We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zoo is wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Zoo

Auckland Zoo
Motions Rd | Western Springs, Auckland, New Zealand
+64 9-360 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 186 things to do in Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Auckland Zoo is home to the largest collection of native and exotic animals in New Zealand, set in 17 hectares of lush parkland and just minutes from central Auckland. Auckland Zoo is open every day (except Christmas Day) from 9.30Am.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Zoo is wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The landscaping is awesome! We loved the new bird area too. It is a beautiful zoo and something to be proud of. After seeing rather a few in the world this one comes up on top. Go NZ!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    476
    101
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lot of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Like other reviewers have said, Auckland Zoo is fairly small, so two or three hours is long enough to visit. Having said that, it is well worth going along.

It is much less formal than a lot of other zoos I've been too. For instance, we saw an elephant going for a walk through the zoo.

There was also a great section that focused on New Zealand wildlife, including the Kiwi, Tuatara, Kea and Kunekune pig.

To get there by bus, go to stop 7100 (outside Sky City) and take bus 030, or any bus beginning 11- to 19-. Hop off opposite Motions Road, which is the Zoo entrance.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for Kids and big Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have been a few times this year, and always finds something new and interesting. Well set out, with as natural enclosures for the stars of the zoo (animals) as they can do with the space.

Very stroller friendly, and kids love it. Good playground, and activities for the little kids also.

So glad I have kids to give me an excuse to go to zoo.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A lovely zoo. Great hippos. The zoo is very large and has clean and well maintained paths. I went there at a rainy day but it was just lovely. Much too see and to do. Just bring your own food because its quite expensive there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just love taking the grandkids here. Used to love taking our own kids here too. Great job in making the environment good for both the visitors and the animals. Make sure you have plenty of time!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auckland Zoo also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.