We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stamford Plaza Auckland to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Auckland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1041, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Auckland
Berwick, Victoria
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here some time back and still just as good.

Bar and reception can get busy at times so be prepared to wait.

Location is ideal near the waterfront, my room was large with separate lounge and good quality furnishings and amenities.

Ideal for business.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear GriffinFamily4,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your feedback regarding your stay, your feedback regarding the speed of service during busy time has been taken on board and will be escalated through the correct channels.

Best regards,

John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
johnmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    305
    112
    50
    29
See reviews for
85
385
67
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had an enforced stopover at this hotel due to a delayed flight from Sydney missing our connecting flight to Apia. Hotel fully paid for by Air New Zealand including all meals for a family of 5. Beautiful rooms and wonderful dining experience for all meals. Lovely indoor pool and spa on the top floor. The concierge went out of his way to notify our hotel in Samoa that we would be late and to hold our reservations. We then decided to extend our stay in Samoa and he organised that with the hotel and also the airline. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and well cared for. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the front. The rear facing rooms whilst having no view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear HeatherN1607,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic feedback and that on a forced lay over what could've been a tiresome experience turned into something great. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
johnmmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stamford Plaza Auckland is very conveniently located in the CBD heart of Auckland, within minutes walk to nearby tourist spots eg. the Waterfront, Sky Tower or Auckland Town Hall. Auckland Domain is slightly further away but on a good cool day in winter, the walk is bearable. As such, for its prime location alone for visitors who have limited time in Auckland, I would highly recommend the hotel!

Hotel staff are mostly helpful and polite, especially the Concierge team, which really gives me a big help with early luggage storage since I was traveling to Rotorua before checking in to the hotel in Auckland! However, on the check out day, the queue is rather long at about 830AM and if there are more staff allocated, I'm sure the check out process will be much faster.

I had the breakfast included with the room package and the buffet breakfast is pretty good. Not as varied as other hotels I've stayed with around the world but the food served is fresh, well-prepared and delicious. There is even a fruit juicer and you can try your hands making your own fruit juice! Again, there are times that the restaurant is packed and there is a queue waiting to the table but all in all, the waiting time is acceptable.

My room is located in level 3, which is a little noisy since the noise from the ground and traffic could be vaguely heard. Furnishing in the room is a little dated but comparing my room to my colleague's, I can see that the hotel management is doing some upgrades with a new look to the hotel. With a fresh new look, I'm sure the hotel would attract more crowd. Security seems to be properly administered here since I need my key card to access the lift, then the level that I stay and finally my room.

Having said all, for its proximity to the Waterfront and the Sky Tower, the superb service skills from their staff, especially the Concierge, I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone coming to Auckland!

Room Tip: Higher floors for lesser noise from the traffic at ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Wil23low

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your feedback and that you had a pleasant stay with us. You are indeed correct in regards to our upgrade which is currently taking place. We look forward to welcoming you back soon when you will come marked improvements in our decor.

Best regards,

John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
johnmmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I'm pretty sure this hotel was advertised as a five star hotel. Well it is a nice four star hotel, but not five (IMHO). In saying that, everything was good, apart from the breakfast, which was a bit disappointing. The french sounding lady at check in was lovely. I had made a mistake with my booking, and she was very polite. I would recommend this hotel to others for a good quality hotel with a very handy inner city location. Just one thing.....$25 for 24 hours of WIFI?.... Come on Stamford Plaza, free WIFI is expected these days.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear CR111

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read your mostly positive feedback, yes Stamford Plaza is a 5 Star NZ property something we work very hard to retain. You will be happy to hear of our current refurbishment which might go a little further to backing this rating up in your mind next time we welcome you back.

In regards to the WiFi, this is a comment we are taking very seriously and are addressing this as the highest levels of the organisation.

Best regards,

John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
johnmmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The first thing i noticed here were the staff - smiling and helpful. I was travelling alone and they made me feel really welcome. The second thing was the spaciousness of my room and bathroom. Separate toilet which i love, and plenty of storage, drawers and hanging space - so rare these days. Finally, the bed. So comfortable, I slept like a baby. My room was clean, quiet and well appointed. Location couldn't be better. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I was on the 9th floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Talita R

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic feedback and that you truly enjoyed you spacious rooms and amazing bathrooms....we are very proud of these, very rare indeed.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
johnmmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I've stayed a few times at the Stamford as part of a corporate group, every time has been fantastic, every time the service good, staff friendly and efficient.
First time I've stayed just this weekend as a private punter and it was awful to say the least. When we arrived at our room there were two single beds even though the box was ticked for a double and we waited patiently for a room change after two phone calls which in turn made us late for dinner. All that aside the night was ok, I slept well, my partner the same - Why the average rating you may ask? Stamford has a different treatment level depending on the booking type - staying with a corprate on business your needs are met easily and they're friendly - staying as a young couple without the suit and tie on and you're in for a different story.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear MikeTauranga

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to read that you have in the past been looked after so well by the team here. However your comments regarding your latest stay are a little alarming, that any of our guests would feel they are treated differently based on the 'type' of stay is by no means appropriate.

Please be assured this has been escalated through all of the appropriate channels and will be dealt with accordingly.

If you have further feedback please feel free to contact me directly..

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
johnmmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingelmunster, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

OK,

The Stamford Plaza...
This is a difficult one to review.
You really get what you pay for here. Nothing more, nothing less.

Rooms are good sized. same for the bathroom.
Rooms have anything that you could require.

so, the positive things:
Staff is friendly and efficient. helpful...
Room size
location
Breakfast is awesome

on the negative side:
Beds: not my first of choice of mattress. On the hard sided, with quite a 'bump' in the middle.
Sheets: The quilt is actually wrapped in an open sheet. never saw this before, but not a fan...
Minibar: although it has the very basic stuff, it would have been nice having more than one bottle of each product...
view: I assume you need to be (un)lucky on this one, but being so close to the harbour, and than having to stare to other concrete buildings (close) is always a bummer.
reco: ask for a good view when booking! ;)

Couldn't say much about the price, as this was my first in NZ, so not much to compare with.
I thought it was advertised (at least on booking.com) as being a 5 star hotel. I would give it four.

However,
overal, as you can see: you have to review details here, so that means everything else, the important stuff, is all good!

Enjoyed my stay. Would consider to stay again!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a good view. I'm sure there should be a great harbour view from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear DBBBD

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that their was little negative aspects to your stay to review. However I would like to inform you that on your next stay your bed will be much improved as we are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
johnmmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Business Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.