We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, we visited twice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki

Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki
Corner Kitchener and Wellesley Streets, Auckland, New Zealand
64 9 307 7700
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$36*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #9 of 88 Attractions in Auckland
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki is New Zealand’s most compelling visual arts experience. Enter between majestic kauri (native tree) columns to explore four floors of exhibitions, seven centuries of art and one of Auckland’s most iconic buildings. Experience world-class touring exhibitions, immerse yourself in the sights, sounds and atmosphere of traditional and contemporary international works and discover the largest permanent collection of New Zealand art right in the heart of Auckland city. The Gallery offers a lively calendar of talks, performances, film screenings and children's activities to complement its exhibition programme. Please visit our website to see what’s on. Open daily 10am-5pm (except Christmas Day) Free entry (charges may apply to special exhibitions).
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“So good, we visited twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We visited Toi o Tamaki at the very start and the very end of our trip. Our first visit, we just enjoyed the free collection on the ground floor which was works by New Zealand and New Zealand based artists. I don't know a lot about art, and even less about NZ art, but I thought the pieces were really interesting and wonder why the world is not more educated in New Zealand art!

The second time we bought tickets to a late night opening of the California Design exhibition. Late night opening cosrs $20 as opposed to the norma price of $15, but there were talks and lvie music included. The exhibition itself was so interesting and really well put together. It was definitley worth the ticket price. The atmosphere of the late night opening was also wonderful, probably becuase it's full of people who genuiney really want to be there - everyone is having a fun time and enjoying the art, the music and the food and drink that were available. There was a small gift shop available on the night, the full gift shop isn't open which is a pity and i regretted not heading in on our first visit.

Word of warning for the clumsy, the steps when leaving hte building are of slighly different heights - I fell on the last tiny step and twisted my foot :-(

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    219
    43
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Regular Visitors - LOVE THIS GALLERY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This gallery has come a long way from what is was. It was pretty good then, but is AMAZING now. Great range of exhibits, clean presentation, funky new exhibits, great central location - can't ask for more!!!! LOVE THIS GALLERY!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow - what a beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The newly rebuilt/extended/restored Auckland Art Gallery is just a delight. The building itself has been beautifully restored and extended - the new part of the building relates to the original building incredibly well and there are wonderful vistas from one part of the gallery to another. It is a truly wonderful space to just be in, let alone the wonderful collection of art on offer! The cafe is fantastic; beautiful food and great coffee, so much nicer than we imagined! We are huge fans of the NGV in Melbourne and didn't think Auckland could compete but we were wrong - this is a truly wonderful addition to Auckland and an absolute must to visit. There are a fantastic collection of static exhibitions to view even if there is no major exhibition on at the time of your visit. The shop is fabulous too; full of super things to buy - all in all the Auckland Art Gallery is a must; there's something for everyone!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

In addition to the stunning art collection, the contemporary interior which belies the traditional exterior, and the intriguing maori mask displays on level I, the best part is that the Toi o Tamaki is free. What a deal!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Spent a good 3 hours viewing the Artworks at the gallery. Absolutely loved the Victorian paintings and wished there were a lot more. Really the crown jewels of the gallery. Also enjoyed the works in the Maori or earlier settlers sections. True masters with a brush. As for the newer works, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. The staff were most extremely friendly, helpful and it was a very enjoyable visit. Parking around the area was hard to find and in the end we used the Wilson parking across the road from the Gallery. Expensive parking, but still the visit was worth it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.