We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service and facilities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SKYCITY Grand Hotel to your Saves list
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Federal St, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Unlimited Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing service and facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2006

Many problems with our stay - although the price through wotif.com was a steal.
No instructions are given on booking and the hotel is difficult to find on weekend nights - when there is a lot of traffic in Auckland. Signage pointing to the hotel, even from the casino itself, is non-existent.
There was no porter - and no offer to carry our bags to the room. Later, when we returned to the lobby, there was no one on duty in reception at all.
Minor problems - but annoying in a hotel that promotes itself as five-star.
The service in the linked Bellota tapas bar was equally poor. Ofhhand, unhelpful and no food available late at night.
I asked the night receptionist to get the duty manager to ring me in the morning to discuss these issues - but no one called.
I then asked for the duty manager on checkout - a woman called Megan - who treated me with complete disdain, as if I were a nughty schoolboy, and said "we've never had complaints before. People always comment about how good the staff are".
When asked about the lack of a porter she said: "He must have been busy". She had no explanation for why no one had called me as requested.
I expect more from five-star place: we spent the next two nights at Kauri Cliffs, where the service and facilities were impeccable.
Some stafff and attitude training is needed at this hotel - and some improved signage is a must.

  • Liked — Quality rooms, free internet access
  • Disliked — Offhand service
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you get instructions first, otherwise you find yourself strolling lost around the casiono
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    471
    152
    48
    15
See reviews for
111
826
97
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2006

If this hotel wants to be a 5 star, hotel it needs a little but of work.I found the shower a bit of a problem as it leaked on to the bathroom floor. One telephone did not work, a light globe needed replacement in the bathroom and the bar fridge was so iced up you could not get the ice tray out, but when we did it was empty and dirty. But the view as enjoyable. Will think twice before returning.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

My husband and I had the first part of our honeymoon in Auckland. We arrived at 7:00 AM on a red-eye flight from Los Angeles to see if our room might be available early. As expected, it was not, which was fine with us. We roamed around the city till 3 PM, at which time our room was supposed to be ready. We had booked a Grand suite on the top floor. When we tried to check in, we were told that every single suite in the hotel was taken up by some VIPs. We are were also told that no suite would be available for the next four nights, which was the length of our stay. The management tried to convince us to stay at their sister hotel across the street, the Sky City Hotel, which was only four-star and had a sub-par suite. Our honeymoon was ruined and we felt completely disserviced by the fact that a group of VIPs could usurp our reservation that had been made 4-5 months before. We expected a certain room given this was the first night of our honeymoon. When we initially checked in the morning, none of this information was told to us. We were extremely disappointed with the service and left without spending a single night at the hotel.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

I don't get to Auckland much, but my old hotel that I used to stay at - the Sheraton is no longer (now the Langham) so thought i would try something new.

Location-wise its great - as you can see from the pics, its part of the casino "complex" so is close to Sky City and the "tower".

If you manage to get a room with the bay view, the views are fantastic of the water and the tower.

Is quite modern, but no over the top and has broadband internet @ ~$32NZ a day. Beds are great, the room I had was a King very comfortable.

The only let-down is the bathroom, its quite acceptable, but is quite small, especially if there are two of you in there getting ready for dinner or heading out etc.

Staff were very friendly!.

Will be back again!

  • Liked — Rooms & Location
  • Disliked — Bathrooms a tad small
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out the Hotel Direct - They have better deals direct
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

The facilities are top-notch, the rooms immaculate. The staff I found to be very friendly and helpful.
Location wise, this is a pretty cool hotel. You have the benefit of being close to (in) the Skycity complex which is pretty cool with the various casinos and bars if you're intesterested in that kind of thing! If you want to go downtown you're only 10/15 minutes walk from your destination.
The 2 downsides to this hotel:
1. The Showers ( I don't know why but the doors are a little small and not well sealed.
2. The Breakfast cafe. Seems to be very badly managed. The food is great however!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Business Hotel in Auckland
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SKYCITY Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.