We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SKYCITY Grand Hotel to your Saves list
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Federal St, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I came to unwind and was treated wonderfully by the staff both of the Hotel and the adjoining Restaurants. The rooms were perfect, enormous beds, and very quiet. Staff were on hand at all times to fulfill any request and seemed genuinely happy to do so. It was a pleasure.

Room Tip: The beds were enormous! and I loved having a bath in the room to relax in at end of the day. Room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Heatheratpeace,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

Your feedback was a pleasure to read, and I will be sure to pass your comments on about our fantastic team, to them - they love receiving feedback such as yours.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    420
    131
    43
    15
See reviews for
99
714
90
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Couldn't have chosen a better spot to stay, in regards to location. Also happened to be one of the nicest rooms (chic, well-appointed) of our trip. Directly out our window was the sky tower, and we were five-minutes to the harbor. Arguably more business-like, we still found it a nice stay for our honeymoon. Note, this was MUCH better than their sister property, the Rendezvous.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Countess_Nomad,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. One comment I would like to clarify, is that the Rendezvous is not a sister property of ours, and is not part of the same hotel group as us. SKYCITY Grand is part of the SKYCITY Entertainment Group - we have two hotels here in Auckland - SKYCITY Hotel and SKCYITY Grand Hotel - both located within the same complex.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Have stayed here a few times, usually on a 'book in advance' deal. Had the baby grand package twice, the first time amazing and great room on the 19th floor. The second on the 9th floor which was not such a good room and disappointing after my first experience so I wouldn't go for that package again. The breakfast has been changed to the gusto restaurant which is good but no where nearly as good as it was before.
I love the lap pool and this is one of the reasons I keep going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear jeas47,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you stay with us often - thank you for choosing to come back to stay with us.

I was disappointed to read your comments about the package you stayed on, and I welcome you to contact me directly, so that I can look into this in more detail.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We checked in for two nights in a large, clean and comfortable room. Check in was friendly and efficient, and the valet parking was trouble free. The range of restaurants was outstanding as was the service provided. Free fast wifi was also provided. The location is excellent in the heart of the city, with a variety of restaurants and shops within walking distance. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear kevinmeryl,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and efficient.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I regularly stay here and it is really the only Auckland hotel offering a great dining precinct right on its doorstep. The world class restaurants are a destination in their own right. Recently renovated, the rooms now feel very spacious contemporary and very comfortable. Free wifi which should be offered by all hotels great mini bar selection and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms and suites great at sunset when the city lights up. Depot for lunch is great. Mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear CJF101,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and made use of the complimentary wifi that we offer - we believe this is a necessity for travellers now, and are pleased that we at SKYCITY are able to offer this complimentary service to all of our guests.

We have over 20 restaurants and bars within the SKYCITY complex, many of them award winning - we are proud to have them as part of SKYCITY, and this offers so much choice to our guests. I was also pleased that you found the minibar selection to be great and that our staff were attentive and offered great service.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel is pure class located in the best part of Aukland. The service received was of 5-star quality, the staff were fantastic. In fact upon check-in within the first 5 minutes we needed help activating our global roaming and the very helpful receptionist (Sumit his name was) helped find the number of Telstra and even called on our behalf! We stayed on the 12th floor with views of the city/mountains/lake/sky tower which was stunning. We could see the people doing the sky jump from the top of the tower.

The hotel swimming pool was a favourite of mine, never have I seen a 25m lap pool inside a hotel, it is better than most local swimming pools! The gym was excellent with the best equipment money can buy. Also features an excellent spa and sauna.

As the hotel is located as part of the Sky City complex, you don't really have to go outside if it is raining, everything is connected by bridges (on level 3 & 5) where you can have access to many café's restaurants and the casino.

Room Tip: - Stay on the highest floor possible, the views are worth the extra money - Make sure you visit the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear ValFleur,

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you were on the receiving end of fantastic customer service from Sumit - I will be sure to pass your comments on to him. We pride ourselves on outstanding customer service, so I was pleased to read that we delivered this to you.

The lap pool and spa/sauna are fantastic aren't they? We have over 20 restaurants and bars witin the SKYCITY Complex - so much to choose from.

Thank you again for your feedback - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel is right in the city. Our room had views of the harbour which looked awesome at night. When we entered our room we had a bottle of bubbles and yummy chocolates waiting for us. Everybody who works here is friendly and helpful. Was an awesome experience and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear shaz8319,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read your feedback, and will be sure to pass your feedback about the team, on to them.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#6 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SKYCITY Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.