We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Auckland to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NZ$40 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Christchurch
1 review
“enjoyable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

IT was a very lovely stay, I loved the view and the suite's, my only let downs is that I didn't realise that there was no bar premises to enjoy a relaxing beverage before our event.
Also I did not realise that there was no room service.

Kind regards
Callum Rawlins

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Callum R,

Thank you for your recent feedback and providing us with the opportunity to respond. With regards to food and beverage offering we open our Cafe in the mornings for coffee and light snacks, unfortunately I know this doesn't assist with a beverage before heading out for the night. Due to our location many of our guests tend to visit many of the quality bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    135
    47
    11
    6
See reviews for
108
143
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was delightful but was let down by the suedo restaurant with in the complex? Has the odd hours of 8 am to 1 pm??? We went down for breakfast at 9 but nothing was set no menu's available? And as far as it being called a bar? I don't know many people who drink before 1 and they usually have a problem

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great inner city location apartments suitable for families. Staff are very receptive. Good clean rooms, not the biggest, but comfortable. We had the 1 bedroom apartments and with a sofa bed configuration things got a bit cramped.
Is well within walking distance to Viaduct harbour, Britomart and Sky Tower.

Room Tip: Higher floor apartments - great views of Viaduct harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Check in staff and reception staff are first rate and very hospitable. We stayed in room 2207 - a two bedroom apartment facing east. Very spacious rooms - two bathroom and a decent kitchen to cook in. Main bedroom had a television so all round a good deal.

Internet is able to be purchased with vouchers - you take the router to your room and plug it in - $24 NZ for 24 hours so reasonable. Internet is available from the foyer as well and there are plenty of comfortable lounges there. The pool, Gym and Sauna on the 5th floor is good. Single treadmill, single spin cycle but all modern and well maintained. A multi station weight system is available. Pool is a little warm but that is only my taste - preferring cold to hot.

overall the only thing that I would have liked to see is a small restaurant catering to those people not liking to cook - but I suppose if that was the case you go to a hotel chain not an apartment chain hey. (The café on the first floor is open 7 days a week from 0800 - 1300 hrs and serves coffee and cakes etc).

Room Tip: East facing room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
575 reviews 575 reviews
294 hotel reviews
Reviews in 226 cities Reviews in 226 cities
2,706 helpful votes 2,706 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Quay West Suites for five days after booking out of the Sky City Grand Hotel due to the annoyance of renovations happening in the hotel.

Location: Quay West suites is ideally located just a few minutes walk to the waterfront & to the centre of town for shopping.The cafes & restaurants situated on the edge of the Viaduct Harbour is also at your fingertips.

Apartment: Our superior one bedroom apartment 2005 had stunning views of the harbour & distant islands. The apartment consisted of a separate lounge / dining room & good quality fully equipped kitchen. Sliding doors opened up from the lounge room to a large balcony.

The bedroom was spacious with doors leading out to the balcony. The bathroom definitely needs an update however it was spacious & adequate. A separate laundry room with dyer was also helpful for doing the laundry.

Facilities:
There was a good size indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. On the first floor was a café which sold cappuccino's & small snacks for lunch & breakfast. Secure parking is also available for a fee.

Staff: All very helpful & efficient. I loved how our apartment was always cleaned early without any fuss.

Overall:
We loved our spacious apartment with stunning views & fabulous location. We were feeling very happy moving to Quay West & would highly recommend it to others who are seeking a "home away from home" with all the modern facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for superior apartment with harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just spent a night here. Clean with a kitchen, separate bedroom and living area. Staff were clear and helpful. Views and balcony were great. Parking is a mission but the staff helped us through that.Wish there was a restaurant in the building other than the cafe.

Room Tip: Be ready to park in a parkade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, General Manager at Quay West Suites Auckland, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear wendy b,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of Quay West Suites Auckland and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#19 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quay West Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
Quay West Suites Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.