they were caught.
For those of us who live inland, away from the sea, the aquariums should be a must; and this one is an excellent choice to see and learn about marine creatures.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.