We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“zoo time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Zoo

Auckland Zoo
Motions Rd | Western Springs, Auckland, New Zealand
64 9 360 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$36*
and up
Auckland Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour
Ranked #7 of 88 Attractions in Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Auckland Zoo is home to New Zealand's largest collection of animals and recognised as one of the most progressive zoos in the world. A winner of national and international environmental-related awards, it is home to 120 different species and more than 750 animals. Set in stunning park-like surroundings with naturalistic animal environments, Auckland Zoo is open every day (except Christmas Day) from 9.30am.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Wellington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“zoo time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Fantastic and we went without children. We had a great time. It was a lovely walk in lovely surroundings.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    398
    82
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australind, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“well ... a day not to be forgotten ...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I appreciate that this probably was bad timing, however when visiting the Serval enclosure, I noticed that a duck was in the enclosure with two Serval's circling around and pushing the duck into the corner of the enclosure.

I saw staff member / volunteer go past and asked, what is going on there, obviously they are going to attack the duck ... and the response I got was a shrug of the shoulders and "they are wild ducks"

I was a bit stunned .....

needless to say, the two Serval's attacked the duck (in front of 10 school children) and then took the duck away to do whatever...

Don't get me wrong, I appreciate nature, I'm not a vegetarian - however the attitude of the staff member was wrong, there were several staff around who did nothing - and then to only walk down 10 minutes and see an EXHIBIT on Ducks ...! Well, that was just puzzling knowing this attitude.

The zoo overall wasn't that impressive, the stagnent water, chickens just wandering around (?), small enclosures ..., just topped off a pretty ordinary experience... oh and you have to pay for a map too.

I don't rate things 1/5 that often - however, seeing a duck being eaten alive, is not really what I expect my family to see on an outing

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“See NZ wildlife up close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The Te Wao Nui exhibit is fantastic, see native wildlfe up close. Very spacious exhibits which is great for the animals. Highly recommend a ZOOM tour

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We arrived early, not long after the gates opened. Being the school holidays we expected the place to be packed. Though the car park was full, there was no queue at the ticked booth - a pleasant surprise. The zoo is spread over a large area, so there's plenty of room for all the visitors.
The new New Zealand section is brilliant! A must see for any overseas visitors. The walk-through enclosures are excellent. Our one difficulty was with the one-door-at-a-time system. Maybe some signage would be useful, so people know they can't open the 'out' door while the 'in' door is open, and vice versa. Once we'd worked out how the system worked, we had to explain it to lots of other people. The little booklets for the kids to fill in with information they discovered were great, a good way to make them read the signs. :)
We took a picnic lunch with us and ate at one of the tables on the lawn.
While the entrance fee may seem high, for a whole day out for a family of five overall it was good value. Get one of the coupon books that are available all over the place if you want to save a few dollars.
Oh, and do plan to spend the whole day. You'll have to miss a lot if you rush through in half a day.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Absolutely love it everytime, the new areas are awesome and favourite part has to being feeding the Giraffe.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auckland Zoo also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.