We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pick in Auckland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Auckland to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1041, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Pauillac, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good pick in Auckland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Stayed during 3 nights in Stamford Plaza.
Rooms are not what I would call luxurious but are comfortable, large, quiet and Bedding was very good.
Business style hotel though, not very charming.

Main assets come from a central location in CBD and a very professional staff.
Concierge Daniel March was very friendly, knowledgeable and always available for us.
Also, there is a very large indoor pool with a nice view on the bay.

In a word, I agree with one of the previous report saying it is not a 5 star hotel but is a very good 4 star though.
If you can get it for a reasonable price, go for it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

We hope to welcome you back to Stamford Plaza Auckland in the near future.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    314
    119
    51
    29
See reviews for
86
400
68
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nz
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Check in was fast and friendly but staff upon finding we didn't need help with luggage failed to give us directions on which the lifts were up to the accommodation or what floor we were on (only had our room#). Compedium should of contained map of hotel facilities etc and had more comprehensive details in it.

Only 3 sugar sachets for the 2 of us but upon ringing house keeping 4 more were bought up. I had ordered upon check in a newspaper for the morning. At 8.30 I had to ring down to get it sent up and when it was a section was missing out of it. Later found sections in the breakfast buffet area.

Very noisey, we were in not the budget rooms but the next standard up and had a night club right outside which was going loudly until 5.30am, soundproof glass would of been nice!!!!

Breakfast buffet was remarkably average and not what I would expect from a 5 star establishment. Check out was fast and effecient as was the valet service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and whilst on this occasion we did not meet your expectations we hope to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

There was bit of confusion at the entrance, about the parking rule for visitors. First half and hour free or not. Rules were not clear to them.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We've stayed at Stamford Plaza Auckland for 3 nights from 16-19 Jan 2010 after our 12N Diamond Princess from Sydney to Auckland. We had initially booked an one-bedroom suite at Hyatt Regency, but changed to Stamford Plaza for its proximity to Queens' Wharf, Queen's street, city centre, etc.

The location is great! It is 5-7 mins to Queen's Wharf, Queen's Street shopping, Auckland Tower, CBD, etc

The service at Stamford Plaza is exceptional, right from the point of reservation. We booked a Deluxe Room, but shared our concerns of noisy rooms, uneven bedding, etc with the staff. Amar Jain, our reservation agent took our concerns seriously. Ms Lynda King, Director of Sales and Marketing emailed us the next day to address our concerns, and gave her word to give her best attention.

On arrival on 16 Jan 2010, we were greeted by their reception staff, who gave us a complimentary upgrade to a suite on level 6. As we were early (reached ~9.30a.m), the room was not ready till around 11.30a.m. However, when it was ready, the reception staff carried up our luggage, and then personally escort us to the room.

The corner suite comes with a large living room, spacious bathroom and bedroom.
However, the room furnishings does looked a little dated, and slightly dusty. Also, the mattress is slightly uneven. There is also a design flaw in the bathtubs, as it does not come with shower curtains. Hence, the bathroom floor gets wet everytime we use the bathtub.

It'd be good if the hotel could invest in refurnishing all the rooms, and change their beds to comfort beds like Four Point Sheraton's.

The gym on Level 10 is almost brand new, with a good range of equipment. It has a good-sized pool. The hotel has placed cosy sitting areas inside the gym, which allows guests to take a rest and enjoy surrounding views.

The breakfast spread is quite limited in variety. However, it was similar at Four Points Sheraton Sydney . . . so it may be the norm in Australia and New Zealand to have a much smaller spread, compared to similar class hotels in Asia

The Kabuki Teppanyaki restaurant inside the hotel is a MUST GO! We have read it was voted Top 50 Restaurants in Auckland in 2008, but was not sure if it was really that good. It was, and exceeded our expectations! The chefs are friendly, have a sense of humor, and highly skilled in their "cooking acrobatics". Besides the fresh food and nice presentation, guests are invited to participate in the cooking by catching eggs, bowls, etc. It was all presented in a fun way, and all the guests on our table greatly enjoyed the whole experience.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Stamford Plaza and would certainly recommend it to our friends! A big "Thank You!" to all the staff, especially the whole team at reception, who have greeted us and made us feel welcome, from the beginning.

And we hope that the rooms would be fully refurnished when we visit the next time!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

I found this hotel excellent and the location was a good position to see the sites. Only thing I would say the hotel did not have any information on things to do around Auckland had to go to local "I" information centre.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

Stayed here at the end of November after a family trip to NZ. Great way to end the holiday. Clean, efficient, spacious and good service. Loved the large reception/bar area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

The hotel is a bit tired and run down. Two of us in the room and only two smallish towels? Five star? Next day the towels had been replaced with - two towels. Maybe its just me but most 5 star hotels are a bit more generous. Have they not heard that women use a towel for their hair - leaving us to fight over the other? The Japanese restaurant downstairs charged a fortune for a Tepanyaki meal. Staff seemed pleasant enough

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and whilst on this occasion we did not meet your expectations we hope to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Business Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.