We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the Grand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SKYCITY Grand Hotel to your Saves list
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Federal St, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Auckland
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at the Grand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night in one of the upgraded harbour view king rooms and what a view! Despite the clouds, it was still a great view from our room on the 18th floor. Lovely spacious room with new furnishings, quite masculine in terms of decor though but that was fine for one night.

The breakfast was one of the best breakfast we've ever had: amazing selection of fresh fruits and juices (loved the kiwi fruit juice) and professional, friendly, attentive service throughout. My baked eggs in spinach and tomatoes was fresh and delicious and my husband enjoyed his pancakes. We also enjoyed an after dinner drink in the bar and I was delighted to see Mount Difficulty chardonnay on the wine list which is my all time favourite wine. We appreciated the 11am check out, a nice change from the usual 10am and I appreciated being able to check in early at 11.30 as the room was ready. A few suggestions would be a heated towel rail in the bathroom, decaffeinated tea and coffee in the room and some fresh milk in the fridge rather than the longlife small cartons, just to make it the perfect 5 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Emma T

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Grand Hotel. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team at Gusto will be delighted to read your feedback – the breakfast selection there is wonderful!

Thank you also for your recommendations which our Hotel Manager has received and these will most certainly be reviewed.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    401
    127
    43
    15
See reviews for
95
682
82
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My partner and I were celebrating his 60th so we decided to stay the night at the Grand as we had a voucher for the wonderful spa in the hotel. We were upgraded to the most amazing suite with champagne. The dinner and breakfast at the Hotel was wonderful and I cannot speak highly enough about the staff and service. We felt so special and could not find fault with anything.

Room Tip: Our room was high up with amazing city views, but I would think all rooms in this Hotel would be exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear ntorbet

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Grand Hotel – I was delighted to read your feedback. We have a wonderful team here at The Grand and I look forward to passing on your feedback.

Once again, many happy returns and we hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.

Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Grand hotel is ideally located in the heart of Auckland city within walking distance from top rated restaurants and bars. The lobby is beautifully furnished with stunning artworks, flower arrangement & vanilla candles.

Check in process was fast and we found the staff quite attentive and friendly.

Our beautiful newly refurbished harbor view suite was furnished with comfort of guest in mind. The bed is big and comfortable and pillow menu gives guest more flexibility for choosing the right type of pillow.

A huge indoor swimming pool, well equipped gym, sauna, business center and complementary Wifi access made our stay as pleasant as possible.

We had dinner next door at Masu and that was superb. Breakfast at Gusto had beautiful food, coffee, ambiance and service.

Highly recommend this clean and comfortable hotel whether traveling for business or leisure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Anna

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Grand Hotel. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and I have passed it onto teams to share.

We find that complimentary Wi-Fi with no limit and the option to choose your preferred pillow from our menu are little things that make a big difference when away from home and proving very popular with our guests.

The team look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Skycity Grand for four days. The weather was terrible, so a warm and welcoming hotel was very important. There were many positives to this hotel. It is ideally located on Federal Street, with an easy walk down to the Harbour. There was a huge variety of places to eat close to the hotel (the Mezze Bar is great!), and outside the hotel we really enjoyed the deli.
The room itself was on the small side, but comfortable. It was well maintained, and the bathroom was big and modern. We paid extra to have a room on a higher floor with a view of the harbour, which let us judge whether it was raining, showery or just misty.
We had a major problem with the lack of room servicing. On two days out of the four, despite leaving at 9.30 in the morning and not returning until 3, our room was left untouched and we had to ring for the room to be cleaned. This has never happened to us before, and this is a luxury hotel. It seems like this wasn't an isolated incident and it is a problem that should concern hotel management.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear travelhappy15

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Grand Hotel.

Feedback is very important to us at The Grand Hotel and though delighted you enjoyed your stay, I was disappointed to read about the servicing of your room. I welcome you to contact me so we can look into this further.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel staff were warm, welcoming and very friendly. Lobby was clean and impressive. The hotel room was spacious, clean and well equipped. Chilled water and fruit in room on arrival, well stocked minibar. Deep bath, lots of soft towels/washers/robes. Complimentary products were lovely. King size bed and pillows very comfortable, well placed large TV and a wonderful view, could see the tower, city and harbour. Loved waking up to see across to the harbour. Parking a bit confusing, as parked in Skycity across the road but very good rates for hotel guests. The hotel was quiet at night. Very well located for cafes/restaurants. Forgot to pack swimmers so missed out on the lap pool. Had a wonderful stay, will definitely stay again and recommend as a 5 star hotel in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher levels for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Daylor2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Grand Hotel.

I was delighted to read your feedback and so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to passing your comments onto the team.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your next stay at The Grand Hotel.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were in Auckland for two nights catching up with friends who flew in from Christchurch to stay with us at same hotel.
From the very beginning the hotel went out of their way to help us. We booked a suite with a connecting room for our daughter. The hotel upgraded our friends from the seventh floor to be across the hall from us on the 17th floor, which worked out amazing. The suite had a dining table and lounge for us to all comfortably visit in. We used the hotel transport to the airport which worked out very well. Modern rooms. Suite had a walk-in closet and the bathroom and bath was way bigger than the standard rooms. Turn down service didn’t take place due to us being in room but chocolates were provided. Only issue we had was getting a cheese plate delivered to the room in the evening (11pm), we had to call to check on it.
We used the hotel restaurant and local restaurants. Great location to everything downtown. Friendly staff but it was a little disappointing that they do not have New Zealanders (meaning someone with a New Zealand accent) welcome you at the reception desk. I believe the reception area is the face of any hotel and it should represent its country.

Room Tip: Play to get a higher floor with harbor views. Well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear KiwiTania

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel.

Thank you for your comments which will be passed onto all of team - I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team were on hand to assist you.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

First impressions are important.
We arrived at 1am freezing gale force winds and rain coming in sideways. I paid the cab whilst my wife tried to get her luggage sorted. Where was the porter???? Inside where it was nice and warm. We were the only arrivals so I wont accept an excuse. - YOU ARE NOW 4 STAR at best.
rooms are standard hotel rooms, the exhaust fan and the bathroom is permanently noisy, the show door can't be opened with someone else in the bath room or the door ajar. NOW 3 STAR.
We went out had our "please service" sign out. would have been gone over 3 hours and the room wasn't serviced. 2 STARS.!

We were there 4 nights, no, we wont be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear justcruizin

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel.

I was very disappointed to read your feedback following your stay. I do apologise that our night porter was not available and attending to other matters on arrival at the hotel and that we did not have the opportunity to move you to an alternative room during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback, I welcome you to contact me directly to discuss your concerns further.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SKYCITY Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.