We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful zoo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Zoo

Auckland Zoo
Motions Rd | Western Springs, Auckland, New Zealand
+64 9-360 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 186 things to do in Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Auckland Zoo is home to the largest collection of native and exotic animals in New Zealand, set in 17 hectares of lush parkland and just minutes from central Auckland. Auckland Zoo is open every day (except Christmas Day) from 9.30Am.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a beautiful zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I took our 3 children (ages 3, 12, 15) to the Auckland Zoo on a Saturday afternoon with our extended family from NZ (who are friends of the zoo). They shared so many details about the animals...very interesting! We loved seeing the tigers.

The zoo is a very pretty place to spend the afternoon...many beautiful trails and bridges. We were very impressed with everything about the zoo. We would definitely recommend this for anyone visiting the Auckland area. Our 3 year old loved it...usually he gets bored but there was so much to see.
The food/chips are great at the snack shop. Great ice cream, too!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    476
    101
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The zoo is quite compact but the animals seem to have plenty space, except maybe the elephant but he gets a walk round the zoo every day. Plenty to keep children happy but bring your own picnic as food is very expensive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a REAL FAMILY ZOO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Naturally there are lots of animals to enjoy, I especially liked the monkey environement around a smalllake/pond where they seem to be in a most natural surroundings and are so playful swinging continuosly in the trees and playing with each other There is plenty of information given for every animal and the feeding times are well organised and very informative. The whole Zoo layout provides plenty of places for families to picnic or eat at the various food venues with plenty of seating, plus , of course, water drinking fountains free for allto use in the wonderful New Zealand sunshine.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“First time back in 20 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

And I was impressed. We saw kiwis mating in the Kiwi House, and got good views of the elephant, as well as the animals in the Pridelands exhibit. The monkeys were howling and jumping about, the orangutans were disgusting: all in all much better than I thought it would be.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This zoo is really easy to get to from the central city. Animals are well cared for and in good condition. Although it may not have a huge variety it does have some unique animals and the enclosures are really impressive. The facilities are clean and well maintained, food and coffees are good and staff friendly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auckland Zoo also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.