We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2 bed room apartment in great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Auckland to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NZ$40 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great 2 bed room apartment in great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Difficult to beat the location of the Quay west Suits. Was great value for money, clean and comfortable. Would happily stay there again any time. Plenty of restaurants close by and with major public transport terminal with in a 2 minute walk makes it the perfect base for getting around Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Aussie_Tourist79

Thank you for your feedback.
It is great to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope your next stay will be as pleasant as previous one.
Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    135
    47
    11
    6
See reviews for
108
143
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Quay West Suites are well appointed and very well located in downtown Auckland. Perfect when staying for several days be it business or pleasure. Suites have decent kitchen and space for working. Can't fault Quay West. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Greg W

Thank you for your recent comments in regards to Quay West Suites Auckland. It is always great to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed one night at Quay West. Its location was superb and allowed us quick access to the restaurants at the waterfront area. The apartment itself was spacious and clean. The kitchen was well equipped and we appreciated the provision of laundry facility inside our room, particularly after a few days trip in Taupo and Rotorua. The balcony was big and offered a good view of the business area of Auckland. We parked our car at the underground carpark and felt secured.

Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear RonnieHongKong

Thanks for sharing your experience and it is always great to receive positive comments.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Location on Albert Street and Customs Quay in the CBD is essential if you wish to WALK around Auckland. It is 5 minutes from the Ferry Terminal, 10 minutes from the Viaduct Basin (of Americas Cup fame), 5 minutes from Britomart Train Station and Bus Terminals. The AIRPORT bus runs from the Ferry Building.
This is a part Residential-part Hotel furnished accommodation. It used to be managed by the MIRVAC GROUP and is now run by ACCOR.
The views from most of the apartments are spectacular over the harbour. It is SUNNY, as it faces NORTH with east and west aspects.
On the 5th floor there is a POOL, SPA and SAUNA. The GYM is good with a beautiful view NORTH over the harbour.
Although the rooms are well equipped with a Kitchen, Microwave, Dishwasher etc. SADLY there is now no ROOM SERVICE, RESTAURANT or BAR. But these facilities are available at a short distance walk.
The Rooms are in need of urgent upgrade as they are sadly now not up to ***** rating.

Room Tip: Quieter on the EAST SIDE GREAT VIEWS 18th floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Peter T

Thank you for the knowledgeable information you provided on the tripadvisor and I am sure it will give lots of our guests some valuable insights of our property :)
In regards to the food service, we have found that lots of our guests tend to cook in their own room and as you mentioned, there are also lots of great restaurants and bars nearby
We are also talking to our partners to look at upgrading our rooms at the moment
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was a disaster from start to finish... arrived at the hotel late at night, no help with luggage or anything to get to the room. Got to the room it was not very nice, bathroom very small and general maintenance of room was not good, as the attached pics show.
We contacted our booking agent the next day to try to move,but were told that we would lose all our money for the stay as this was the hotel policy... even after we offered to take a couple of days penalty just to move we were told no. So were were moved to another room,which was bigger and cleaner but the heating never worked the first night so we had little heaters to try to warm the place up... it was freezing.
Another problem is parking, there is never enough and mostly full so don't rely on parking at the hotel.
They also do not have a place for breakfast in the hotel,quite unusual but you are welcome to walk 5 to 10 minutes in the cold to Mercure if you want breakfast.
The final straw was the checkout where the over efficacious receptionist was rube and obnoxious and made me feel like I was not important at all to the hotel... this for me was the end of a very disappointing stay. For me this is a 3 star property at best in need of some overhaul and even the cleaners are substandard and for our entire sta they never even replaced the shower gels or amenities in the room,even after being assured by the manager this would be fixed.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Leigh3051

Thank your for sharing your concern and I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay and please accept my sincerest apology
We have carefully read your comments from the beginning to the end and let me assure you that all the problems mentioned in the comments have been fixed.
The air con has been fixed and I really hope you liked the 2 bedroom apart from that issue and enjoyed your special occasion with your family.
I have also talked to the receptionist who checked you out and she would like to apologize to you as well if she did not make you feel comfortable and important.
Once again, thank you for giving us the feedback.

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed one night. Apartment was spacious and comfortable. Great view from balcony (22nd floor) but...
Bar/ restaurant not open and no mini bar
Could do with double glazing as Saturday Night street noise is quite loud. I think the hotel must be due for a refit as parts are very tired.
However I would still stay here again as the pros far out way the cons.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Carl S

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to know that you enjoyed the harbour view on our high floor room
I will let our Maintanence know about your street noise concern and see what they can do
Quay West Suites is in a prime location with lots great restaurants and bars around us, also our room is fully equipped with kitchen facilities and we have found that lots of guests choose to cook in the room.
Thank you again for your time and hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Brilliant place to stay, gigantic rooms. We were on the 5th floor, with the garden and pool on the same floor.

Garden needs to fix the rotunda, but otherwise was a great area. The indoor pool was excellent, loved the greek style to it.

Only disappointment was the exorbitant $28 parking per night - bit steep yeah?

Otherwise, perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnWAM, Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear BMColeman

Thank you for sharing your experience and it is great to receive such wonderful comments
In regards to the Rotunda in our garden, it was damaged due to the extreme weather and it is being fixed by our contractor at the moment
For the parking fees, we offer the most competitive rate of $26 per night.
Once again, thank you and we hope to welcoming you again to the Quay West Suites Auckland

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#19 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quay West Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
Quay West Suites Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.