We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium

Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium
23 Tamaki Dr | Orakei, Auckland, New Zealand
64 9 528 0603
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$28*
and up
Ranked #31 of 186 things to do in Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter & Underwater World is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans.For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure – we offer cage-free shark dives, PADI-recognised diver training, snorkel and scuba safaris through the Oceanarium or the chance to hand-feed the giant stingrays!
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“had a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Took a class of 9 year olds to see Kelly Tarltons
The kids loved it & so did I
The penguins were the best & the ride in the penguin enclosure was that awesome that we did it 3 times.... Also great way to learn about antartica
Take your own lunch

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    347
    185
    65
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Kelly Tarlton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Went ages ago and enjoyed it. Too expensive to do more than once for locals though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and Entertaining - Suitable for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Kelly Tarlton in his endeavor to share his love for the ocean and marine life opened this wonderful aquarium. The place is rather small but well put together. There are turtles, seahorses, sand tiger sharks, stingrays and fish of all kinds. There are penguins, such as King’s and Gentoo’s, which I was pleasantly surprised to see. They were the highlight of my visit. The train you ride in is rather small and enclosed, which I recommend you do not take if you are claustrophobic. This attraction is fun and is ideal for everyone.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A great day out with the grandchildren”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Apart from the huge queue, almost out the door, when we got there (I think we were unfortunate to arrive just after a tour bus) and the very long wait to get in as a result of it, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The only disappointment was the food. The cafeteria was pathetic. Considering this is a huge tourist magnet for international as well as local visitors, at 2.00pm I would still expect to get a decent meal. I did not fancy the 2 sandwiches or the one pie that was left, or fighting for a table to drink the cup of coffee which ended up being my lunch.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Under water fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Lovely place for the little ones but adults will be happy too. Save this one for a raining day.
Great experience seeing the penguins on their habitat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.